Logic X and Mavericks

Logic Pro X (and older versions) questions and troubleshooting

Logic X and Mavericks

Postby DJ Vingo » Wed Oct 09, 2013 7:27 pm

Will most of you be doing a clean install or will you install over existing OS?
DJ Vingo: Running Logic Studio 10.0.4, OS X Mavericks 10.9, iMac 2.66 Core i5, 16 GB, 240 GB Intel SSD, 1TB internal HD, Logic runs on Intel 240 GB internal SSD, PreSonus Firestudio interface. Akai MPK49, NI Maschine. 2nd comp: MacBook Pro 2.2.
DJ Vingo
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2012 5:40 am
Location: Miami

Re: Logic X and Mavericks

Postby strikingtwice » Wed Oct 09, 2013 7:35 pm

I've done installs over a few times, but when i finally did a clean one and just took a good weekend to set up my system, it was such an immense difference (to the positive). I would never update OS again without clean if i could avoid it.
Dave DeLizza
Apple Certified Pro Logic 9 Level 1 (still don't know everything!!)

Mac Pro - Logic Pro X.0.7 - NI Komplete 9 Ult - Line 6 Pod Farm - Motu 896HD - Bunch o' Plugs - Axiom 61
http://www.checkenginemusic.com (old, needs updating)
strikingtwice
 
Posts: 573
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 8:05 pm

Re: Logic X and Mavericks

Postby logic8mine » Wed Oct 09, 2013 7:54 pm

I clone my drive and then migrate them over after the clean install...
Logic Pro 10.0.7, Logic Pro 9.1.8, MACBOOK PRO - Intel Core Duo- 2.66ghz, 8GB Ram w/HGST, 1 TB 7200RPM internal HDD, Yamaha XS8 w/mLAN, Mavericks 10.9, G-Tech 500GB Ext. HD, WD MyBook Studio II 320GB, M-Audio FastTrack Pro, Roland VS-2480
User avatar
logic8mine
 
Posts: 372
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 6:49 pm
Location: SW-OH

Re: Logic X and Mavericks

Postby DJ Vingo » Wed Oct 09, 2013 7:59 pm

I usually do clean installs as well, I've heard some people say it does not matter but I guess with intensive apps like Logic Pro it's better to do a clean install. I usually back up with Time Machine then migrate from there.
DJ Vingo: Running Logic Studio 10.0.4, OS X Mavericks 10.9, iMac 2.66 Core i5, 16 GB, 240 GB Intel SSD, 1TB internal HD, Logic runs on Intel 240 GB internal SSD, PreSonus Firestudio interface. Akai MPK49, NI Maschine. 2nd comp: MacBook Pro 2.2.
DJ Vingo
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2012 5:40 am
Location: Miami

Re: Logic X and Mavericks

Postby logic8mine » Wed Oct 09, 2013 8:13 pm

DJ Vingo wrote:I usually do clean installs as well, I've heard some people say it does not matter but I guess with intensive apps like Logic Pro it's better to do a clean install. I usually back up with Time Machine then migrate from there.
Time machine is a no go for me. These darn dongles! Some of my plug-ins are still tied to them and they have a limited number of activations. Restoring from Time Machine always required me to re-activate, so i had to find another solution...
Logic Pro 10.0.7, Logic Pro 9.1.8, MACBOOK PRO - Intel Core Duo- 2.66ghz, 8GB Ram w/HGST, 1 TB 7200RPM internal HDD, Yamaha XS8 w/mLAN, Mavericks 10.9, G-Tech 500GB Ext. HD, WD MyBook Studio II 320GB, M-Audio FastTrack Pro, Roland VS-2480
User avatar
logic8mine
 
Posts: 372
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 6:49 pm
Location: SW-OH

Re: Logic X and Mavericks

Postby DJ Vingo » Wed Oct 09, 2013 9:19 pm

What program do you use to clone? I've had problems like that as well, I didn't know that cloning would prevent that.
DJ Vingo: Running Logic Studio 10.0.4, OS X Mavericks 10.9, iMac 2.66 Core i5, 16 GB, 240 GB Intel SSD, 1TB internal HD, Logic runs on Intel 240 GB internal SSD, PreSonus Firestudio interface. Akai MPK49, NI Maschine. 2nd comp: MacBook Pro 2.2.
DJ Vingo
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2012 5:40 am
Location: Miami

Re: Logic X and Mavericks

Postby Eric Cardenas » Wed Oct 09, 2013 11:33 pm

I would just install over your existing Mountain Lion installation.
Make a clone backup anyway just in case something goes wrong.
I can recommend SuperDuper. It's free if you don't want to use the more fancy features. You can also use Carbon Copy Cloner or even OS X's Disk Utility.
Eric Bradley Cardenas
EC Making Sound
Mac mini 2.6 GHz 16GB RAM Areca⚡RAID | MacBook Pro 2.2 GHz 16GB RAM | Os 10.10
Logic Pro 10.0.7/9.1.8 | RME Fireface UFX | Adam A7 + Sub8 | Spectrasonics | Softube
User avatar
Eric Cardenas
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 12042
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 1:47 pm
Location: Uppsala, Sweden

Re: Logic X and Mavericks

Postby DJ Vingo » Thu Oct 10, 2013 12:05 am

Eric Cardenas wrote:I would just install over your existing Mountain Lion installation.
Make a clone backup anyway just in case something goes wrong.
I can recommend SuperDuper. It's free if you don't want to use the more fancy features. You can also use Carbon Copy Cloner or even OS X's Disk Utility.


Disk Utility? That's good to know, thanks.
DJ Vingo: Running Logic Studio 10.0.4, OS X Mavericks 10.9, iMac 2.66 Core i5, 16 GB, 240 GB Intel SSD, 1TB internal HD, Logic runs on Intel 240 GB internal SSD, PreSonus Firestudio interface. Akai MPK49, NI Maschine. 2nd comp: MacBook Pro 2.2.
DJ Vingo
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2012 5:40 am
Location: Miami

Re: Logic X and Mavericks

Postby Eric Cardenas » Thu Oct 10, 2013 12:08 am

You're welcome! :D
Eric Bradley Cardenas
EC Making Sound
Mac mini 2.6 GHz 16GB RAM Areca⚡RAID | MacBook Pro 2.2 GHz 16GB RAM | Os 10.10
Logic Pro 10.0.7/9.1.8 | RME Fireface UFX | Adam A7 + Sub8 | Spectrasonics | Softube
User avatar
Eric Cardenas
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 12042
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 1:47 pm
Location: Uppsala, Sweden

Re: Logic X and Mavericks

Postby strikingtwice » Thu Oct 10, 2013 6:42 am

Eric is right. Disk Utility will do mostly all of those things, but they're not as pretty or intuitive. I use Carbon Copy Cloner pretty much daily, and that program is the s#!+. Worth the price for sure.
Dave DeLizza
Apple Certified Pro Logic 9 Level 1 (still don't know everything!!)

Mac Pro - Logic Pro X.0.7 - NI Komplete 9 Ult - Line 6 Pod Farm - Motu 896HD - Bunch o' Plugs - Axiom 61
http://www.checkenginemusic.com (old, needs updating)
strikingtwice
 
Posts: 573
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 8:05 pm

Re: Logic X and Mavericks

Postby logic8mine » Thu Oct 10, 2013 7:33 am

I've used both of them as well (that is, Carbon Copy Cloner and Super Duper). If I remember correctly, Carbon Copy had a demo which allowed one backup.
Logic Pro 10.0.7, Logic Pro 9.1.8, MACBOOK PRO - Intel Core Duo- 2.66ghz, 8GB Ram w/HGST, 1 TB 7200RPM internal HDD, Yamaha XS8 w/mLAN, Mavericks 10.9, G-Tech 500GB Ext. HD, WD MyBook Studio II 320GB, M-Audio FastTrack Pro, Roland VS-2480
User avatar
logic8mine
 
Posts: 372
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 6:49 pm
Location: SW-OH

Re: Logic X and Mavericks

Postby YopoMusic » Thu Oct 10, 2013 7:39 am

+1 CC
Logic X | MacMini 2.6 GHz i7 16GB RAM 10.9.3 | RME Fireface 400 | Monitoring: ADAM ANF10s AudioLab 8000s amp | Deoffer LMK2+ keyboard

Check out my new MacProVideo course on recording and editing voiceovers, dialogue and spoken word in Logic Pro. http://www.macprovideo.com/tutorial/logic-pro-x-305-voiceover-recording-and-editing
YopoMusic
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2009 11:15 am
Location: Bath

Re: Logic X and Mavericks

Postby DJ Vingo » Thu Oct 17, 2013 7:08 pm

I installed over Mountain Lion, seems to be working perfectly for the last 2 days.
DJ Vingo: Running Logic Studio 10.0.4, OS X Mavericks 10.9, iMac 2.66 Core i5, 16 GB, 240 GB Intel SSD, 1TB internal HD, Logic runs on Intel 240 GB internal SSD, PreSonus Firestudio interface. Akai MPK49, NI Maschine. 2nd comp: MacBook Pro 2.2.
DJ Vingo
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Aug 11, 2012 5:40 am
Location: Miami


Return to Logic Pro X

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Jmonero, Lavajay6499, shed_33 and 30 guests