How to install 3rd-party plugins?

Logic Pro X (and older versions) questions and troubleshooting

How to install 3rd-party plugins?

Postby bcfromfl » Thu Jul 28, 2011 10:01 am

Hi everyone --

Prompted by a couple posts over in the Control Room, I tried downloading and installing the Cyanide 2.0 and Valhalla Echo plugins. However, I don't know how to finish the install to make them available in Logic.

Thanks!

-Bruce
Mac Pro G5 quad-core 2.5mHz, 8.0GB RAM, 150GB HD
Logic 9.0.2
OSX 10.5.8
LaCie Rugged 7200RPM external 320GB HD
Apogee Duet
East West Symphonic Gold, Goliath, Gypsy, Ministry of Rock, Quantum Leap Pianos Gold, Spectrasonics Trilian
User avatar
bcfromfl
 
Posts: 246
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2009 9:31 am
Location: Youngstown, FL

 

Postby chellstrom » Thu Jul 28, 2011 10:31 am

If they don't have their own installers, drag them to:

Library>Audio>PlugIns>Components

or

~Library>Audio>PlugIns>Components (where "~" means your home folder)

And obviously make sure you download and use the AU version.
Chris Hellstrom
Guitarist - Programmer - Engineer
http://www.chrishellstrom.com
[Logic X.0.7 / 9.1.8, OS 10.9.4, 2.93 GHz iMac i7, 12 GB RAM, Apogee Duet]
User avatar
chellstrom
 
Posts: 274
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2005 8:29 pm
Location: Hollywood, CA

 

Postby bcfromfl » Thu Jul 28, 2011 10:44 am

Thanks -- I'll try that!

-Bruce
Mac Pro G5 quad-core 2.5mHz, 8.0GB RAM, 150GB HD
Logic 9.0.2
OSX 10.5.8
LaCie Rugged 7200RPM external 320GB HD
Apogee Duet
East West Symphonic Gold, Goliath, Gypsy, Ministry of Rock, Quantum Leap Pianos Gold, Spectrasonics Trilian
User avatar
bcfromfl
 
Posts: 246
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2009 9:31 am
Location: Youngstown, FL

 

Postby Scott Jackson » Thu Jul 28, 2011 10:45 am

chellstrom wrote:~Library>Audio>PlugIns>Components (where "~" means your home folder)


:lol:

I always find this funny. Many people on this site refer to the Home Folder with the ~ symbol and then explain what the ~ symbol means since not everyone knows.




~Library>Audio>PlugIns>Components (where "~" means your home folder)



Home Folder>Library>Audio>PlugIns>Components



:mrgreen:

[Edit]Forgot to include Library in the path (corrected).
Last edited by Scott Jackson on Fri Jul 29, 2011 4:46 am, edited 1 time in total.
Nosce te ipsum
User avatar
Scott Jackson
 
Posts: 5670
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 11:15 am
Location: 81st Precinct

 

Postby bcfromfl » Thu Jul 28, 2011 8:28 pm

I really do hate Macs. I'm a PC guy, and have struggled now for two years to learn this operating system. Sorry for being slow.

I followed your instructions above...inserted the plugins into the appropriate folder, but they still do not come up in Logic. There is no installer with either plugin.

What am I doing wrong?

-Bruce
Mac Pro G5 quad-core 2.5mHz, 8.0GB RAM, 150GB HD
Logic 9.0.2
OSX 10.5.8
LaCie Rugged 7200RPM external 320GB HD
Apogee Duet
East West Symphonic Gold, Goliath, Gypsy, Ministry of Rock, Quantum Leap Pianos Gold, Spectrasonics Trilian
User avatar
bcfromfl
 
Posts: 246
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2009 9:31 am
Location: Youngstown, FL

 

Postby fader8 » Thu Jul 28, 2011 8:55 pm

You will need to restart Logic. Assuming you have the .component files in the right place, you should see Logic scanning and validating them on startup.
Music helps not the toothache.--George Herbert

G5Quad2.5, LP9.0.2,OSX.5.8,RME Digi&Multiface,002r, 4xUAD-1,Duende PCIe,Unitor8-AMT8,Logic Control+4 LCXT's,Capybara320,Kurz...
fader8
 
Posts: 11330
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 4:46 am
Location: Tampa, Florida

 

Postby bcfromfl » Thu Jul 28, 2011 10:03 pm

Ahh...the missing step! Thanks Fader!! :D (...shoulda known I had to do that...)

