M-Audio Fast Track Ultra 8R - will it work?

Which Computer? Hard drive? Audio interface? Mic? Preamp? 3rd party plug-in? + Production techniques

M-Audio Fast Track Ultra 8R - will it work?

Postby markharding » Sat Feb 19, 2011 1:23 pm

Hi,

Im relatively new to all this and am looking to really upgrade my home studio and get a decent audio Interface. I don't have to much money to spend which is a bit of a problem, I know.

I have seen the M-Audio Fast Track Ultra 8R, which looks like the best option for me especially in regards to the amount of tracks available and most importantly the price.

Would this work OK with Logic Pro 9?

I would really appreciate any help you could give me,

Many thanks

Mark
markharding
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 2:00 am
Location: Luton, Beds

 

Postby triplets » Sat Feb 19, 2011 1:36 pm

8 simultaneous tracks on USB? Doesn't look promising. USB was never meant for streaming. Combine that with M-Audio's terrible drivers for the mac, you're in for some headaches. This unit is meant more for Wintel people.

In that price range I would get the Motu 8pre. Much better than M-Audio and one of the best drivers for the mac. And it's firewire, which is way better in streaming multiple tracks than USB.
Logic Pro 9 Master Pro
ProTools 10 & 11 Certified User
2x2.26 Intel Quad-Core 6GB RAM, Logic 9.1.8, 10.6.8, Logic 10.0.7, ML 10.8.5., Motu Ultralite
http://www.ultimatestudiosinc.com
User avatar
triplets
 
Posts: 9795
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 3:21 pm
Location: North Hollywood

 

Postby markharding » Sat Feb 19, 2011 1:42 pm

Great, thanks a lot for your help! Im still not 100% sure if I really need 8 inputs... maybe I could go as low as 4 for what I would be using it for!
markharding
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 2:00 am
Location: Luton, Beds

 

Postby triplets » Sat Feb 19, 2011 1:50 pm

Check out the Presonus Firestudio Mobile.
2 mic pres with 4 additional line inputs.
Logic Pro 9 Master Pro
ProTools 10 & 11 Certified User
2x2.26 Intel Quad-Core 6GB RAM, Logic 9.1.8, 10.6.8, Logic 10.0.7, ML 10.8.5., Motu Ultralite
http://www.ultimatestudiosinc.com
User avatar
triplets
 
Posts: 9795
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 3:21 pm
Location: North Hollywood

 

Postby markharding » Sat Feb 19, 2011 2:25 pm

So does this mean I can track up to 8 instruments at once? With each individual input going to an individual channel on Logic 9? Sorry for my naivety... Like I said I'm new to all of this!
markharding
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2010 2:00 am
Location: Luton, Beds

 

Postby triplets » Sat Feb 19, 2011 7:10 pm

Yes, but only 2 have a mic pre. The other 6 are line inputs, so you cannot generate volume on those on the interface. So if you have a keyboard with stereo outputs, guitar going thru a pod or the like, you use line inputs.
The mic pres are for microphones and direct bass or direct guitar.
Logic Pro 9 Master Pro
ProTools 10 & 11 Certified User
2x2.26 Intel Quad-Core 6GB RAM, Logic 9.1.8, 10.6.8, Logic 10.0.7, ML 10.8.5., Motu Ultralite
http://www.ultimatestudiosinc.com
User avatar
triplets
 
Posts: 9795
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 3:21 pm
Location: North Hollywood


Return to Music Production Techniques and Gear

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests