External Drive Question

fmamerica

Hi,

Please excuse the very basic nature of my query but I'm new to Mac and Logic 8, having been recently seduced from the Dark Side of PC and Protools. I was told that the best thing to do is use and external firewire drive to run my sessions from, so that is what ive done. However, when i try to save the session on the external drive it saves the audio and audio instruments but not the actual Logic Session file. Is there a setting I need to change, or is this something to do with the drive itself? Ive updated the drive firmware etc and , as i say , it saves the audio etc but Logic comes up with a message saying it cannot be saved as "whatever name i try"??

I would be super grateful for any help , as I'm blown away by the software otherwise!!

When you save a file for the first time, or when you use the "Save as..." command, you should see a dialog box asking you where you want to save the file and giving you a selection of options about whether to copy audio files, instruments, etc...

Your external FW drive should appear on the left side of that dialog box. If you select it, there's room on the drive, and you're not using the name of a file that already exists, it makes no sense that you can't save your session there. In order for others to understand exactly what you're asking, you need to be specific about the error message you're receiving and the exact steps you perform that produce it. This is an elemental function, and for it not to work would be extraordinary.

As for using a FW drive, it's a good archiving medium, but even FW800 is too slow for any high-bandwidth data capture. I don't know what Mac you're using or what expansion capability it has, but a good internal SATA 2 drive is faster than any external FW drive, if you can incorporate one. It's also advisable to record to a drive other than the boot drive.

Hope that's helpful.

Homina... Since you'r on that...