Using Ultrabeat to do vocal stutter.

davidgary73

• 4 weeks later...

hi not to be a noob here but how dose this setup work as a gate or shutter? I am looking for the same effect from ub. Shold I be sending the vocal to a bus or loading in in UBV if I load it in UVB there must be a way so to set the sample to trigger instead of latch

cheers

ANother way to get interesting stutter effects in UB is to load your vocal sample into the sample box in the bottom oscillator, move the Min bar to the start of the sample and the Max bar somehere in the middle, then create a sequence that gives you the rhythm you want. Now adjust the velocities of the triggers (manually or try some randomizing the pattern for fun). This lets UB set the sample start point based on the velocity of the trigger where the lowest velocity will start the sample at the beginning, the highest velocity will start the sample wherever you set the max bar, and in between velocities will start the sample ....that's right...in between the two bars. You can also play with the positioning of the bars to find what works best. Combine this with envelopes and there is a lot of potential for coolness. For a plain jane stutter effect, just set the mix and max bar to the start of the sample, use the sequencer to trigger 16th or 32nd notes (You'll usually want the trigger mode in the UB output section to be "Single" so that each trigger cuts off the previous one but you can play around with it for cool effects.) And don't forget to adjust the decay in Env 4 so that the vocal sample plays out fully on the last trigger. Have fun!

thats a good tip mate got one more question here. Is it poss to gate via midi controller like keyboard so when I hit note on a predetermined volume is turned on for as long as I hold note on. And when I send note of it will turn vol off. Thanks

There is a plugin from DestroyFX, that does exactly this: MIDI Gater.

http://destroyfx.smartelectronix.com/audiounits.html#midigater