Apple OS X Mavericks FREE available today

News related to Apple, Logic, Music and Computers.

Re: Apple OS X Mavericks FREE available today

Postby michael2 » Wed Oct 23, 2013 9:27 am

Jordi Torres wrote:
michael2 wrote:anyone try this with Logic 9 yet? thanks in advance.


Tried the Numbers Game demo project. It seemed to work fine.

J.


thanks. I just moved from snow leopard to mountain lion, and am still getting my stuff up to speed with mountain lion; thinking I may as well do this update since I don't have anything set in stone yet. that way I don't have to worry about it later. maybe I'll just clone my system and have a go at it.
macbook pro, 2.8 GHz intel core duo, 750 GB HD, 10 gigs RAM, Logic Studio 9.1.8
my blog:
http://rabbitearsmotel.wordpress.com/
User avatar
michael2
 
Posts: 551
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2008 1:13 pm
Location: los angeles

Re: Apple OS X Mavericks FREE available today

Postby djeos546 » Wed Oct 23, 2013 9:40 am

Hi everyone,
I'd like to be sure everything in Logic 9 works fine on Mavericks before upgrading (I've already updated without checking that everything worked, and it remains one of the biggest mistake Ive ever made on my Mac...).
Could someone please check that everything is fine with logic 9 on Mavericks ? (Everything fine means that there's no visual problem, no audio problem, that you can load & play heavy projects without any problem, that you can use both 32 bit & 64 bit versions of the program, that 32 bit plugins like Sylenth1 work fine in the AU Bridge - I can give you a few 32 bit plugins to test - etc, ...)

One last thing : do I have to do anything else than clicking 'download Mavericks' to update ? Anything I have to check first ?
Thanks in advance - and sorry for my bad english...
djeos546
djeos546
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2013 9:13 am

Re: Apple OS X Mavericks FREE available today

Postby lookatthisguy » Wed Oct 23, 2013 10:00 am

logic8mine wrote:Yea, that is missing in this version. Also, in the past in was able to copy from older keynotes into the the newer version and use the transitions. Transitions do not copy from the previous version, even when simultaneously opening both the new keynote app and the older...


Interesting… they keep touting "object-based animations" in all the marketing; maybe the new options broke the obsolete ones. I guess on the upside for me, none of the old Keynotes I have I need anymore.
[ Early-'08 Mac Pro (3,1): 2.8 GHz 8-Core, 16 GB RAM, OS 10.9.3 / Late-'08 MBP (5,1): 2.53 GHz C2D, 8 GB RAM, OS 10.9.3; Logic 9.1.8/X.0.7;
Apogee Duet, more stuff I don't have room for, etc. ]
I'll probably never create a better signature later.

—Andrew
User avatar
lookatthisguy
 
Posts: 868
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 12:35 pm
Location: Central California

Re: Apple OS X Mavericks FREE available today

Postby logic8mine » Wed Oct 23, 2013 12:27 pm

lookatthisguy wrote:
logic8mine wrote:Yea, that is missing in this version. Also, in the past in was able to copy from older keynotes into the the newer version and use the transitions. Transitions do not copy from the previous version, even when simultaneously opening both the new keynote app and the older...


Interesting… they keep touting "object-based animations" in all the marketing; maybe the new options broke the obsolete ones. I guess on the upside for me, none of the old Keynotes I have I need anymore.

Garageband is downloading now, so I guess I'll try out the Drummer lite to see if I like it enough to upgrade to Logic X...
Logic Pro 10.0.7, Logic Pro 9.1.8, MACBOOK PRO - Intel Core Duo- 2.66ghz, 8GB Ram w/HGST, 1 TB 7200RPM internal HDD, Yamaha XS8 w/mLAN, Mavericks 10.9, G-Tech 500GB Ext. HD, WD MyBook Studio II 320GB, M-Audio FastTrack Pro, Roland VS-2480
User avatar
logic8mine
 
Posts: 365
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 6:49 pm
Location: SW-OH

Re: Apple OS X Mavericks FREE available today

Postby logic8mine » Wed Oct 23, 2013 4:18 pm

No audio from M-Audio Fast Track Pro after upgrade to Mavericks. Had already updated driver. Trying to troubleshoot now. Yamaha interface (YSFW) is working however.
Logic Pro 10.0.7, Logic Pro 9.1.8, MACBOOK PRO - Intel Core Duo- 2.66ghz, 8GB Ram w/HGST, 1 TB 7200RPM internal HDD, Yamaha XS8 w/mLAN, Mavericks 10.9, G-Tech 500GB Ext. HD, WD MyBook Studio II 320GB, M-Audio FastTrack Pro, Roland VS-2480
User avatar
logic8mine
 
Posts: 365
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 6:49 pm
Location: SW-OH

Re: Apple OS X Mavericks FREE available today

Postby triplets » Wed Oct 23, 2013 5:19 pm

logic8mine wrote:No audio from M-Audio Fast Track Pro after upgrade to Mavericks. Had already updated driver. Trying to troubleshoot now. Yamaha interface (YSFW) is working however.


