Fattening vocal tracks ?

I'm kinda new here, and was looking for some threads discussing tips for fattening vocal tracks. For example, when I used to record on tape we would do things like put one effect on the left and another on the right, descretely of course, to get good stereo separation. I'm new to Logic, and frankly, I'm overwhelmed with all the options I now have.

Are there any specific threads on this forum (or elsewhere) someone could point me to for tips/suggestions on best practices for this kind of thing using Logic ?

Thanks!

The classic technique is to compress the audio channel, ideally using an outboard compressor before the signal comes into logic. Although this can also be achieved using Logics compressor plug-in (in dynamics) after the audio has been recorded.

I personally like to use the PSP 'Vintage Warmer' plug-in, and intentionally record at lower levels to boost the signal, without sounding like a spokesperson its pretty frickin sweet, and would 'fatten' the vocals as you describe.

Logic's compressor sounds really good, you can experiment with the various compressor models in the "Circuit Type" menu and see the corresponding compression curve in the little square display. Pay attention to the reaction speed of each model (look how fast the "Gain reduction" meter reacts). "FET" is really fast, and I like to use it on vocals. Add a channel EQ when needed. I usually put mine before the compressor, but you can also use one after the compressor, or a combination of both.... depending on the goals.

I also like to use the (free) A.U. Massey tape drive plug-in: http://www.smassey.com/au.html

Honestly, I'm not a big fan of the De-esser plug-in in Logic so I use volume automation to tame sibilants.

Now to put a different effect on either side...never tried this on vocals, but: