How many licenses do you get with Logic Pro 9

Logic Pro X (and older versions) questions and troubleshooting

How many licenses do you get with Logic Pro 9

Postby thebees01 » Wed Feb 10, 2010 4:43 am

I'm currently running logic express 8. I'm going to buy studio 9 because i can get a stupidly cheap student discount and need the upgrade. How many licenses do i get with Logic 9?

I've got 2 laptops i want to install it on.
I use both laptops live within my band (so they will be running at the same time).
I own both, but my other band member uses the other one.


Thanks
Logic Express 8.0.2
Version 10.5.7
MacBook
2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
2GB RAM
User avatar
thebees01
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2009 4:04 am

 

Postby beej » Wed Feb 10, 2010 6:37 am

You get one license.
User avatar
beej
 
Posts: 1675
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 12:15 pm

Re: How many licenses do you get with Logic Pro 9

Postby shivermetimbers » Wed Feb 10, 2010 7:42 am

thebees01 wrote:I'm currently running logic express 8. I'm going to buy studio 9 because i can get a stupidly cheap student discount and need the upgrade. How many licenses do i get with Logic 9?

I've got 2 laptops i want to install it on.
I use both laptops live within my band (so they will be running at the same time).
I own both, but my other band member uses the other one.


Thanks


The license is good for (1) one Destop AND (1) one Laptop.

How are you currently running both laptops?
Logic Pro v9.1.8
shivermetimbers
 
Posts: 8489
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2007 8:22 pm
Location: Parts UnKnown

 

Postby zosoaudo007 » Wed Feb 10, 2010 11:23 am

i heard that as long as neither of them are connected to the same network while running logic you should be fine.

i have not tested this. only heard rumors. don't be surprised if it isn't accurate.
zosoaudo007
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 2:16 pm

 

Postby David Nahmani » Wed Feb 10, 2010 1:33 pm

Logic Studio license agreement wrote:2. Permitted License Uses and Restrictions.
A. Subject to the terms and conditions of this License, you are granted a limited non-exclusive license to install and use one copy of the Apple Software on one Apple-branded desktop computer and one Apple-branded laptop computer so long as both computers are owned and used by you. You may not make the Apple Software available over a network where it could be used by multiple computers at the same time. You may make one copy of the Apple Software in machine-readable form for backup purposes only; provided that the backup copy must include all copyright or other proprietary notices contained on the original.


Source: http://images.apple.com/legal/sla/docs/logicstudio8.pdf
David Nahmani
 Apple Certified Logic Pro Master Trainer
Author of Logic Pro X - Professional Music Production (Apple Pro Training Series)
Logic Pro X 10.0.6 - Mac OS 10.8.4 - Mac Pro 8 core 2.8 GHz Intel Xeon - 6GB RAM - Metric Halo ULN2
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 53582
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 1:16 am
Location: Valley Village, CA

 

Postby soaringsynths » Wed Feb 10, 2010 2:20 pm

You may disagree with me here but you're not exactly pirating the software, you've bought it, you just want to use it on two location computers that you own, and although the license may say this and that, you're not downloading and cracking it. I don't see a big deal about installing it on both machines. It's pedantic to throw a fuss over something this trivial.
soaringsynths
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 10, 2010 12:29 pm
Location: UK

 

Postby n6smith » Wed Feb 10, 2010 3:03 pm

soaringsynths wrote:You may disagree with me here but you're not exactly pirating the software, you've bought it, you just want to use it on two location computers that you own, and although the license may say this and that, you're not downloading and cracking it.


That may be true but that is not what the OP suggested he wanted to do.....

Note, he wants to put it on two laptops, one of which is used, though not owned by another person.. So really he is asking about sharing his license with someone else... and strictly speaking that is a 'No No..'

My concern would be, if he is getting a Student Discount, does he mean an Academic License(AL)? If so, does he realize that those do not qualify for major upgrade discounts later on? Also, does an AL have the same stipulations in it about using LP on one desktop and one laptop?

Someone I worked with, bought an AL for LP8 and 2 months later LP9 was released and he has to pay for the whole thing again... if he wants to upgrade, which he does. Now, because it would have been cheaper for him to have bought LP8 at full price and pay for the upgrade, rather than pay for an LP8 AL and now a full LP9 license on top of that, he is somewhat pissed!
Nigel

The Art Of Sound

New Album Tracks available here!

Logic Pro 10.0.1, OS X 10.8.4
iMac 27" i7 3.4Ghz Quad 32GB
2011 MM Server 16GB
2011 MM Server 8GB
Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Motu UltraLites
Several FW800 Glyphs & A-90EX Keyboard.
User avatar
n6smith
 
Posts: 2713
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2009 10:13 am

 

Postby David Nahmani » Wed Feb 10, 2010 3:28 pm

soaringsynths wrote:You may disagree with me here but you're not exactly pirating the software, you've bought it, you just want to use it on two location computers that you own, and although the license may say this and that, you're not downloading and cracking it. I don't see a big deal about installing it on both machines. It's pedantic to throw a fuss over something this trivial.


As someone said, you're entitled to your own opinion, but not to your own facts.

When you buy Logic Studio, you're not buying software, you're buying a license to use it. The manufacturer decides on what the license you buy LEGALLY authorizes you to do, and clearly states it in the license agreement you agree to when installing the software. If you break the license agreement even though you agreed to it, you're making an illegal use of the software, and Apple can actually cancel the license and render it useless (Yes, I have seen it happen - although not in that kind of situation).

I'm not saying do this or do that. I'm just stating facts.

Also think of it like that: let's say you produce a great song, and you decide to place it in TV shows and or film. However, you don't want to sell an exclusive license to one client: you'd like to sell non-exclusive licenses of the track to various clients, for various films or TV shows. A client is interested in buying a non-exclusive license from you to use your track on a TV show. You inquire about that TV show, its budget, its exposure etc... and decide to charge them $1,000 for a one time use of your track for that TV show. You've calculate that price according to the use, the expected exposure of that TV show etc.

Now the same client wants to use that same track for another TV show. Legally, according to your agreement, the license they purchased was only valid for the one original TV show they told you about, and they should buy another license from you for this new use. Do you think they should buy that new license? Or do you think it's not worth throwing a fuss over it, and after all they've already paid for your track, so they can use it as they see fit? What if the client makes a new TV show every week and keeps using the track? What if the client has a friend who produces a film and wants to use that same track? It's not like the friend is downloading your track illegally or stealing the physical CD from a store, they're just borrowing the CD from your client.

Food for thought.
David Nahmani
 Apple Certified Logic Pro Master Trainer
Author of Logic Pro X - Professional Music Production (Apple Pro Training Series)
Logic Pro X 10.0.6 - Mac OS 10.8.4 - Mac Pro 8 core 2.8 GHz Intel Xeon - 6GB RAM - Metric Halo ULN2
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 53582
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 1:16 am
Location: Valley Village, CA

 

Postby thebees01 » Thu Feb 11, 2010 4:33 am

Thanks that all worth noting! I think i'll just buy it and try and install it on both. I'll turn the airports off on the laptops so that "nobody knows" i'm using it and hope for the best. At the end of the day i need to upgrade so 1 licence is better than none.

If i need to buy 2 copies for each laptop i still get studio 9 for £150 so it's still cheaper than paying out £408.

Cheers Guys
Logic Express 8.0.2
Version 10.5.7
MacBook
2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
2GB RAM
User avatar
thebees01
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2009 4:04 am

 

