Unresponsive Logic 9.1.x+10.7.x & 10.8.x [SOLVED in 10.8.3?]

Re: Unresponsive Logic 9.1.x + Lion 10.7.x

Postby Lipscomb » Mon Jun 18, 2012 4:26 pm

You're welcome J.
System:
Mac Pro 1.1 / Snow Leopard 10.6.8 / M-audio 2626 / Logic 9.1.7
MacBook Pro 5.5 / Lion 10.7.4 / RME UCX / Logic 9.1.7
Lipscomb
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 3:02 am

Re: Unresponsive Logic 9.1.x + Lion 10.7.x

Postby hypnotik » Tue Jun 19, 2012 6:46 am

Cool :) i thought this behavior still exists nowadays.

Anyway it's not the problem related to this topic.
http://soundcloud.com/block-device

10.8.4 / Logic Pro 9.1.8 - Logic Pro 10.0.1
Mac Pro 2009 (Nehalem) / 24GB / SSD Samsung 512gb
Core Audio : Apogee Symphony I/O - Symphony PCI E
hypnotik
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 10:25 am

Re: Unresponsive Logic 9.1.x + Lion 10.7.x

Postby hypnotik » Wed Jun 20, 2012 1:53 am

After being censored by Apple on their forums coz i was speaking about an unreleased software (Mountain Lion), i've decided to make a new video to show you the bug under Lion 10.7.4

Only stock channel strips, no third party, empty project, without any complex arrangement, audio or whatever

http://youtu.be/CmX4mrsDdOw

If Apple only listen to Facebook request (i.e We want a new Mac Pro) then should I make my request through it ? lol

Please Logic Dev's i know you're reading us, this behavior is totally unacceptable for people who spent more than 3k$ in Apple piece of gear, software or whatever! Even Cubase VST 5 works better on Windows 98 ahahahah
http://soundcloud.com/block-device

10.8.4 / Logic Pro 9.1.8 - Logic Pro 10.0.1
Mac Pro 2009 (Nehalem) / 24GB / SSD Samsung 512gb
Core Audio : Apogee Symphony I/O - Symphony PCI E
hypnotik
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 10:25 am

Re: Unresponsive Logic 9.1.x + Lion 10.7.x

Postby django » Wed Jun 20, 2012 3:00 am

Seeing as people have Logic 9 working and some don't, might there be a common 3rd party plug or device (eg. printer, anything) that is incompatible with Lion that is causing this problem?
iMac 3.2GHz Intel Dual Core i3, 12g Ram, Audio Komplete 6, Novation Midi Controller, Virus Ti, Mackie Mr-8, Logic Pro 8.0.2 FUN :-)

http://www.soundcloud.com/django_music
django
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 8:53 am

Re: Unresponsive Logic 9.1.x + Lion 10.7.x

Postby peachboy » Wed Jun 20, 2012 3:07 am

django wrote:Seeing as people have Logic 9 working and some don't, might there be a common 3rd party plug or device (eg. printer, anything) that is incompatible with Lion that is causing this problem?



Not to mention...

....Java....Flash....Adobe Updater.... Dropbox....Skype......screen size and resolution....

:shock:
Logic Pro 10.0.0.0, Mac OSX 10.8.4, iMac 2009 2.3Ghz , 8gB, 3 x Glyph GT050Q, RME Fireface 800, Dangerous D-Box, Roland FP-7, Akai MPK61, Eventide H949
User avatar
peachboy
 
Posts: 271
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 7:18 am
Location: Bristol, UK

Re: Unresponsive Logic 9.1.x + Lion 10.7.x

Postby hypnotik » Wed Jun 20, 2012 3:19 am

django wrote:Seeing as people have Logic 9 working and some don't, might there be a common 3rd party plug or device (eg. printer, anything) that is incompatible with Lion that is causing this problem?


It's not a problem related to 3rd party plugin, because in my example no one of them are loaded. I've used only stock channel strips from logic.

Anyway all my devices are compatible with Lion, checked and double checked. I've tried without bluetooth, no success.
I think everybody have flash and java at least installed. I don't know about dropbox, but this supposition isn't making sense to me...

Ok i should try without anything installed, i'm becoming crazyyyyyy!!!!! It's not my job to do that s#!+! We're not on Windows as far as i know!

Anyway thanks for your input Django
http://soundcloud.com/block-device

10.8.4 / Logic Pro 9.1.8 - Logic Pro 10.0.1
Mac Pro 2009 (Nehalem) / 24GB / SSD Samsung 512gb
Core Audio : Apogee Symphony I/O - Symphony PCI E
hypnotik
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 10:25 am

Re: Unresponsive Logic 9.1.x + Lion 10.7.x

Postby django » Wed Jun 20, 2012 4:44 am

Not sure if you've read any of this thread.....it's 14 pages but some useful stuff in there. A good idea i heard in this was to run disk permission repair from your lion install disk from boot(hold opt on startup, also i was thinking a good idea might be the disk permission repair (from boot holding alt) from snow leopard Install disk. If you have a boot copy of Disk Warrior this may work aswell.

https://discussions.apple.com/thread/31 ... 0&tstart=0

This guy seemed happy

"This was the most helpful solution. I added a few more twists. First, I went to System Prefs, General and disabled the RESTORE WINDOWS WHEN QUITTING.... Second, I went to Utilities and verified and repaired both the Permissions and Disk. I also did it in the RECOVERY DISK mode as mentioned Apierce24 solution. Finally, I zapped the PRAM 3 TIMES (command, option, P and the R keys). On restart, I held the keys until I heard 3 start up tones. IT WORKED! I am back up to speed. These forums are great! Another reason Mac is the best."

