External Mixer with logic

Which Computer? Hard drive? Audio interface? Mic? Preamp? 3rd party plug-in? + Production techniques

External Mixer with logic

Postby tripper113 » Mon Mar 28, 2011 4:31 pm

Hello,
I am thinking on buying an external mixer for use with logic. The mixer i have been looking at is the Mackie ProFX12 Professional Compact Mixer with usb out.

Link: http://pro-audio.musiciansfriend.com/pr ... sku=500317

will this mixer be able to assign each channel/input on the mixer to a separate track in Logic, so I can record all the instruments at once and be able to edit each instrument separately.

Thanks for your help
tripper113
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 4:23 pm

 

Postby Jordi Torres » Mon Mar 28, 2011 5:10 pm

will this mixer be able to assign each channel/input on the mixer to a separate track in Logic, so I can record all the instruments at once and be able to edit each instrument separately.


No, that mixer will only let you record whatever's coming out the main mix output via USB. So, 1 stereo channel or 2 mono channels (one panned left, the other right).

You'd need to do overdubs if you want discreet channels.

I suggest you check out its manual to see the details of what it's capable of.

J.
Et voilà!

Mac mini i7 2.3 GHz - 16GB RAM | OS 10.9.3 | Logic Pro 10.0.7 |
Dead MacBook Pro 15" Core 2 Duo 2.2 GHz - 6GB RAM | OS 10.6.8 | Logic Pro 9.1.8 |
RME Fireface 400 | Akai MPK49 | Nord Micro Modular |
User avatar
Jordi Torres
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 13634
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 7:24 am
Location: Neuchâtel, Switzerland

 

Postby tripper113 » Mon Mar 28, 2011 6:42 pm

can you suggest a mixer that would do that

thanks
tripper113
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 4:23 pm

 

Postby Jordi Torres » Mon Mar 28, 2011 6:56 pm

I can't recommend any specific one cause I've never owned or used one.
Mackie makes other mixers/audio interfaces which work with firewire instead of USB (like the Mackie Onyx 1220i), but are more expensive than that other one.
Why do you need it to be a mixer and audio interface (when you could do all your mixing in Logic)? Why not simply get an audio interface with multiple ins and outs?

J.
Et voilà!

Mac mini i7 2.3 GHz - 16GB RAM | OS 10.9.3 | Logic Pro 10.0.7 |
Dead MacBook Pro 15" Core 2 Duo 2.2 GHz - 6GB RAM | OS 10.6.8 | Logic Pro 9.1.8 |
RME Fireface 400 | Akai MPK49 | Nord Micro Modular |
User avatar
Jordi Torres
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 13634
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 7:24 am
Location: Neuchâtel, Switzerland

 

Postby tripper113 » Mon Mar 28, 2011 7:31 pm

thanks for you help
i would rather have a mixing board because i belive it is much easier than the actual program
tripper113
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 4:23 pm

 

Postby Jordi Torres » Mon Mar 28, 2011 7:45 pm

tripper113 wrote:thanks for you help
i would rather have a mixing board because i belive it is much easier than the actual program


You're welcome. Whatever works best for you, then.

Cheers,

J.
Et voilà!

Mac mini i7 2.3 GHz - 16GB RAM | OS 10.9.3 | Logic Pro 10.0.7 |
Dead MacBook Pro 15" Core 2 Duo 2.2 GHz - 6GB RAM | OS 10.6.8 | Logic Pro 9.1.8 |
RME Fireface 400 | Akai MPK49 | Nord Micro Modular |
User avatar
Jordi Torres
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 13634
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 7:24 am
Location: Neuchâtel, Switzerland

 

Postby tripper113 » Mon Mar 28, 2011 7:46 pm

would a mixer like the Peavey PV14 Mixer work in this
thanks again
tripper113
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 4:23 pm

 

Postby Jordi Torres » Mon Mar 28, 2011 7:55 pm

tripper113 wrote:would a mixer like the Peavey PV14 Mixer work in this
thanks again


Nope.

J.
Et voilà!

Mac mini i7 2.3 GHz - 16GB RAM | OS 10.9.3 | Logic Pro 10.0.7 |
Dead MacBook Pro 15" Core 2 Duo 2.2 GHz - 6GB RAM | OS 10.6.8 | Logic Pro 9.1.8 |
RME Fireface 400 | Akai MPK49 | Nord Micro Modular |
User avatar
Jordi Torres
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 13634
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 7:24 am
Location: Neuchâtel, Switzerland

 

Postby tripper113 » Mon Mar 28, 2011 8:05 pm

what should i look for in a mixer that will be able to do that
tripper113
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 4:23 pm

 

Postby Jordi Torres » Mon Mar 28, 2011 8:16 pm

Most likely firewire.