M-Audio stuff not working, how surprising...
Logic Pro 9 Master Pro
ProTools 10 & 11 Certified User
2x2.26 Intel Quad-Core 6GB RAM, Logic 9.1.8, 10.6.8, Logic 10.0.6, ML 10.8.5., Motu Ultralite
http://www.ultimaterhythmstudio.com
User avatar
triplets
 
Posts: 9550
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 3:21 pm
Location: North Hollywood

Re: Apple OS X Mavericks FREE available today

Postby logic8mine » Wed Oct 23, 2013 7:49 pm

triplets wrote:M-Audio stuff not working, how surprising...

Yep, dead in the water. But, interestingly enough. I've never had a problem before after upgrading OS's. There were always issues with (then) Digidesign software. But, never with hardware- that is, until Avid took over the support for the Fast Track Pro's.
Logic Pro 10.0.7, Logic Pro 9.1.8, MACBOOK PRO - Intel Core Duo- 2.66ghz, 8GB Ram w/HGST, 1 TB 7200RPM internal HDD, Yamaha XS8 w/mLAN, Mavericks 10.9, G-Tech 500GB Ext. HD, WD MyBook Studio II 320GB, M-Audio FastTrack Pro, Roland VS-2480
User avatar
logic8mine
 
Posts: 365
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 6:49 pm
Location: SW-OH

Re: Apple OS X Mavericks FREE available today

Postby StigNasty » Wed Oct 23, 2013 8:31 pm

I have LPX, but I also have a parallel installation of LP9 for older sessions that use non-64 bit plugins. I also like to use WaveBurner, even though they stopped updating it after LP9.

Has anyone tried running LP9 with Mavericks? How about WaveBurner? Does it work? If not, I'll be forced to delay upgrading for a bit so I can still access the older sessions. No use having tabbed Finder windows if it stops my access to pre-64 bit only sessions.
StigNasty
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 4:34 pm

Re: Apple OS X Mavericks FREE available today

Postby Glenn F » Thu Oct 24, 2013 3:23 am

OK, I took the plunge. All AUs validated, BUT Scuffham Amp S-Gear crashes LP9 in 32 bit mode. I had to open a new song with S-Gear uninstantiated, and uncheck it in the AU manager. Otherwise, too early to tell anything significant.
Last edited by Glenn F on Thu Oct 24, 2013 5:04 am, edited 1 time in total.
2011 Mac Mini Server 2 ghz quad core, 8 gigs RAM, OS10.9.3, Logic 9.1.8., Logic Pro X.0.7, Firewire Duet, Novation 61SL Mk II. V-Control Pro.
User avatar
Glenn F
 
Posts: 572
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2008 2:06 pm
Location: The Windmills of my Mind

Re: Apple OS X Mavericks FREE available today

Postby djeos546 » Thu Oct 24, 2013 3:37 am

Glenn F wrote:OK, I took the plunge. All AUs validated, BUT Scuffham Amp S-Gear crashes LP9. I had to open a new song with S-Gear uninstantiated, and uncheck it in the AU manager. Otherwise, too early to tell anything significant.

So normally everything works as fine as on Mountain Lion ? Have you checked that 32 bit plugins work in the AU Bridge ?
djeos546
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2013 9:13 am

Re: Apple OS X Mavericks FREE available today

Postby daBOOSH » Thu Oct 24, 2013 4:02 am

triplets wrote:
logic8mine wrote:No audio from M-Audio Fast Track Pro after upgrade to Mavericks. Had already updated driver. Trying to troubleshoot now. Yamaha interface (YSFW) is working however.


M-Audio stuff not working, how surprising...


Yep. Digi Hardware is dead in the water. I have the 002 Rack.
It amazes me that even MOTU worked with Apple before the OS 10.9 launch to make sure they were ready!
C'mon Avid!
Macbook Pro
OSX 10.8.5
2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
8 GB RAM

Logic Pro 9.1.8
daBOOSH
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 10:24 am

Re: Apple OS X Mavericks FREE available today

Postby Glenn F » Thu Oct 24, 2013 4:58 am

djeos546 wrote:
Glenn F wrote:OK, I took the plunge. All AUs validated, BUT Scuffham Amp S-Gear crashes LP9. I had to open a new song with S-Gear uninstantiated, and uncheck it in the AU manager. Otherwise, too early to tell anything significant.

