L9 - GUi customization, minor changes

Exchange Logic & MainStage Templates, Environments, Key Commands, Icons...

L9 - GUi customization, minor changes

Postby EdgarRothermich » Tue Jul 28, 2009 10:34 am

Some good new about L9. The customization of the GUI by replacing specific image files inside app's Package Content is still working.

If you feel that Logic Pro requires at least some decent dB scales and LED metering on the Channel Strip Fader to be called a ProApp, just do it yourself.

L9 however changed the folder structure of it's Framework directories a little bit. So here is a quick link to a zip file with the images. I placed the images into two folders with their name reflecting the directory path to the final folder where to put the images. You open the treasure door (like any other OSX app) by right clicking on the Logic app and selecting "Show Package Content"

I will update the data on my Manuals page (http://rothermich.com/Manuals/) in the next couple of days, but that zip file here will have all the images that you need.

http://idisk.mac.com/edgarrothermich-Public/Screenshots/GUI_for_L9.zip

For those of you who haven't seen what is possible, here is a screenshot with the modified GUI. And please, if you have a different color preference, don't bitch around, either ignore it or create your own, it is pretty simple.
(I wished there would be just as easy a modification to get long file name support.)

Image
Edgar Rothermich
(Logic Pro X - 2 MacPro 2.8GHz 8core - OSX 10.9 16GB RAM - Fireface800)
My Books for FCPx, GarageBand and Logic
http://DingDingMusic.com/Manuals/
My Music on SoundCloud
https://soundcloud.com/edgar_rothermich/sets
User avatar
EdgarRothermich
 
Posts: 509
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2005 5:41 pm
Location: West Hollywood

 

Postby maestro2be » Tue Jul 28, 2009 10:36 am

mmmm that looks mighty perty!
MacbookPro - OS X 10.5.8
Logic 9.1.1 Studio
M-Audio Axiom 25
RME Multiface 2
Technics Digital 88-key midi piano
Lavry DAC (DA10)
Windows 7 64-bit Slave machine for Vienna
VE Pro and Vienna MIR
maestro2be
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Fri May 04, 2007 12:05 pm

 

Postby Minimoog » Tue Jul 28, 2009 11:08 am

Hi Edgar,

looks nice, thanks for sharing your work. Mind if I ask you a question. a bit OT

Looks like you use individual instances of multi timb plugs like
Kontakt and Omni.

is this for ease of automation or cpu load?

thanks again.
Mac Pro 2.66| 9GB ram| OS 10.6.8 | Apogee Ensemble| Logic 9.1.6
MacBook Pro 2.4| 4GB ram| OS 10.7.2 |
User avatar
Minimoog
 
Posts: 432
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 9:31 am

 

Postby EdgarRothermich » Tue Jul 28, 2009 11:23 am

Minimoog wrote:Looks like you use individual instances of multi timb plugs like Kontakt and Omni.

is this for ease of automation or cpu load?
.


For most of the multi-timbral plugins (Stylus, Omnisphere, Kontakt, Play, etc) I use them as an individual instance. It is much easier to handle them in my workflow, where you move very quickly from one cue to the next cue. You are concentrating on one level (the mixer) and that is one level deep. One channel strip = One Patch. This makes it easy to change sounds, go to the channel open the plug, look for that sound, make changes on the channel strip for sound (plugins, sends, pan, etc), done.

There is one exception to that rule and that is the StromDrums2. I have a few Play presets with about 10 channels of big drums. I also have two Software instruments dedicated for those sounds with the MIDI instruments Object and the CC7-to-CC11 transformer setup so I can use my external Fader controls for each MIDI channel.

I hope this short description answers your question.
Edgar Rothermich
(Logic Pro X - 2 MacPro 2.8GHz 8core - OSX 10.9 16GB RAM - Fireface800)
My Books for FCPx, GarageBand and Logic
http://DingDingMusic.com/Manuals/
My Music on SoundCloud
https://soundcloud.com/edgar_rothermich/sets
User avatar
EdgarRothermich
 
Posts: 509
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2005 5:41 pm
Location: West Hollywood

 

Postby Minimoog » Tue Jul 28, 2009 11:25 am

makes sense,
thanks
Peter
Mac Pro 2.66| 9GB ram| OS 10.6.8 | Apogee Ensemble| Logic 9.1.6
MacBook Pro 2.4| 4GB ram| OS 10.7.2 |
User avatar
Minimoog
 
Posts: 432
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 9:31 am

 

Postby route-electrique » Tue Jul 28, 2009 12:42 pm

I hope that PT skin is L9 combatible, since i think it's best out there :wink:.
♫ Mac Pro 8-Core Early 2008 | OSX 10.9 | 16GB | Logic Pro 10.0.4 | Studio One Pro v2.6 | RME | Klein & Hummel O300 | Avalon AD2055 | Eventide Eclipse | Chandler Germanium Pair | Roland Juno-60 | Korg MonoPoly | ♫
User avatar
route-electrique
 