This one says that it can "stream up to 10 independent channels
of audio to the computer and return two tracks for monitoring,
all at screaming fast transfer rates of up to 24-bit/96 kHz." :lol:

It has both USB and firewire.

I don't know if they suck or not, sorry.

J.
Et voilà!

Mac mini i7 2.3 GHz - 16GB RAM | OS 10.9.3 | Logic Pro 10.0.7 |
Dead MacBook Pro 15" Core 2 Duo 2.2 GHz - 6GB RAM | OS 10.6.8 | Logic Pro 9.1.8 |
RME Fireface 400 | Akai MPK49 | Nord Micro Modular |
User avatar
Jordi Torres
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 13634
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 7:24 am
Location: Neuchâtel, Switzerland

 

Postby atlas » Tue Mar 29, 2011 10:13 am

Another option you have is to get and interface that has those multiple discreet in's and then get a firewire control surface, such as the Mackie MCU Pro. The mixer doesn't handle any actual audio (the interface handles all of that), the MCU just allows you to have physical control over everything you would normally use a mouse to adjust inside of Logic.
atlas
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 3:22 pm
Location: Reno, NV

 

Postby tripper113 » Mon Apr 04, 2011 5:35 pm

Would all the mackie onyx mixers be able to output in multiple tracks in logic i was looking at the Onyx 1620i
tripper113
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 4:23 pm

 

Postby Madgear » Tue Apr 05, 2011 2:56 am

Hi there Tripper113,

if it's for the convenience of recording multiple ins simultaneously on separate tracks I'd go with a multiple channel interface as already suggested.

Don't know about Mackie mixers capability but I wouldn't consider a mixing board to be easier than mixing in Logic.
It's not difficult to set up a multi recording session and,furthermore,whatever decision you take it's total recall and can be fully automated.

cheers
-----------------------------------------
20"Imac,2.16 Ghz,4 GB,Logic Pro 9.1.3,OS 10.6.7,Tascam FW-1884,KRK VXT 4,outside leaking noises.
User avatar
Madgear
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 4:52 am
Location: Florence,Italy

 

Postby Eriksimon » Tue Apr 05, 2011 3:37 am

tripper113 wrote:thanks for you help
i would rather have a mixing board because i belive it is much easier than the actual program


And why do you believe that? Fact is that the routing options on the Logic mixer are more versatile than on many hardware mixers (unless you spend a couple of thousands), and you can make it as complicated or as simple as you like. When you lower a fader, the sound will get softer, when you move a panpot, the sound will go to a side, when you press mute, it'll mute, when you press solo it'll solo.
Why did the chicken cross the Mobius ring?

miMac Intel C2Q 2.5 GHz 4 GB RAM/OS X 8.5/Logic 9.1.8 & 10.0.7/MXL 990/Edirol UA-4FX/E-MU XBoard 49/Akai LPD8
User avatar
Eriksimon
 
Posts: 5021
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2008 3:29 pm
Location: Utrecht, the Netherlands

 

Postby David Nahmani » Tue Apr 05, 2011 2:13 pm

tripper113 wrote:thanks for you help
i would rather have a mixing board because i belive it is much easier than the actual program


You believe wrong. It would make your setup much more complicated and you would still need to use the Mixer in the program anyway.

Logic has a mixer. Don't buy another mixer. It would be like buying a typewriter along with your computer, because you believe it's easier to use than the word processing software.

As Erik said, learn the Mixer in Logic, it's just as easy (easier?) as any other mixer, you adjust your volume, your pan, add effects and mute/solo what you need. Then if you feel the need to, you can take things further but at first that's how you get started.
David Nahmani
 Apple Certified Logic Pro Master Trainer
Author of Logic Pro X - Professional Music Production (Apple Pro Training Series)
Logic Pro X 10.0.6 - Mac OS 10.8.4 - Mac Pro 8 core 2.8 GHz Intel Xeon - 6GB RAM - Metric Halo ULN2
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 53485
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 1:16 am
Location: Valley Village, CA

 

Postby tripper113 » Tue Apr 05, 2011 3:12 pm

ok can you recommend an interface that has 10 or more channles
tripper113
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 4:23 pm


Return to Music Production Techniques and Gear

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Peter Korcek and 6 guests