Postby nebula » Thu Feb 11, 2010 5:28 pm

Here's a thought: Maybe your needs could still be served running Logic Express 8 on one laptop and Logic Pro 9 on the other. Then you still get to run Logic on 2 laptops, and your conscience will be clear, since you'll own a licence for both apps.
__
Logic Pro 9.1.5, Mac Pro 1st-gen 2.66 quad, OS X 10.5.8, 5 GB RAM, Unitor8, AMT8, MCU + Extender + C4, 30" display
nebula
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2006 6:05 pm

new multiple lic scheme

Postby guitboyus » Thu Feb 11, 2010 10:12 pm

I have been using Logic for so long now i can't remember, and I used to think I would never confront this question, but maybe Apple needs to rethink the lic scheme. I am pretty sure that soon I will buy a new laptop and just use it on gigs for my guitar setup. I love the new mainstage and see whole worlds of possibilities, but I HATE taking things out of the studio, and right now my laptop is wired to the max at home. I am even thinking of saving up for a tower and then cloning my recording environment to the laptop because I need to be able to take the entire thing to other studios in my little town that don't run apple stuff so I can re create everything I do at home. Maybe we need like a a 3 machine lic, and a 5 machine lic, I don't mind paying a fair scale. Logic has become the platform I have waited for for twenty years, but I don't want to have to buy a complete version for everything to get my dream up and running. AND.... I really, really, really want a real set of manuals.... you know so I can read them in the hot tub and bathroom and bedroom. Of course, maybe a new Ipad will help this problem out! Good topic and good points.
guitboyus
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2008 1:54 pm

 

Postby Scott Jackson » Fri Feb 12, 2010 7:53 am

Logic Studio license agreement wrote:2. Permitted License Uses and Restrictions.
A. Subject to the terms and conditions of this License, you are granted a limited non-exclusive license to install and use one copy of the Apple Software on one Apple-branded desktop computer and one Apple-branded laptop computer so long as both computers are owned and used by you.


I too would like to see the license agreement changed in a very simple and logical way. I think the license makes perfect sense in every way with the exception of restricting us to desktop and laptop. I don't understand why we shouldn't be able to use the software in the same way only on two laptops or two desktops so long as we follow the rest of the licenses stipulations. I believe this is how Adobe products and other software products are licensed. Just some food for thought.
Nosce te ipsum
User avatar
Scott Jackson
 
Posts: 5667
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 11:15 am
Location: 81st Precinct

Installing Logic 9 on an imac and Uninstalling ?

Postby davidbravo » Fri Feb 19, 2010 1:34 pm

If I install logic 9 (upgrade from 7) on an imac and then buy a new imac can it be uninstalled and reinstalled on the new imac without difficulty. Do I need my logic 7 key to upgrade to 9 and does Logic 7 actually have to be installed on the imac to upgrade or is the key enough??
If I have an Imac upstairs in my office and a different imac downstairs in the basement where most of my gear is Can I have Logic 9 on both computers BUT only use it on either computer but not at the same time??
I know this is okay with a laptop and a desktop but is it okay with 2 desktops in 2 separate rooms owned by the same person.
davidbravo
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 1:22 pm
Location: Maplewood, New Jersey

Re: Installing Logic 9 on an imac and Uninstalling ?

Postby David Nahmani » Fri Feb 19, 2010 2:18 pm

davidbravo wrote:If I install logic 9 (upgrade from 7) on an imac and then buy a new imac can it be uninstalled and reinstalled on the new imac without difficulty.

Yes.

Do I need my logic 7 key to upgrade to 9

Yes.

does Logic 7 actually have to be installed on the imac to upgrade or is the key enough??

The key is enough.

If I have an Imac upstairs in my office and a different imac downstairs in the basement where most of my gear is Can I have Logic 9 on both computers BUT only use it on either computer but not at the same time??

No, see the part of the license agreement I quoted above: it only allows you one install on a desktop machine, one install on a laptop machine.

I know this is okay with a laptop and a desktop but is it okay with 2 desktops in 2 separate rooms owned by the same person.

No.
David Nahmani
 Apple Certified Logic Pro Master Trainer
Author of Logic Pro X - Professional Music Production (Apple Pro Training Series)
Logic Pro X 10.0.6 - Mac OS 10.8.4 - Mac Pro 8 core 2.8 GHz Intel Xeon - 6GB RAM - Metric Halo ULN2
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 53582
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 1:16 am
Location: Valley Village, CA


Return to Logic Pro X

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: anp27, Google [Bot] and 14 guests