Green Loops sound different in track vs. loop preview pane

kccustom

I am a long time pro tools user but have made the jump to Logic 8. Everything is great and I am really enjoying it but I am stuck on one problem. I have tried searching the forums for an answer but didn't find anything that really helped. I have completed David's book but I am still puzzled on this one item.

When I preview green loops they "sound" really great. If I drag the loop over to the arrange area and create a new track something happens to the loop and when I do playback in the arrange area it sounds totally different. It was my understanding that all the settings should go with the loop onto the new track that is created. The sound goes from full and lush and changes into somewhat small and cheesy sounding like a $150 keyboard. Seems like the issue is very noticeable on any Orchestral loops.

I am sure that I am doing something incorrectly just not sure what that is. I am guessing that I have a preference set incorrectly. I tried reinstalling Logic last night but that didn't help. I am running a MBP 2.2ghz with 4 gb ram. I have done all updates to Logic 8.01 and OS is current as well. Any help is much appreciated

This has been covered before,recently.

You may need to unbypass the effects on the track.

Apparently the previews are audio files of the performances used with the relevant instr and plugs,but these plugs are tweakable/changeable.

Some instruments have different samples for different velocities too,so analysing the midi data in the Event list might help.

Can't remember anything else....just got up!

:oops: 8)

You can drag a green apple loop to an "audio" track and it will render the exact audio that is in the preview. Green loops contain both a midi data/channel strip version of the loop and an bounced audio rendering of the same. You must drag it directy from the loop browser or it won't render!