Quote from link to Apple forums

THANKS EVERYONE.

This is a problem that you shouldn't worry too much about, in the interim, play some tetris, the fix will happen for you, i've heard of it too many times :)
iMac 3.2GHz Intel Dual Core i3, 12g Ram, Audio Komplete 6, Novation Midi Controller, Virus Ti, Mackie Mr-8, Logic Pro 8.0.2 FUN :-)

http://www.soundcloud.com/django_music
django
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 8:53 am

Re: Unresponsive Logic 9.1.x + Lion 10.7.x

Postby hypnotik » Wed Jun 20, 2012 6:06 am

We're not speaking about Lion being slow. But only Logic under OSX 10.7.x being slow when using plugins with graphics activity (i.e : channel eq+analyzer, brainworx, vengeance suite, h-eq+analyzer,...). This is not the same thing. But anyway sure great ideas, which i've already applied. The only thing i didn't done is to reinstall a clean Lion with ONLY Logic installed, then i'll see what will happen in performance terms.

Anyway you can read this thread also
https://discussions.apple.com/thread/32 ... 5&tstart=0

With the 10.7.5 release coming apple is giving to me a bit of hope regarding graphics performance.

This problem exists since Lion came out, if i had to play tetris in the interim, i'll finish it countless times. Time is money in a studio man we're not all here only for fun.
http://soundcloud.com/block-device

10.8.4 / Logic Pro 9.1.8 - Logic Pro 10.0.1
Mac Pro 2009 (Nehalem) / 24GB / SSD Samsung 512gb
Core Audio : Apogee Symphony I/O - Symphony PCI E
hypnotik
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 10:25 am

Re: Unresponsive Logic 9.1.x + Lion 10.7.x

Postby django » Wed Jun 20, 2012 6:32 am

Ok cool. Out of curiosity, did you update to lion from Snow Leopard? if so, there are procedures to be followed to prep Snow leopard for the install...

Good luck with this problem, i would think it would be kernel conflict with an updated driver for Lion...

also from what i know you can't roll back to Snow leopard if it has never been installed, ie; all new Macs....
iMac 3.2GHz Intel Dual Core i3, 12g Ram, Audio Komplete 6, Novation Midi Controller, Virus Ti, Mackie Mr-8, Logic Pro 8.0.2 FUN :-)

http://www.soundcloud.com/django_music
django
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 8:53 am

Re: Unresponsive Logic 9.1.x + Lion 10.7.x

Postby hypnotik » Wed Jun 20, 2012 7:20 am

no prob django, as i said in this topic, it's not my first attempt, update from snow leopard, clean install, no one of these methods has got positive effects on my rig, and i know i'm not alone...
http://soundcloud.com/block-device

10.8.4 / Logic Pro 9.1.8 - Logic Pro 10.0.1
Mac Pro 2009 (Nehalem) / 24GB / SSD Samsung 512gb
Core Audio : Apogee Symphony I/O - Symphony PCI E
hypnotik
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 10:25 am

Re: Unresponsive Logic 9.1.x + Lion 10.7.x

Postby hypnotik » Wed Jun 20, 2012 2:45 pm

clean install of lion : nothing installed even not my apogee audio drivers! using core audio default settings

4 channel EQ with analyzer on high and my 2009 Mac pro dual cpu with 16gb is on his knees, crap like an old windows pc!

Same problem! So......now what else ?

PS : i've tried also with the 10.7.5 beta supposed to fix graphics performance, no luck, same behavior, Apple needs to fix this asap.
http://soundcloud.com/block-device

10.8.4 / Logic Pro 9.1.8 - Logic Pro 10.0.1
Mac Pro 2009 (Nehalem) / 24GB / SSD Samsung 512gb
Core Audio : Apogee Symphony I/O - Symphony PCI E
hypnotik
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 10:25 am

Re: Unresponsive Logic 9.1.x + Lion 10.7.x

Postby django » Thu Jun 21, 2012 3:48 am

Can someone test opening Logic via the finder with right click, show package contents, navigate to Contents/MacOS/Logic Pro (or Express) Double click, you should get a terminal window open with logic, maybe this will help?
iMac 3.2GHz Intel Dual Core i3, 12g Ram, Audio Komplete 6, Novation Midi Controller, Virus Ti, Mackie Mr-8, Logic Pro 8.0.2 FUN :-)

http://www.soundcloud.com/django_music
django
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 8:53 am

Re: Unresponsive Logic 9.1.x + Lion 10.7.x

Postby hypnotik » Thu Jun 21, 2012 4:21 am

?

