Scale MIDI velocity down based on note

fyankai

Hi all

I'm fairly new to Logic Pro X and can't seem to find an answer to this question anywhere...

I've got a software instrument (NI Scarbee running in Kontakt Player) on which the higher notes come out too loud. I've been using it live and have been using Mainstage's Note Input (under Velocity Scaling in that channel's Midi Input panel) to tame the top end. It basically reduces the velocity parameter smoothly, across the keyboard so that only the top end is effected. See screenshot...

1367832711_ScreenShot2014-07-16at20_00_52.png.03487d47e3c2f5ee42159224e3ca0806.png

Is there a way to do the same thing in Logic Pro X? I need it to happen as I'm playing, rather than as a post-production thing, and to only apply to the channel that that instrument is on.

Thanks in advance for any help with this.

Frank

Thanks for replying, Jordi.

Does Note Range Min and Max not refer to which velocities get processed? (Just guessing as they have values of 0-127.) Or if those do let you target just one area of the keyboard, wouldn't that make it an on/off thing (bottom part of keyboard doesn't get compressed, top part gets compressed uniformly) rather than gradually having more effect as you go up the keyboard?

Just to clarify, I need this to kick in gradually from note D5, with the velocities getting more compressed as you go up to F6 and then levelling out. And ideally I'd like to be able to draw any shape across the keyboard to even out patches that have louder/quieter areas.

Obviously it'd be nice to be able to do this from within the virtual instrument, but NI Scarbee is pretty basic control-wise.

Does Note Range Min and Max not refer to which velocities get processed? (Just guessing as they have values of 0-127.)

Those are note numbers. C-2 to G8 (MIDI note 0 to MIDI note 127).