-Bruce
Mac Pro G5 quad-core 2.5mHz, 8.0GB RAM, 150GB HD
Logic 9.0.2
OSX 10.5.8
LaCie Rugged 7200RPM external 320GB HD
Apogee Duet
East West Symphonic Gold, Goliath, Gypsy, Ministry of Rock, Quantum Leap Pianos Gold, Spectrasonics Trilian
User avatar
bcfromfl
 
Posts: 246
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2009 9:31 am
Location: Youngstown, FL

 

Postby chellstrom » Thu Jul 28, 2011 10:36 pm

Scott Jackson wrote:
chellstrom wrote:~Library>Audio>PlugIns>Components (where "~" means your home folder)


:lol:

I always find this funny. Many people on this site refer to the Home Folder with the ~ symbol and then explain what the ~ symbol means since not everyone knows.




~Library>Audio>PlugIns>Components (where "~" means your home folder)



Home Folder>Audio>PlugIns>Components



:mrgreen:


C'mon Scott, that would be way too easy! :D
Chris Hellstrom
Guitarist - Programmer - Engineer
http://www.chrishellstrom.com
[Logic X.0.7 / 9.1.8, OS 10.9.4, 2.93 GHz iMac i7, 12 GB RAM, Apogee Duet]
User avatar
chellstrom
 
Posts: 274
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2005 8:29 pm
Location: Hollywood, CA

 

Postby Eriksimon » Fri Jul 29, 2011 4:09 am

chellstrom wrote:
Scott Jackson wrote:
chellstrom wrote:~Library>Audio>PlugIns>Components (where "~" means your home folder)


:lol:

I always find this funny. Many people on this site refer to the Home Folder with the ~ symbol and then explain what the ~ symbol means since not everyone knows.




~Library>Audio>PlugIns>Components (where "~" means your home folder)



Home Folder>Audio>PlugIns>Components



:mrgreen:


C'mon Scott, that would be way too easy! :D


All overly complicated, Bulgarian English.

Users/"you"/Audio/Plugins/Components.


Why call it "home" folder? Because it has a house for an icon? Nobody lives in a folder.
It is your User folder, because it is in the Users folder.
Why did the chicken cross the Mobius ring?

miMac Intel C2Q 2.5 GHz 4 GB RAM/OS X 8.5/Logic 9.1.8 & 10.0.7/MXL 990/Edirol UA-4FX/E-MU XBoard 49/Akai LPD8
User avatar
Eriksimon
 
Posts: 5101
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2008 3:29 pm
Location: Utrecht, the Netherlands

 

Postby Scott Jackson » Fri Jul 29, 2011 4:37 am

Eriksimon wrote:All overly complicated, Bulgarian English.

Users/"you"/Audio/Plugins/Components.


Why call it "home" folder? Because it has a house for an icon? Nobody lives in a folder.
It is your User folder, because it is in the Users folder.


Hmm....yes.....very interesting.
Attachments
home2.png
home2.png (84.5 KiB) Viewed 2150 times
home.png
home.png (95.91 KiB) Viewed 2150 times
Nosce te ipsum
User avatar
Scott Jackson
 
Posts: 5670
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 11:15 am
Location: 81st Precinct

Re: How to install 3rd-party plugins?

Postby BadBreak360 » Mon Mar 10, 2014 7:40 pm

What sub folder do these plug ins go to? I have put Camel Phat to Home Folder>Library>Audio>PlugIns>Components and I cant seem to see it in logic..
BadBreak360
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 12:55 pm

Re: How to install 3rd-party plugins?

Postby Eriksimon » Tue Mar 11, 2014 12:29 am

Camelphat is 32 bit only and won't show up in LP X. It's old, like this topic.
Why did the chicken cross the Mobius ring?

miMac Intel C2Q 2.5 GHz 4 GB RAM/OS X 8.5/Logic 9.1.8 & 10.0.7/MXL 990/Edirol UA-4FX/E-MU XBoard 49/Akai LPD8
User avatar
Eriksimon
 
Posts: 5101
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2008 3:29 pm
Location: Utrecht, the Netherlands


Return to Logic Pro X

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], tusitala and 15 guests