Posts: 1151
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2008 9:03 pm
Location: Finland, Helsinki

 

Postby EdgarRothermich » Tue Jul 28, 2009 1:42 pm

It's up to you. Take out the paint brush and see what you can do.
Edgar Rothermich
(Logic Pro X - 2 MacPro 2.8GHz 8core - OSX 10.9 16GB RAM - Fireface800)
My Books for FCPx, GarageBand and Logic
http://DingDingMusic.com/Manuals/
My Music on SoundCloud
https://soundcloud.com/edgar_rothermich/sets
User avatar
EdgarRothermich
 
Posts: 509
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2005 5:41 pm
Location: West Hollywood

 

Postby tsachs » Tue Jul 28, 2009 9:28 pm

Edgar,

Your mods are easily the best ones. You make Logic complete with beautiful Cubase. HUGE thanks for the GUI mods, the purple loop bar is my favorite(hated the green) I do have couple of questions for you.

1) I couldn't find the path for the seond set of .tiff files-nothing was in frameworks. I haven't been able to get the pink and purple buttons on the transport
2) Also so how did you get the new inspector colored name field to show on the mixer. I like the thin color strip rather than the big block look of L8. (See the pic if my words explanation isn't clear.
Attachments
Picture 1.png
Picture 1.png (9.6 KiB) Viewed 37311 times
tsachs
 
Posts: 233
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 1:43 am

 

Postby David Nahmani » Tue Jul 28, 2009 10:01 pm

tsachs wrote:Also so how did you get the new inspector colored name field to show on the mixer. I like the thin color strip rather than the big block look of L8.


View > Track Number should be turned off.
David Nahmani
 Apple Certified Logic Pro Master Trainer
Author of Logic Pro X - Professional Music Production (Apple Pro Training Series)
Logic Pro X 10.0.6 - Mac OS 10.8.4 - Mac Pro 8 core 2.8 GHz Intel Xeon - 6GB RAM - Metric Halo ULN2
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 54024
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 1:16 am
Location: Valley Village, CA

 

Postby dkgross » Tue Jul 28, 2009 10:02 pm

Love your GUI Edgar! Takes away the Garage Band-ness :)
User avatar
dkgross
 
Posts: 4780
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 9:37 pm
Location: Seattle, WA

 

Postby EdgarRothermich » Tue Jul 28, 2009 10:03 pm

The mixer has two View option (under the local View menu): Track Name and Track Number which it displays in two rows. Both are colored with the Track color. If you choose only Track Name, then you end with only one (colored) row.


Here is a screenshot of the folder path. Just double check it.

Image
Edgar Rothermich
(Logic Pro X - 2 MacPro 2.8GHz 8core - OSX 10.9 16GB RAM - Fireface800)
My Books for FCPx, GarageBand and Logic
http://DingDingMusic.com/Manuals/
My Music on SoundCloud
https://soundcloud.com/edgar_rothermich/sets
User avatar
EdgarRothermich
 
Posts: 509
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2005 5:41 pm
Location: West Hollywood

 

Postby tsachs » Wed Jul 29, 2009 6:45 am

Thanks Edgar. Very helpful.By the way, congrats on all the great music you've been blessed ( and worked hard) to put in the world. I read your accomplishments(the short list) and think it's great that you take the time to help the rest of us. That is very admirable-you could've charged .99 in iTunes or something (LOL).

As it goes, I found the folder on seconds after pressing submit. Thanks again. Your mods are great.
tsachs
 
Posts: 233
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 1:43 am

 

Postby emilenitrate » Wed Jul 29, 2009 11:29 am

Thanks for your ideas Edgar. - Emile
iMac 1.83 Ghz Core 2 Duo, 2 Gb RAM, OWC 500 Gb & 1 Tb FW HD's, OS X 10.6.8, Logic 9.1.7

Some of my tracks: http://www.reverbnation.com/danmarx
emilenitrate
 
Posts: 783
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2007 8:29 am
Location: NY

 

Postby Septicstudio » Fri Aug 07, 2009 7:12 am

Guys look what i've found :0

I already mailed the maker of it, but apparently he deleted the files when upgrading to L9..he said he will try to look if he has em somewhere hidden...

this is the best mod I seen for logic.


The metering and the Pan/Send rotaries are sweeeeettt

I do hope someone could make the .tiffs for me in this style and for himself ofc hehe if the other guy cant find em.
I aint got a GFX suite to make it myself...
Attachments
meters.jpg
meters.jpg (24.97 KiB) Viewed 37024 times
yellow.jpg
yellow.jpg (20.25 KiB) Viewed 37024 times
Synth Freak
http://soundcloud.com/septicstudio
http://www.jamendo.com/en/artist/Septic_Underground
Mac Pro 5.1/12GB Ram/ 2TB HDD/MCU Pro/2 x XT Pro/Presonus Studiolive 24.4.2/OSX 10.8.4/Logic X 10.0.3/ Emagic AMT8/Remote SL61/Launchpad/NI Maschine
Septicstudio
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2008 4:33 am

 

Postby Septicstudio » Fri Aug 07, 2009 7:59 am

ow btw this is my screenset :P

no screenset in here, as it will mess up the layout of the forum
Attachments
mixer.jpg.zip
(839.47 KiB) Downloaded 2164 times
Synth Freak
http://soundcloud.com/septicstudio
http://www.jamendo.com/en/artist/Septic_Underground
Mac Pro 5.1/12GB Ram/ 2TB HDD/MCU Pro/2 x XT Pro/Presonus Studiolive 24.4.2/OSX 10.8.4/Logic X 10.0.3/ Emagic AMT8/Remote SL61/Launchpad/NI Maschine
Septicstudio
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2008 4:33 am

 

Postby ChicoSatis » Fri Aug 07, 2009 5:30 pm

Septicstudio wrote:Guys look what i've found :0

I already mailed the maker of it, but apparently he deleted the files when upgrading to L9..he said he will try to look if he has em somewhere hidden...

this is the best mod I seen for logic.


The metering and the Pan/Send rotaries are sweeeeettt

I do hope someone could make the .tiffs for me in this style and for himself ofc hehe if the other guy cant find em.
I aint got a GFX suite to make it myself...


God that looks SWEET!!! :D

Let us know if he finds em. Would LOVE that stuff.

Thanks.

HAve a good one. :D
MBP 4gb ram, Mac OS 10.5.8. Logic Pro 9.1, Apogee Duet, Pod XT Pro

"By the light of the night it'll all seem alright. I'll get you a satanic mechanic."
User avatar
ChicoSatis
 
Posts: 1886
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 12:20 pm

 

Postby robinloops » Fri Aug 07, 2009 9:36 pm

I second that! Beautiful. I never messed around with moding the GUI because I just didn't want to mess with it but if that one gets found I'm in.
LPX 10.0.6; OS 10.9.4, iMac I5/2.9GHz, 16 GB RAM; SSD; Saffire Pro24: Scarlett 2i2; AxiomPro61
Misc: Akai APC20; Denon MC600; Traktor X1; Launchpad
User avatar
robinloops
 
Posts: 329
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 12:11 pm
Location: California

 

Postby EdgarRothermich » Fri Aug 07, 2009 10:21 pm

I just used the EQ button and the black send knob from the screenshot and incorporated them into my GUI mod. I also changed the fader image from what I had before. Now it looks more like ProTools.

Image

All the images, including the new ones are available on my website.

http://rothermich.com/Manuals/
Edgar Rothermich
(Logic Pro X - 2 MacPro 2.8GHz 8core - OSX 10.9 16GB RAM - Fireface800)
My Books for FCPx, GarageBand and Logic
http://DingDingMusic.com/Manuals/
My Music on SoundCloud
https://soundcloud.com/edgar_rothermich/sets
User avatar
EdgarRothermich
 
Posts: 509
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2005 5:41 pm
Location: West Hollywood

 

Postby route-electrique » Fri Aug 07, 2009 10:49 pm

This is the best skin out there hands down :wink:. Made by Atheos.

Image

And if you like it, here's the download link:
http://koti.mbnet.fi/atheos/files/logic ... GUIMod.zip


I hope this works w/ L9, can anyone confirm ?.
♫ Mac Pro 8-Core Early 2008 | OSX 10.9 | 16GB | Logic Pro 10.0.4 | Studio One Pro v2.6 | RME | Klein & Hummel O300 | Avalon AD2055 | Eventide Eclipse | Chandler Germanium Pair | Roland Juno-60 | Korg MonoPoly | ♫
User avatar
route-electrique
 
Posts: 1151
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2008 9:03 pm
Location: Finland, Helsinki

 

Postby Septicstudio » Sat Aug 08, 2009 12:03 am

yeah if you look at my attachment in my previous post, you'll see that I've the same mod in L9 (with some custom selecting )
Synth Freak
http://soundcloud.com/septicstudio
http://www.jamendo.com/en/artist/Septic_Underground
Mac Pro 5.1/12GB Ram/ 2TB HDD/MCU Pro/2 x XT Pro/Presonus Studiolive 24.4.2/OSX 10.8.4/Logic X 10.0.3/ Emagic AMT8/Remote SL61/Launchpad/NI Maschine
Septicstudio
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2008 4:33 am

Next

Return to Logic & MainStage Templates and Environments

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest