Is there a way to hide unwanted notes in Piano roll?

Logic Pro X (and older versions) questions and troubleshooting

Is there a way to hide unwanted notes in Piano roll?

Postby BWTFFAM » Wed Aug 31, 2011 8:05 pm

Hi! I used to work with Ableton and now I use Logic Pro 9.
In Ableton's Piano Roll there was an option (I think It was called Flow or something) where you could hide the notes you hadn't used and just keep the ones you used. This was particularly useful for drums or for selecting i.e. one scale and then Hiding the other notes. I was wondering If there is such a thing on logic. The Piano roll is too crowded otherwise and with loads of empty useless space.

Thank you/
User avatar
BWTFFAM
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 7:56 am
Location: Istanbul, Turkey

 

Postby buzwah » Thu Sep 01, 2011 12:53 am

If it's used mainly for drum patterns then this is the best way to do it. When the notes are separated onto their own tracks you can mute them, hide them do whatever you like.
Attachments
Screen shot 2011-09-01 at 5.53.51 PM.png
Screen shot 2011-09-01 at 5.53.51 PM.png (49.09 KiB) Viewed 844 times
Logic 9.1.8 - Mac Pro 2x3Ghz Dual-Core Intel Xeon-10GB RAM - Snow Leopard 10.6.8- Apogee Duet - MOTU Microlite- M-Audio Axiom 61
User avatar
buzwah
 
Posts: 1369
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 5:21 pm
Location: Sydney Australia

 

Postby BWTFFAM » Thu Sep 01, 2011 5:57 am

Thanks for the quick reply. This really helps with the drums. But I was talking about something else. I guess I explained it really bad. What I'm looking for is useful for composing. Let's say I'm using an Ultrabeat preset, but only using 5 of the 20 sounds, and they're far apart. So when I open Piano Roll, I have to keep scrolling up and down to edit it. In Ableton there was an option to get rid of those and just stack your 5 keys on top of each other, even though, there are actually other keys between them.
I hope this is more useful?

Thanks again for your time.
Logic Pro 9.1.5
OS X Version 10.6.8
iMac 10,1 3.06 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
4GB 1067 MHz DDR3 Memory
Mac 500GB + Seagate Freeagent 1TB Hard Drive
Behringer U-Control UCA200 RCA Audio Interface
Korg Kaossilator Pro Synth and Loop Station
User avatar
BWTFFAM
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 7:56 am
Location: Istanbul, Turkey

 

Postby ski » Thu Sep 01, 2011 12:10 pm

The piano roll editor is used to show the position of notes according to where they're played or programmed in relation to the standard MIDI note map (128 note keyboard). Makes sense that if you're going to play notes which are played far apart from one another that there would be empty space in the display.

Couple of options for you, beginning with the idea of opening the piano roll window so that you can see more real estate without having to scroll so much, combined with setting a zoom level that lets you get at the notes.

Or get a bigger monitor LOL!

The next option is to set up something in the environment called a mapped instrument. Simply put, this environment object lets you map one note to another. So if you want to play the sound on (say) C7 with C3, you program the map accordingly. It would take a minute to set this up...

• determine which notes you want to use from the kit
• determine which notes you'd like to see them represented as in the piano roll
• program the mapped instrument accordingly
• change the notes in your region(s) so that they're now playing the mapped notes instead of the original notes

Then you have to swap out the original instrument channel for the mapped instrument, and you also have to connect the mapper to the instrument so that the note translation can take place:

• assign the track to the mapped instrument
• cable the mapped instrument to the instrument channel from which the sound is being generated

Yet another approach would be to set up your mapped instrument before you record anything. This means determining which sounds you want to use and which keys you want to map them to before you start recording. If you take this approach, your initial recordings will automatically show the notes where you want to view them in the piano roll.
MacPro 8 Core 2.4 Xeon | 32G RAM | ML/10.8.5 | LPX10.0.7 | Author of Logic Pro X video tutorials on The Score Editor and Signal Flow in Logic Pro.
User avatar
ski
Site Contributor
 
Posts: 16256
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2005 6:12 pm
Location: Los Angeles

 

Postby Jordi Torres » Thu Sep 01, 2011 12:30 pm

BWTFFAM wrote:In Ableton's Piano Roll there was an option (I think It was called Flow or something) where you could hide the notes you hadn't used and just keep the ones you used.


You're talking about the Fold button.

In my opinion, the closest to that is creating a hyper set in the hyper editor using only the note events you want to see.

J.
Et voilà!

Mac mini i7 2.3 GHz - 16GB RAM | OS 10.9.4 | Logic Pro 10.0.7 |
Dead MacBook Pro 15" Core 2 Duo 2.2 GHz - 6GB RAM | OS 10.6.8 | Logic Pro 9.1.8 |
RME Fireface 400 | Akai MPK49 | Nord Micro Modular |
User avatar
Jordi Torres
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 13950
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 7:24 am
Location: Neuchâtel, Switzerland

 

Postby BWTFFAM » Thu Sep 01, 2011 1:30 pm

Thanks jordito. That was exactly what I was looking for. Thanks everyone!
Logic Pro 9.1.5
OS X Version 10.6.8
iMac 10,1 3.06 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
4GB 1067 MHz DDR3 Memory
Mac 500GB + Seagate Freeagent 1TB Hard Drive
Behringer U-Control UCA200 RCA Audio Interface
Korg Kaossilator Pro Synth and Loop Station
User avatar
BWTFFAM
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu May 12, 2011 7:56 am
Location: Istanbul, Turkey

 

Postby Jordi Torres » Thu Sep 01, 2011 3:04 pm

You're welcome!

J.
Et voilà!

Mac mini i7 2.3 GHz - 16GB RAM | OS 10.9.4 | Logic Pro 10.0.7 |
Dead MacBook Pro 15" Core 2 Duo 2.2 GHz - 6GB RAM | OS 10.6.8 | Logic Pro 9.1.8 |
RME Fireface 400 | Akai MPK49 | Nord Micro Modular |
User avatar
Jordi Torres
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 13950
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 7:24 am
Location: Neuchâtel, Switzerland


Return to Logic Pro X

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], EdgarRothermich, gdoubleyou, natdame, undergrounkfunk and 21 guests