Logic 9 key commands

Logic Pro X (and older versions) questions and troubleshooting

Logic 9 key commands

Postby germainb » Wed Sep 09, 2009 1:19 pm

Just finished instaling Logic 9 and all the short cut are different wish is not cool cause i have no time to loose in learning Again the shortcut so if anyone can give me a link where i can download the Logic 7 shortcut would be really cool.
:lol:
germainb
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 1:08 pm

 

Postby David Nahmani » Wed Sep 09, 2009 1:54 pm

If you open your key command window (Preferences > Key Command) and choose Options > Presets > US with Numeric Keypad, you should get a set that's close to what you used in Logic 7 (if my memory serves me right).
David Nahmani
 Apple Certified Logic Pro Master Trainer
Author of Logic Pro X - Professional Music Production (Apple Pro Training Series)
Logic Pro X 10.0.6 - Mac OS 10.8.4 - Mac Pro 8 core 2.8 GHz Intel Xeon - 6GB RAM - Metric Halo ULN2
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 54320
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 1:16 am
Location: Valley Village, CA

 

Postby germainb » Wed Sep 09, 2009 2:52 pm

David wrote:If you open your key command window (Preferences > Key Command) and choose Options > Presets > US with Numeric Keypad, you should get a set that's close to what you used in Logic 7 (if my memory serves me right).


I already try this but i reconise that its a bit different in fact i still dont know how to zoom in and out like i use to with ctrl clic and double clic to come back.

aswell i am lost in the midi page to find the tools velocity ect and the tools in the main arrangement page it s so different.

Thank you david for your help any way seems silly questions but it s so different from 7 if you got time to answer.

I fill like a cave men but it ll come :roll:

big up for the forum it s fast
germainb
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 1:08 pm

 

Postby David Nahmani » Wed Sep 09, 2009 2:55 pm

Do you still have Logic 7 installed? You could open it, and check for proper key commands, then grab the preference files ( [i]~/Library/Preferences/Logic/com.apple.logic.pro[i] ) and drag it to the desktop of the Logic 9 machine, then import those key commands to Logic 9 from the key command window?
Last edited by David Nahmani on Wed Sep 09, 2009 3:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.
David Nahmani
 Apple Certified Logic Pro Master Trainer
Author of Logic Pro X - Professional Music Production (Apple Pro Training Series)
Logic Pro X 10.0.6 - Mac OS 10.8.4 - Mac Pro 8 core 2.8 GHz Intel Xeon - 6GB RAM - Metric Halo ULN2
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 54320
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 1:16 am
Location: Valley Village, CA

 

Postby Eric Cardenas » Wed Sep 09, 2009 3:01 pm

germainb wrote:I already try this but i reconise that its a bit different in fact i still dont know how to zoom in and out like i use to with ctrl clic and double clic to come back.

aswell i am lost in the midi page to find the tools velocity ect and the tools in the main arrangement page it s so different.

Thank you david for your help any way seems silly questions but it s so different from 7 if you got time to answer.

I fill like a cave men but it ll come :roll:

big up for the forum it s fast


Control - Click is hardwired to contextual menus.
The new Logic 9 zoom is Control - Option. (In L8 it was Command...)
Eric Bradley Cardenas
EC Making Sound
Mac mini 2.6 GHz 16GB RAM Areca⚡RAID | MacBook Pro 2.2 GHz 16GB RAM | Os 10.10
Logic Pro 10.0.7/9.1.8 | RME Fireface UFX | Adam A7 + Sub8 | Spectrasonics | Softube
User avatar
Eric Cardenas
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 12011
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 1:47 pm
Location: Uppsala, Sweden

 

Postby germainb » Wed Sep 09, 2009 11:52 pm

David wrote:Do you still have Logic 7 installed? You could open it, and check for proper key commands, then grab the preference files ( [i]~/Library/Preferences/Logic/com.apple.logic.pro[i] ) and drag it to the desktop of the Logic 9 machine, then import those key commands to Logic 9 from the key command window?

David i don t have logic 7 installed anymore cause once you start the upgrade 9 it overwrite on 7 so if any body can do that and put the link on the site would really great other wise i ll try control option.

cheeze guys :)
germainb
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 1:08 pm

 

Postby David Nahmani » Thu Sep 10, 2009 11:16 am

I haven't had Logic 7 on any of my machines for a while! Anyone else?
David Nahmani
 Apple Certified Logic Pro Master Trainer
Author of Logic Pro X - Professional Music Production (Apple Pro Training Series)
Logic Pro X 10.0.6 - Mac OS 10.8.4 - Mac Pro 8 core 2.8 GHz Intel Xeon - 6GB RAM - Metric Halo ULN2
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 54320
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 1:16 am
Location: Valley Village, CA

 

Postby Eric Cardenas » Thu Sep 10, 2009 1:21 pm

David wrote:I haven't had Logic 7 on any of my machines for a while! Anyone else?


