How to use VFX (or other vst/dll player) in Logic 8?

MrHighlandPark

I found a virtual instrument plugin that I want to use that comes only in the Windows dll format, but I also found a free app called V-Machine/VFX (currently in beta for Mac) that does a good job loading and playing this instrument in standalone mode (controlled by my midi keyboard).

How do I open this within Logic so that I can use those sounds in my sequences?

I'm very new to Logic, so please don't be afraid to talk to me like I'm stupid. :o

Here are some links to the things I'm trying to use.

http://www.smproaudio.com/produkte/v-machines/v-machine/download-vfx-mac-beta.html

and more specifically the instrument itself:

http://www.tweakbench.com/peach

Thanks!

PS - Is there a search feature on this board? I usually prefer to spend time searching for people who have previously asked the same question that I have, but I couldn't find it.

The company that makes the standalone software would have to release a plugin converter (called a wrapper) to make this work easily.

There's another, rather convoluted, method that would use a sound card with multiple inputs and outputs, treating it like an external MIDI instrument, but that would be a real pain to set up if you haven't had a lot of experience.

Thanks for your replay Matt. So even though this freeware VFX program can accept midi signals from my keyboard and play the plugin, it can't accept them from Logic?

Out of curiosity and because I think it ought to work similarly, what is the process like for using a sample library such as East West's Play engine, which isn't operated by Logic's ESX sampler? I don't yet have any of those types of sample libraries so I don't know how they're loaded.

• 4 weeks later...

If you want to play and record the VFX Instruments in Logic you have to set

the IAC Bus in the "Audio Midi Setup" (OS X) to "active" first.

Then, create an GM-Instrument in Logic and switch the port setting to IAC Driver.