Logic X on Mavericks

Logic Pro X (and older versions) questions and troubleshooting

Logic X on Mavericks

Postby rojh » Sun Oct 06, 2013 9:25 am

DAWs including Logic X, improvements? less CPU(multicore) power consumption? I just noticed it today! nice. :)
Attachments
improv.jpg
improv.jpg (188.26 KiB) Viewed 2693 times
Logic Pro X 10.0.4
Os X Mavericks 10.9
Mac Mini Os X Server
2.6GHz quad-core Intel Core i7 (Turbo Boost up to 3.6GHz) with 6MB L3 cache
16GB RAM
2GB Fusion Drive
Focusrite Saffire Pro 40
KRK VXT 6
Novation 61SL MKII
Allen and Heath Zed 22fx
User avatar
rojh
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2013 6:17 pm
Location: Philippines

Re: Logic X on Mavericks

Postby anp27 » Sun Oct 06, 2013 4:45 pm

rojh wrote:DAWs including Logic X, improvements? less CPU(multicore) power consumption? I just noticed it today! nice. :)


Are you an Apple Developer? You're running Logic X on the Mavericks developer copy I guess? It's great if all this is true.
Macbook Pro 15" Hi-Res 2.3 Ghz Intel Core i7~128GB Kingston SSD~OWC Mercury Elite Al-Pro Mini 320GB~OWC Mercury Elite Al-Pro 1TB~16GB Ram~OSX Mavericks 10.9.4~Logic Pro 10.0.7~Logic Pro 9.1.8~Apogee One~M-Audio Keystation 88es~Korg nanoKontrol2(x3)~Akai MPK Mini
anp27
 
Posts: 350
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 2:25 pm
Location: Brooklyn, New York

Re: Logic X on Mavericks

Postby rojh » Sun Oct 06, 2013 7:25 pm

Yes, I have developer account and i installed the Golden Master version meaning the same thing that will be released on the 8th :) final release. Yeah it would be nice if it is true. On my machine it performs better i guess. When i opened my projects that are almost using half or more than half the CPU power, they end up using less resources on mavericks :p
Logic Pro X 10.0.4
Os X Mavericks 10.9
Mac Mini Os X Server
2.6GHz quad-core Intel Core i7 (Turbo Boost up to 3.6GHz) with 6MB L3 cache
16GB RAM
2GB Fusion Drive
Focusrite Saffire Pro 40
KRK VXT 6
Novation 61SL MKII
Allen and Heath Zed 22fx
User avatar
rojh
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2013 6:17 pm
Location: Philippines

Re: Logic X on Mavericks

Postby Nola111 » Mon Oct 07, 2013 7:02 am

If history is any indicator we'll be seeing the official release on the 16th or the 23rd. Probably more likely the 23rd but the 16th would be nice.

I'm very much looking forward to seeing how Logic's performance is improved with Mavericks. Another big feature being touted by Apple with Mavericks is improvements to the multi-display functionality - something that will be very welcome for 2-screen apps like Logic.
MacBook Pro (Early 2011) 2.2 GHz Intel i7 Quad-Core
Mac Mini (Late 2012) 2.3 GHz Intel i7 Quad-Core
16 GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM (both)
OSX 10.8.5 (both)
Avid Mbox & Apogee One
Logic Pro X 10.0.6
Nola111
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2013 12:11 pm
Location: New Orleans

Re: Logic X on Mavericks

Postby Eric Cardenas » Mon Oct 07, 2013 7:09 am

Nola111 wrote:Another big feature being touted by Apple with Mavericks is improvements to the multi-display functionality - something that will be very welcome for 2-screen apps like Logic.


And also the addition to use an Apple TV as a second screen.
Eric Bradley Cardenas
EC Making Sound
Mac mini 2.6 GHz 16GB RAM Areca⚡RAID | MacBook Pro 2.2 GHz 16GB RAM | Os 10.9.4
Logic Pro 10.0.7/9.1.8 | RME Fireface UFX | Adam A7 + Sub8 | Spectrasonics | Softube
User avatar
Eric Cardenas
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 11521
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 1:47 pm
Location: Uppsala, Sweden

Re: Logic X on Mavericks

Postby anp27 » Mon Oct 07, 2013 7:30 am

rojh wrote:Yes, I have developer account and i installed the Golden Master version meaning the same thing that will be released on the 8th :) final release. Yeah it would be nice if it is true. On my machine it performs better i guess. When i opened my projects that are almost using half or more than half the CPU power, they end up using less resources on mavericks :p


That's awesome.... just really great news.
Macbook Pro 15" Hi-Res 2.3 Ghz Intel Core i7~128GB Kingston SSD~OWC Mercury Elite Al-Pro Mini 320GB~OWC Mercury Elite Al-Pro 1TB~16GB Ram~OSX Mavericks 10.9.4~Logic Pro 10.0.7~Logic Pro 9.1.8~Apogee One~M-Audio Keystation 88es~Korg nanoKontrol2(x3)~Akai MPK Mini
anp27
 
Posts: 350
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 2:25 pm
Location: Brooklyn, New York

Re: Logic X on Mavericks

Postby Nola111 » Mon Oct 07, 2013 8:14 am

Eric Cardenas wrote:
Nola111 wrote:Another big feature being touted by Apple with Mavericks is improvements to the multi-display functionality - something that will be very welcome for 2-screen apps like Logic.


And also the addition to use an Apple TV as a second screen.


Yes! Very cool and something I will definitely use!
MacBook Pro (Early 2011) 2.2 GHz Intel i7 Quad-Core
Mac Mini (Late 2012) 2.3 GHz Intel i7 Quad-Core
16 GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM (both)
OSX 10.8.5 (both)
Avid Mbox & Apogee One
Logic Pro X 10.0.6
Nola111
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2013 12:11 pm
Location: New Orleans

Re: Logic X on Mavericks

Postby gdoubleyou » Mon Oct 07, 2013 9:11 am

rojh wrote:Yes, I have developer account and i installed the Golden Master version meaning the same thing that will be released on the 8th :) final release. Yeah it would be nice if it is true. On my machine it performs better i guess. When i opened my projects that are almost using half or more than half the CPU power, they end up using less resources on mavericks :p


You can measure relative performance by using Evan's Logic benchmark test.
http://www.evan.se/logicprobenchmark/Lo ... _Test.html

I saw a small performance boost moving from 10.8.3 to 10.8.4, at this point LPX has the same performance as LP 9.1.8.

8)
G-Dub
Studio G-fx
http://www.studiog-fx.com

LogicX 10.0.7 ,Logic 9.1.8, 15 in. 2GHz Macbook Pro quad i7 OSX 10.8.5, Apollo Duo
User avatar
gdoubleyou
 
Posts: 917
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2005 11:49 am
Location: Kirkland WA

Re: Logic X on Mavericks

Postby xgman » Mon Oct 07, 2013 11:12 am

The biggest problem for 10.8.5 transition to 10.9 was having to re-scan all the hundreds of AU's and a couple old ones didn't make the cut. This also happened going from Lion to ML as I recall . Several au's errored validation at first but later I could rescan them and they passed.

Working on a new project over the weekend I did see several unexplained X crashes. Hopefully just a fluke or wonky plug...
iMac 27" 2012 i7 3.4ghz 32gb ram, 680mx, 768ssd + Thunderbolt Drives, UAD Apollo, Logic Pro 10.0.7 & 9.18, Novation Impulse 61, Mavericks 10.9.3
xgman
 
Posts: 227
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 11:09 am

Re: Logic X on Mavericks

Postby Ashermusic » Mon Oct 07, 2013 12:11 pm

rojh wrote:Yes, I have developer account and i installed the Golden Master version meaning the same thing that will be released on the 8th :) final release. Yeah it would be nice if it is true. On my machine it performs better i guess. When i opened my projects that are almost using half or more than half the CPU power, they end up using less resources on mavericks :p


"Better I guess" is not all that much of a ringing endorsement:)

. Have you noticed if the Mavericks "compressed memory" thing is helping?
iMac 3.4 Quad Core i7, OSX 10.9.2, i7 950 3.06 Quad Core, Win 7

Composer, EastWest Online Coordinator, Logic Pro X Certified Trainer
Author of "Going Pro with Logic Pro 9" & "Scoring with Logic Pro"
http://www.jayasher.com
Ashermusic
 
Posts: 2684
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2005 11:51 am
Location: Lake Balboa, CA

Re: Logic X on Mavericks

Postby rojh » Mon Oct 07, 2013 7:13 pm

I guess the under the hood enhancements in mavericks are working. and one thing to take note guys, be sure to go to the application folder and go to "GET INFO" right click. then check PREVENT APP NAP. :) do this to any apps you dont want to NAP :p lol.
Logic Pro X 10.0.4
Os X Mavericks 10.9
Mac Mini Os X Server
2.6GHz quad-core Intel Core i7 (Turbo Boost up to 3.6GHz) with 6MB L3 cache
16GB RAM
2GB Fusion Drive
Focusrite Saffire Pro 40
KRK VXT 6
Novation 61SL MKII
Allen and Heath Zed 22fx
User avatar
rojh
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2013 6:17 pm
Location: Philippines

Re: Logic X on Mavericks

Postby DJ Vingo » Mon Oct 07, 2013 7:55 pm

Did you do a clean install or did you install over the existing 10.8.5?
DJ Vingo: Running Logic Studio 10.0.4, OS X Mavericks 10.9, iMac 2.66 Core i5, 16 GB, 240 GB Intel SSD, 1TB internal HD, Logic runs on Intel 240 GB internal SSD, PreSonus Firestudio interface. Akai MPK49, NI Maschine. 2nd comp: MacBook Pro 2.2.
DJ Vingo
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2012 5:40 am
Location: Miami

Re: Logic X on Mavericks

Postby blinkofani » Mon Oct 07, 2013 8:02 pm

Hi,
And what about the third-party plugins you have? Do they all behave ok under 10.9? That's always what's stopping me from being an early adopter of a new OS... Thanks.

Blink
MBP2.0 Quad i7 16Gb w/Babyface, 10.8.5, LP 9.1.8 and 10.0.7, Genelec 8040A, Korg Kronos73, Z1, DSI Mopho, UAD-2Quad, KLC 2007& DE, Komplete 8, Omnisphere, Arturia CS-80V/MoogModular, Gibson LesPaul. Way not enough time to enjoy all that.
blinkofani
 
Posts: 330
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 6:21 pm
Location: Grand Central Dispatch

Re: Logic X on Mavericks

Postby Nola111 » Tue Oct 08, 2013 9:30 am

rojh wrote:be sure to go to the application folder and go to "GET INFO" right click. then check PREVENT APP NAP. :) do this to any apps you dont want to NAP :p lol.


Isn't the App Nap function for apps that are open but you aren't currently using (basically minimized apps)? What's the problem with Logic taking an App Nap? Does it cause issues for resuming from the nap b/c of VI's that were loaded into RAM or something?
MacBook Pro (Early 2011) 2.2 GHz Intel i7 Quad-Core
Mac Mini (Late 2012) 2.3 GHz Intel i7 Quad-Core
16 GB 1333MHz DDR3 SDRAM (both)
OSX 10.8.5 (both)
Avid Mbox & Apogee One
Logic Pro X 10.0.6
Nola111
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2013 12:11 pm
Location: New Orleans

Re: Logic X on Mavericks

Postby xgman » Tue Oct 08, 2013 11:40 am

blinkofani wrote:Hi,
And what about the third-party plugins you have? Do they all behave ok under 10.9? That's always what's stopping me from being an early adopter of a new OS... Thanks.

Blink



Most are ok. Had to re-scan several a couple times though to get accepted. Better than going from Lion to ML. Just an odd couple of very old ones that for whatever reason don't fly.
iMac 27" 2012 i7 3.4ghz 32gb ram, 680mx, 768ssd + Thunderbolt Drives, UAD Apollo, Logic Pro 10.0.7 & 9.18, Novation Impulse 61, Mavericks 10.9.3
xgman
 
Posts: 227
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 11:09 am

Re: Logic X on Mavericks

Postby logic8mine » Tue Oct 08, 2013 11:48 am

Here! I've just changed my signature so that I can claim to be running Mavericks also...
Logic Pro 10.0.7, Logic Pro 9.1.8, MACBOOK PRO - Intel Core Duo- 2.66ghz, 8GB Ram w/HGST, 1 TB 7200RPM internal HDD, Yamaha XS8 w/mLAN, Mavericks 10.9, G-Tech 500GB Ext. HD, WD MyBook Studio II 320GB, M-Audio FastTrack Pro, Roland VS-2480
User avatar
logic8mine
 
Posts: 369
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 6:49 pm
Location: SW-OH

Re: Logic X on Mavericks

Postby rojh » Thu Oct 10, 2013 5:19 am

Almost everything that works on ML works on Mavericks too. Every plugin. No issues. I installed it over ML.

About the app nap, its up to you if you want Logic to take a nap on you while you switch to other windows or while tracking :p I think it is like a "PAUSE' option to save cpu power. I enabled app nap for everything except for my DAW.
Logic Pro X 10.0.4
Os X Mavericks 10.9
Mac Mini Os X Server
2.6GHz quad-core Intel Core i7 (Turbo Boost up to 3.6GHz) with 6MB L3 cache
16GB RAM
2GB Fusion Drive
Focusrite Saffire Pro 40
KRK VXT 6
Novation 61SL MKII
Allen and Heath Zed 22fx
User avatar
rojh
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2013 6:17 pm
Location: Philippines

Re: Logic X on Mavericks

Postby razzzzz » Thu Oct 10, 2013 7:10 am

Sounds like the transition from ML to Mavericks is going smoothly for most. Hoping my upgrade from regular ol' Lion to the Mav works out as well. (Assuming they allow me to skip versions when upgrading)
• MacBook Pro - 2.3 GHz Intel Core i7 - OSX 10.9.2
• 8 GB 1333 MHz DDR3
• 750 GB SATA Disk
• Logic 10.0.7
• Focusrite Scarlett 18i8
• Novation SL49 MKII
User avatar
razzzzz
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 6:20 am
Location: Shanghai, China

Re: Logic X on Mavericks

Postby xgman » Thu Oct 10, 2013 9:57 am

After about a week, I have actually had way more LogicX crashes than I can remember in 6 months combined. Not sure what the deal is.. The good thing is that auto saves seem to work more consistently in X than they did in 9.
iMac 27" 2012 i7 3.4ghz 32gb ram, 680mx, 768ssd + Thunderbolt Drives, UAD Apollo, Logic Pro 10.0.7 & 9.18, Novation Impulse 61, Mavericks 10.9.3
xgman
 
Posts: 227
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 11:09 am

Re: Logic X on Mavericks

Postby Ashermusic » Thu Oct 10, 2013 10:10 am

xgman wrote:After about a week, I have actually had way more LogicX crashes than I can remember in 6 months combined. Not sure what the deal is.. The good thing is that auto saves seem to work more consistently in X than they did in 9.


Maybe because LP 9 has no autosave? :)
iMac 3.4 Quad Core i7, OSX 10.9.2, i7 950 3.06 Quad Core, Win 7

Composer, EastWest Online Coordinator, Logic Pro X Certified Trainer
Author of "Going Pro with Logic Pro 9" & "Scoring with Logic Pro"
http://www.jayasher.com
Ashermusic
 
Posts: 2684
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2005 11:51 am
Location: Lake Balboa, CA

Next

Return to Logic Pro X

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BlackSparr0, C4L88, creationcollective, Yahoo [Bot] and 11 guests