Long time no seen. :lol:
No Logic 7 here for years... (well at least 2)

Edgar has a spreadsheet with the L7 commands here:

http://rothermich.com/Edgar/Manuals.html
Eric Bradley Cardenas
EC Making Sound
Mac mini 2.6 GHz 16GB RAM Areca⚡RAID | MacBook Pro 2.2 GHz 16GB RAM | Os 10.10
Logic Pro 10.0.7/9.1.8 | RME Fireface UFX | Adam A7 + Sub8 | Spectrasonics | Softube
User avatar
Eric Cardenas
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 12011
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 1:47 pm
Location: Uppsala, Sweden

 

Postby redlogic » Thu Sep 10, 2009 8:45 pm

Logic 7 Preference file attached below.

* Be aware that this Logic 7 Preference file is not the default Logic 7 Preferences. In other words, I customized the prefs to fit the way I work. I'm sure I left the default Logic key commands as original, but I definitely assigned some "homemade" ones to the unassigned ones that I needed.
Attachments
com.apple.logic.pro
(50.19 KiB) Downloaded 56 times
Last edited by redlogic on Fri Sep 11, 2009 10:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Logic Pro X Manual...Who?
Logic Pro 9 Manual?...WTF is that!

Logic Pro 9.1.8, 8.0.2 & 7.2.3, MacPro 2 x 2.66 GHz Dual-Core Intel, 9 GB ram, OS X 10.6.8, RME Fireface 400, UAD-2 Quad
redlogic
 
Posts: 2460
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 1:28 pm

 

Postby David Nahmani » Thu Sep 10, 2009 9:49 pm

redlogic wrote:Logic 7 Preference file attached below.


Awesome - thanks for posting. Hopefully it'll help the original poster.
David Nahmani
 Apple Certified Logic Pro Master Trainer
Author of Logic Pro X - Professional Music Production (Apple Pro Training Series)
Logic Pro X 10.0.6 - Mac OS 10.8.4 - Mac Pro 8 core 2.8 GHz Intel Xeon - 6GB RAM - Metric Halo ULN2
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 54320
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 1:16 am
Location: Valley Village, CA

 

Postby germainb » Fri Sep 11, 2009 3:05 am

Thank you very much for thé link that is really helping me i only answer know cause i am playing in thé uk a thé mo cheeze Guys.
germainb
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 1:08 pm

 

Postby David Nahmani » Fri Sep 11, 2009 12:02 pm

germainb wrote:Thank you very much for thé link that is really helping me i only answer know cause i am playing in thé uk a thé mo cheeze Guys.


Am I wrong or can I picture you in the corner of the stage typing this on your iPhone set on the wrong language? :lol:
David Nahmani
 Apple Certified Logic Pro Master Trainer
Author of Logic Pro X - Professional Music Production (Apple Pro Training Series)
Logic Pro X 10.0.6 - Mac OS 10.8.4 - Mac Pro 8 core 2.8 GHz Intel Xeon - 6GB RAM - Metric Halo ULN2
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 54320
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 1:16 am
Location: Valley Village, CA

 

Postby redlogic » Fri Sep 11, 2009 10:45 pm

To germainb and all,

Be aware that the Logic 7 Preference file I posted would not be the default Logic 7 Preferences. In other words, I customized the prefs to fit the way I work. I'm sure I left the default Logic key commands as original, but I definitely assigned some "homemade" ones to the unassigned ones that I needed.

I'll edit my original post to reflect this.
Logic Pro X Manual...Who?
Logic Pro 9 Manual?...WTF is that!

Logic Pro 9.1.8, 8.0.2 & 7.2.3, MacPro 2 x 2.66 GHz Dual-Core Intel, 9 GB ram, OS X 10.6.8, RME Fireface 400, UAD-2 Quad
redlogic
 
Posts: 2460
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 1:28 pm

 

Postby redlogic » Fri Sep 11, 2009 10:50 pm

Sorry...double post
Last edited by redlogic on Sat Sep 12, 2009 8:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Logic Pro X Manual...Who?
Logic Pro 9 Manual?...WTF is that!

Logic Pro 9.1.8, 8.0.2 & 7.2.3, MacPro 2 x 2.66 GHz Dual-Core Intel, 9 GB ram, OS X 10.6.8, RME Fireface 400, UAD-2 Quad
redlogic
 
Posts: 2460
Joined: Wed May 28, 2008 1:28 pm

 

Postby germainb » Sat Sep 12, 2009 4:24 am

Sorry i am french an i am writing from my i phone that s why some Time the i phone change the words for example the become thé.i go home on thirsday then I can try the key commands and i will let you know if it work for me guys.as long as thé short cut are closer from what it use to i ll be ok. Anyway i ll give it a try. :P
germainb
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 1:08 pm


Return to Logic Pro X

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: IMRECS, JamesK, xpander, Yahoo [Bot] and 18 guests