So normally everything works as fine as on Mountain Lion ? Have you checked that 32 bit plugins work in the AU Bridge ?


Hi,

the 32 bit plugins work as expected in LP9 64 bit mode. I have the IK Multimedia instruments (my only ones STILL in 32 bit :x ) and they all load fine.

As I said, though, too early to tell anything significant vis a vis CPU, etc. I wonder what's up with S-Gear? I'll have to ask Mike about it.

EDIT: Scuffham works in LP9 64 bit mode, so there's something about LP9 in 32 bit mode and S-Gear that isn't right. Otherwise. A-OK.
2011 Mac Mini Server 2 ghz quad core, 8 gigs RAM, OS10.9.3, Logic 9.1.8., Logic Pro X.0.7, Firewire Duet, Novation 61SL Mk II. V-Control Pro.
User avatar
Glenn F
 
Posts: 572
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2008 2:06 pm
Location: The Windmills of my Mind

Re: Apple OS X Mavericks FREE available today

Postby Martin Olsson » Thu Oct 24, 2013 6:11 am

Glenn F wrote:Hi,

the 32 bit plugins work as expected in LP9 64 bit mode.[...]


Great new! Thanks!
MacBook Pro i5 2.3, 8 gb RAM. Logic 10.0.3, UAD-Satellite, etc. Pro-bass player, almost pro songwriter, producer, recordist and mixer...
Martin Olsson
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2013 12:57 pm
Location: Göteborg, Sweden

Re: Apple OS X Mavericks FREE available today

Postby jasonwagner » Thu Oct 24, 2013 7:05 am

Logic X, Mavericks working here. Symphony i/o is working even though Apogee said don't upgrade yet, saw that after I upgraded. Had a back up in case things didn't work but with the PCI card it's working fine, I am guessing it's something with USB, protools mode or something. Only issue I have found so far is Soundtoys decapitator causes Logic to crash, I emailed Soundtoys. UAD is working fine though.
- Mac Pro 3.2GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon, 32 gig ram
- Apogee Symphony I/O, Logic Pro 10.0.7, OSX 10.9.3
- http://www.sonicconscious.com
jasonwagner
 
Posts: 230
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 9:28 am

Re: Apple OS X Mavericks FREE available today

Postby logic8mine » Thu Oct 24, 2013 8:01 am

daBOOSH wrote:
logic8mine wrote:No audio from M-Audio Fast Track Pro after upgrade to Mavericks. Had already updated driver. Trying to troubleshoot now. Yamaha interface (YSFW) is working however.

Yep. Digi Hardware is dead in the water. I have the 002 Rack.
It amazes me that even MOTU worked with Apple before the OS 10.9 launch to make sure they were ready!
C'mon Avid!

I've never understood why they are always so far behind as it relates to updates. Certainly Apple updates the OS often with incremental changes but, the major OS releases, there's no reason not to be ahead of the ball...
Logic Pro 10.0.7, Logic Pro 9.1.8, MACBOOK PRO - Intel Core Duo- 2.66ghz, 8GB Ram w/HGST, 1 TB 7200RPM internal HDD, Yamaha XS8 w/mLAN, Mavericks 10.9, G-Tech 500GB Ext. HD, WD MyBook Studio II 320GB, M-Audio FastTrack Pro, Roland VS-2480
User avatar
logic8mine
 
Posts: 365
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 6:49 pm
Location: SW-OH

Re: Apple OS X Mavericks FREE available today

Postby jasonwagner » Thu Oct 24, 2013 8:03 am

Soundtoys replies and said a fix should be posted today or tomorrow. :)
- Mac Pro 3.2GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon, 32 gig ram
- Apogee Symphony I/O, Logic Pro 10.0.7, OSX 10.9.3
- http://www.sonicconscious.com
jasonwagner
 
Posts: 230
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 9:28 am

Re: Apple OS X Mavericks FREE available today

Postby Tribalman » Thu Oct 24, 2013 8:17 am

Glenn F wrote:the 32 bit plugins work as expected in LP9 64 bit mode. I have the IK Multimedia instruments (my only ones STILL in 32 bit :x ) and they all load fine.

Hi,
Sorry if I miss something, but I thought that 32 bit bridge worked not anymore since ML.
Since a long time I'm in 32 bits mode, some of my plugs are not 64 bits ok right now.
If someone have patience enough to tell me how to run 64 bit mode and validate the AU stuff, it would be so nice .
Cos I don't expect to destroy all my system which is rock solid at this time ;)
( Yes I know how to uncheck the 32 bits mode in app infos )
I know too that some plugs like Predator have one install for each mode, that I have to download again.
My set up is in signature.
Thanx ;)
Mac Mini i7 Late 2012 / OSX 10.8.5 / LP 9.1.8 / 16G ram / SSD 840 Pro 512 for system and virtual synth datas / Int HDD 1T for Audio
User avatar
Tribalman
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2011 3:29 pm
Location: Paris, France

Re: Apple OS X Mavericks FREE available today

Postby Glenn F » Thu Oct 24, 2013 8:23 am

Tribalman wrote:
Glenn F wrote:the 32 bit plugins work as expected in LP9 64 bit mode. I have the IK Multimedia instruments (my only ones STILL in 32 bit :x ) and they all load fine.

Hi,
Sorry if I miss something, but I thought that 32 bit bridge worked not anymore since ML.
Since a long time I'm in 32 bits mode, some of my plugs are not 64 bits ok right now.
If someone have patience enough to tell me how to run 64 bit mode and validate the AU stuff, it would be so nice .
Cos I don't expect to destroy all my system which is rock solid at this time ;)
( Yes I know how to uncheck the 32 bits mode in app infos )
I know too that some plugs like Predator have one install for each mode, that I have to download again.
My set up is in signature.
Thanx ;)


No, the bridge is only obsolete in Logic Pro 10. It worked ok in Mountain Lion, but I avoided it because it seemed to make CPU usage worse somehow. The bridge works as it always has on Mavericks, and I don't know of any other way to run in 64 bit without unchecking the box in the info page.
2011 Mac Mini Server 2 ghz quad core, 8 gigs RAM, OS10.9.3, Logic 9.1.8., Logic Pro X.0.7, Firewire Duet, Novation 61SL Mk II. V-Control Pro.
User avatar
Glenn F
 
Posts: 572
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2008 2:06 pm
Location: The Windmills of my Mind

Re: Apple OS X Mavericks FREE available today

Postby Tribalman » Thu Oct 24, 2013 8:30 am

Glenn F wrote:No, the bridge is only obsolete in Logic Pro 10. It worked ok in Mountain Lion, but I avoided it because it seemed to make CPU usage worse somehow. The bridge works as it always has on Mavericks, and I don't know of any other way to run in 64 bit without unchecking the box in the info page.

Ok, that's means that the bridge is an internal thing right ? I mean it's not a kind of patch or app or something ?
All I have to do is launching LP9 in 64 bit mode and I guess it'll gonna rescan all the AU plugs . And hope validate the stuffs.
And LP will decide witch AU will run in 32 bridge or 64 if compatibles ?

and I don't know of any other way to run in 64 bit without unchecking the box in the info page.

Forget it, it was a stupid question ;)
Mac Mini i7 Late 2012 / OSX 10.8.5 / LP 9.1.8 / 16G ram / SSD 840 Pro 512 for system and virtual synth datas / Int HDD 1T for Audio
User avatar
Tribalman
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2011 3:29 pm
Location: Paris, France

Re: Apple OS X Mavericks FREE available today

Postby Atlas007 » Thu Oct 24, 2013 11:41 am

Tribalman wrote:Ok, that's means that the bridge is an internal thing right ? I mean it's not a kind of patch or app or something ?
All I have to do is launching LP9 in 64 bit mode and I guess it'll gonna rescan all the AU plugs . And hope validate the stuffs.
And LP will decide witch AU will run in 32 bridge or 64 if compatibles ?

The 32bit AU Bridge is a feature already included in Logic 9 that will start automatically when you instantiate a 32bit plugin, if you booted Logic in 64bit mode. The 32bit plugins are listed separately when you are looking for one. Some 32bit plugins GUi won't show up at first when instantiated, the 32 bit AU Bridge box will appear as empty, if that is the case, just click in the empty grey area of that box and normally the plugin GUi should normally pop up. It is recommended to boot Logic in 32bit mode when installing a new 32bit plugin, in order to have it scanned/validated by Logic before rebooting in 64bit mode, otherwise the new plugin may not be recognized and unavailable.
LogicX 10.0.7(& 9.1.8),MainStage3.0.3
MBPro 17",Core2Duo,8G,OSX10.9.4
ULN8,MOTU MIDI TP-AV,C4,McControl,KorgNano,NovationSLMkII
AAS,NI,Melodyne,MIDIQuest,etc
PC,iPad3(V-Control & LogicRemote), AtariST(Notator SL),Several vintage gear
User avatar
Atlas007
 
Posts: 1803
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 12:58 am

PreviousNext

Return to News

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest