auvaltool is crashing

Logic Pro X (and older versions) questions and troubleshooting

auvaltool is crashing

Postby rpacker » Sun Oct 09, 2011 2:42 pm

Since I upgraded to Lion, the auvaltool tool is crashing with some of my 32 bit plugins. They actually still work, but there are listed in the plugins menu in an "incompatible" category.

Has anyone experienced this problem?

I am using the latest version of Logic in 32 bit mode.
Logic Pro 9.1.3 - Mac Pro 4 core 3 GHz Quad OS X 10.6.7- 12 GB RAM - MOTU V4HD
User avatar
rpacker
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 4:52 pm
Location: Washington, DC

 

Postby Eric Cardenas » Sun Oct 09, 2011 3:01 pm

Which plug-ins and versions?
Eric Bradley Cardenas
EC Making Sound
Mac mini 2.6 GHz 16GB RAM Areca⚡RAID | MacBook Pro 2.2 GHz 16GB RAM | Os 10.9.4
Logic Pro 10.0.7/9.1.8 | RME Fireface UFX | Adam A7 + Sub8 | Spectrasonics | Softube
User avatar
Eric Cardenas
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 11569
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 1:47 pm
Location: Uppsala, Sweden

 

Postby rpacker » Sun Oct 09, 2011 3:12 pm

The following plugins have crashed the au validation:

Altiverb 6.3.7
Melodyne Plugin 1.04
Melodyne Bridge 3.2
PSP 608 Multidelay 1.1.2'

I somehow have the impression the auvaltool is corrupted, but I'm not sure. Again, these plugins do work, even though they say "failed" or "crashed" validation in the AU manager.
Logic Pro 9.1.3 - Mac Pro 4 core 3 GHz Quad OS X 10.6.7- 12 GB RAM - MOTU V4HD
User avatar
rpacker
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 4:52 pm
Location: Washington, DC

 

Postby Eric Cardenas » Sun Oct 09, 2011 3:16 pm

rpacker wrote:The following plugins have crashed the au validation:

Altiverb 6.3.7
Melodyne Plugin 1.04
Melodyne Bridge 3.2
PSP 608 Multidelay 1.1.2'

I somehow have the impression the auvaltool is corrupted, but I'm not sure. Again, these plugins do work, even though they say "failed" or "crashed" validation in the AU manager.


I have the latest version of Melodyne (1.30) and that validates perfectly in Lion.
I can not comment on the others.
Eric Bradley Cardenas
EC Making Sound
Mac mini 2.6 GHz 16GB RAM Areca⚡RAID | MacBook Pro 2.2 GHz 16GB RAM | Os 10.9.4
Logic Pro 10.0.7/9.1.8 | RME Fireface UFX | Adam A7 + Sub8 | Spectrasonics | Softube
User avatar
Eric Cardenas
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 11569
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 1:47 pm
Location: Uppsala, Sweden

 

Postby rpacker » Sun Oct 09, 2011 3:23 pm

Thanks for your feedback. I think what all of these plugins have in common (except PSP) is they are the latest versions of software that has since been revisioned or in the case of Altiverb, is about to be upgraded.

It is just strange, because there are no error messages from Ableton Live or Digital Performer or Final Cut Pro, etc., just Logic. So it seems the auvaltool is the problem, because again the plugins do work.
Logic Pro 9.1.3 - Mac Pro 4 core 3 GHz Quad OS X 10.6.7- 12 GB RAM - MOTU V4HD
User avatar
rpacker
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 4:52 pm
Location: Washington, DC

Re: auvaltool is crashing

Postby aidenfry » Wed Jan 18, 2012 11:39 am

Hi, I have a similar problem.
I recently upgraded to Lion, and now one my my plug ins also dont work. I am using Logic Pro 8.
For me it crashes when loading the PLAY plug in (with east/west Symphonic Orchestra).

The AU manager says, crashed during validation.

I have tried in both 32bit and 64 bit.

Anyone help please? This is a fairly vital piece of kit for me!
Thanks
aidenfry
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 11:34 am

Re: auvaltool is crashing

Postby acslee88 » Fri Apr 13, 2012 9:48 am

I am getting the same problem as aidenfry. Any solutions found yet? can people update this tread please..?
acslee88
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2012 9:45 am

Re: auvaltool is crashing

Postby Eric Cardenas » Fri Apr 13, 2012 10:12 am

acslee88 wrote:I am getting the same problem as aidenfry. Any solutions found yet? can people update this tread please..?


Please add your Logic version and system info to your signature: Forum Rules - please READ THIS before posting (#5)

And add what version of Play you are using to your post.
Eric Bradley Cardenas
EC Making Sound
Mac mini 2.6 GHz 16GB RAM Areca⚡RAID | MacBook Pro 2.2 GHz 16GB RAM | Os 10.9.4
Logic Pro 10.0.7/9.1.8 | RME Fireface UFX | Adam A7 + Sub8 | Spectrasonics | Softube
User avatar
Eric Cardenas
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 11569
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 1:47 pm
Location: Uppsala, Sweden

Re: auvaltool is crashing

Postby mmm42 » Fri Apr 13, 2012 10:39 am

EricBradley wrote:Please add your Logic version and system info to your signature: Forum Rules - please READ THIS before posting (#5)


That probably doesn't help, because auval is part of Mac OS X, not Logic. Logic Pro is just calling auval to - duh - validate AudioUnits. You can therefore receive a new version auval with any Mac OS X update.
mmm42
 
Posts: 579
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2007 12:52 am
Location: San Jose, CA

Re: auvaltool is crashing

Postby Eric Cardenas » Fri Apr 13, 2012 12:00 pm

mmm42 wrote:
EricBradley wrote:Please add your Logic version and system info to your signature: Forum Rules - please READ THIS before posting (#5)


That probably doesn't help, because auval is part of Mac OS X, not Logic. Logic Pro is just calling auval to - duh - validate AudioUnits. You can therefore receive a new version auval with any Mac OS X update.


Of course that information helps.
He is having problems with Logic 8 and Play.

System info means OS, Computer...
Eric Bradley Cardenas
EC Making Sound
Mac mini 2.6 GHz 16GB RAM Areca⚡RAID | MacBook Pro 2.2 GHz 16GB RAM | Os 10.9.4
Logic Pro 10.0.7/9.1.8 | RME Fireface UFX | Adam A7 + Sub8 | Spectrasonics | Softube
User avatar
Eric Cardenas
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 11569
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 1:47 pm
Location: Uppsala, Sweden

Re: auvaltool is crashing

Postby Mr. V » Fri Apr 13, 2012 2:27 pm

I was having the issue after upgrading to L9.1.7 as documented here: viewtopic.php?f=1&t=82495

Unchecking the offending auto mapped plug-ins in the Audio Units Manager stopped the crashing and rescanning process with each start up.

It's not uncommon for one DAW to be cranky with some plug-ins while another DAW does not.
Mr. V
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2007 9:41 pm


Return to Logic Pro X

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: David Nahmani, Robert Randolph and 23 guests