What's the purpose ?
http://soundcloud.com/block-device

10.8.4 / Logic Pro 9.1.8 - Logic Pro 10.0.1
Mac Pro 2009 (Nehalem) / 24GB / SSD Samsung 512gb
Core Audio : Apogee Symphony I/O - Symphony PCI E
hypnotik
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 10:25 am

Re: Unresponsive Logic 9.1.x + Lion 10.7.x

Postby hypnotik » Thu Jun 21, 2012 11:36 pm

Read fluffy's posts, this totally makes sense

https://discussions.apple.com/thread/32 ... 5&tstart=0
http://soundcloud.com/block-device

10.8.4 / Logic Pro 9.1.8 - Logic Pro 10.0.1
Mac Pro 2009 (Nehalem) / 24GB / SSD Samsung 512gb
Core Audio : Apogee Symphony I/O - Symphony PCI E
hypnotik
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 10:25 am

Re: Unresponsive Logic 9.1.x + Lion 10.7.x

Postby hypnotik » Tue Jul 03, 2012 12:29 am

up
http://soundcloud.com/block-device

10.8.4 / Logic Pro 9.1.8 - Logic Pro 10.0.1
Mac Pro 2009 (Nehalem) / 24GB / SSD Samsung 512gb
Core Audio : Apogee Symphony I/O - Symphony PCI E
hypnotik
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 10:25 am

Re: Unresponsive Logic 9.1.x + Lion 10.7.x

Postby Eric Cardenas » Tue Jul 03, 2012 2:26 am

bonustrack wrote:
I can reproduce this issue easily with Brainworx plug-ins under Lion, the last versions of their plug-ins that does not use iLok protection cause this unresponsive key and mouse delays each time I open their GUI. Are you using Brainworx or Vertigo plugs?


+1 here

I have contacted apple support and they have replied. We are doing some more testing. They confirmed to me that "It's a known issue that they (= plugin alliance plugins) are causing this"

I've also asked for support on the PA side.

I'll keep you all updated when I have more info.


There's now an update for all the Plugin Alliance plugins that is supposed to fix this particular problem.
Eric Bradley Cardenas
EC Making Sound
Mac mini 2.6 GHz 16GB RAM Areca⚡RAID | MacBook Pro 2.2 GHz 16GB RAM | Os 10.9.4
Logic Pro 10.0.7/9.1.8 | RME Fireface UFX | Adam A7 + Sub8 | Spectrasonics | Softube
User avatar
Eric Cardenas
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 11698
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 1:47 pm
Location: Uppsala, Sweden

Re: Unresponsive Logic 9.1.x + Lion 10.7.x

Postby hypnotik » Thu Jul 05, 2012 3:52 am

now they need to fix the Channel EQ analyzer problem :)
http://soundcloud.com/block-device

10.8.4 / Logic Pro 9.1.8 - Logic Pro 10.0.1
Mac Pro 2009 (Nehalem) / 24GB / SSD Samsung 512gb
Core Audio : Apogee Symphony I/O - Symphony PCI E
hypnotik
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 10:25 am

Re: Unresponsive Logic 9.1.x + Lion 10.7.x

Postby eatsleepbreathe » Thu Jul 05, 2012 4:07 am

Don't hold your breath... it wasn't fixed in the last 2 point versions. Logic is painful to use like this!
eatsleepbreathe
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 11:17 am

Re: Unresponsive Logic 9.1.x + Lion 10.7.x

Postby hypnotik » Thu Jul 05, 2012 12:09 pm

it's unusable ! Cubase & Atari works better ahah
http://soundcloud.com/block-device

10.8.4 / Logic Pro 9.1.8 - Logic Pro 10.0.1
Mac Pro 2009 (Nehalem) / 24GB / SSD Samsung 512gb
Core Audio : Apogee Symphony I/O - Symphony PCI E
hypnotik
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 10:25 am

Re: Unresponsive Logic 9.1.x + Lion 10.7.x

Postby triplets » Thu Jul 05, 2012 5:09 pm

hypnotik wrote:it's unusable ! Cubase & Atari works better ahah


Logic is perfectly usable.
The problem is Lion.
Never had any issues myself for the last 2 years. Still on Snow Leopard, which is solid as a tank.
I know, if you buy a new computer, you're stuck with Lion.
Hopefully Mountain Lion will be as good as Snow Leopard is.
Logic Pro 9 Master Pro
ProTools 10 & 11 Certified User
2x2.26 Intel Quad-Core 6GB RAM, Logic 9.1.8, 10.6.8, Logic 10.0.7, ML 10.8.5., Motu Ultralite
http://www.ultimatestudiosinc.com
User avatar
triplets
 
Posts: 9793
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 3:21 pm
Location: North Hollywood

PreviousNext

Return to Logic 9 Bugs & Workarounds

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests