Clip Gain [SOLVED]

Logic Pro X (and older versions) questions and troubleshooting

Clip Gain [SOLVED]

Postby j.o.ceo » Sun Aug 25, 2013 3:13 pm

Does Logic 9 or X have a clip gain or region gain function like in Protools? Without using automation.
iMac i7 27 2.93 Ghz, 20gb ram, 4tb HD, Mavericks 10.9.4, Tascam dm4800 with firewire card, Logic 10.0.7, NI MASCHINE 2.1, Motif es8, Focusrite 2i2, Fantom x7, Waves, Spectrasonics, and a few other plugs.
j.o.ceo
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 12:33 pm

Re: Clip Gain

Postby David Nahmani » Sun Aug 25, 2013 3:14 pm

Both do. In the region parameters, top of the inspector.
David Nahmani
 Apple Certified Logic Pro Master Trainer
Author of Logic Pro X - Professional Music Production (Apple Pro Training Series)
Logic Pro X 10.0.6 - Mac OS 10.8.4 - Mac Pro 8 core 2.8 GHz Intel Xeon - 6GB RAM - Metric Halo ULN2
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 54034
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 1:16 am
Location: Valley Village, CA

Re: Clip Gain

Postby j.o.ceo » Sun Aug 25, 2013 6:21 pm

Thanks David, appreciate it.
iMac i7 27 2.93 Ghz, 20gb ram, 4tb HD, Mavericks 10.9.4, Tascam dm4800 with firewire card, Logic 10.0.7, NI MASCHINE 2.1, Motif es8, Focusrite 2i2, Fantom x7, Waves, Spectrasonics, and a few other plugs.
j.o.ceo
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2012 12:33 pm

Re: Clip Gain

Postby David Nahmani » Sun Aug 25, 2013 6:24 pm

You're welcome.
David Nahmani
 Apple Certified Logic Pro Master Trainer
Author of Logic Pro X - Professional Music Production (Apple Pro Training Series)
Logic Pro X 10.0.6 - Mac OS 10.8.4 - Mac Pro 8 core 2.8 GHz Intel Xeon - 6GB RAM - Metric Halo ULN2
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 54034
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 1:16 am
Location: Valley Village, CA

Re: Clip Gain [SOLVED]

Postby skillet » Mon Dec 16, 2013 2:02 pm

Is it possible to have the waveforms represent the gain adjustment to quickly see at a distance?
Logic Pro 10.0.6 - Mac Pro 2 x 2.44 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon - OS 10.8.5 - 14 GB RAM - RME Fireface 800 & M-Box Mini
User avatar
skillet
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 10:13 am
Location: Virginia

Re: Clip Gain [SOLVED]

Postby David Nahmani » Mon Dec 16, 2013 2:08 pm

skillet wrote:Is it possible to have the waveforms represent the gain adjustment to quickly see at a distance?

No, unfortunately not. You'd have to use destructive gain change (in the Audio File Editor) to see the difference on the waveform display.
David Nahmani
 Apple Certified Logic Pro Master Trainer
Author of Logic Pro X - Professional Music Production (Apple Pro Training Series)
Logic Pro X 10.0.6 - Mac OS 10.8.4 - Mac Pro 8 core 2.8 GHz Intel Xeon - 6GB RAM - Metric Halo ULN2
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 54034
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 1:16 am
Location: Valley Village, CA

Re: Clip Gain [SOLVED]

Postby skillet » Mon Dec 16, 2013 2:12 pm

As always thanks David, you are a crazy fast responder!
Logic Pro 10.0.6 - Mac Pro 2 x 2.44 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon - OS 10.8.5 - 14 GB RAM - RME Fireface 800 & M-Box Mini
User avatar
skillet
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 10:13 am
Location: Virginia

Re: Clip Gain [SOLVED]

Postby David Nahmani » Mon Dec 16, 2013 2:13 pm

You're welcome! :D
David Nahmani
 Apple Certified Logic Pro Master Trainer
Author of Logic Pro X - Professional Music Production (Apple Pro Training Series)
Logic Pro X 10.0.6 - Mac OS 10.8.4 - Mac Pro 8 core 2.8 GHz Intel Xeon - 6GB RAM - Metric Halo ULN2
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 54034
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 1:16 am
Location: Valley Village, CA

Re: Clip Gain [SOLVED]

Postby skillet » Mon Dec 16, 2013 3:08 pm

It's kind of interesting the waveform updates when flex pitch is on and you can drag the slider up or down by 30dB. I am guessing this is more CPU strain and the darn pitch drift gets in the way of the waveform so not really useable at least for this purpose.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2013-12-16 at 5.07.01 PM.jpg
Screen Shot 2013-12-16 at 5.07.01 PM.jpg (150.22 KiB) Viewed 1278 times
Logic Pro 10.0.6 - Mac Pro 2 x 2.44 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon - OS 10.8.5 - 14 GB RAM - RME Fireface 800 & M-Box Mini
User avatar
skillet
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 10:13 am
Location: Virginia

Re: Clip Gain [SOLVED]

Postby thindave » Thu Dec 19, 2013 10:32 am

skillet wrote:Is it possible to have the waveforms represent the gain adjustment to quickly see at a distance?


This was just enabled by 10.0.5!
Logic Pro X 10.0.7
EZDrummer 2
Melodyne DNA
MacMini 2.3GHz Intel Core i7, 16GB RAM
Mac OS X 10.9.4
Apollo Twin Duo
thindave
 
Posts: 184
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2005 4:14 pm
Location: NJ

Re: Clip Gain [SOLVED]

Postby skillet » Thu Dec 19, 2013 3:10 pm

Wow I have never had Apple respond so quickly. This is great news and we even got piano roll link back to boot, I am a happy camper!!
Logic Pro 10.0.6 - Mac Pro 2 x 2.44 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon - OS 10.8.5 - 14 GB RAM - RME Fireface 800 & M-Box Mini
User avatar
skillet
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 10:13 am
Location: Virginia

Re: Clip Gain [SOLVED]

Postby d4funky1 » Thu Feb 13, 2014 12:41 pm

WOW - was just looking for this after discussing how much I loved the feature in Pro Tools and wished it was in Logic -

Thanks
Logic Pro X 10.0.6 iMac i5 Mavericks 10.9.2, MacBook Pro i5 Mavericks 10.9.2, Presonus Firestudio Project, Alesis 3630, Ensoniq DP4
d4funky1
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 6:21 am


Return to Logic Pro X

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: efiebke and 21 guests