East West SO is slowing me down!

steveH

Hi,

I'm working with a client who wants to use many instances of the East West SO Platinum Plus PLAY plug in to create an orchestra. I find that after even a few instantiations in an 3.2 8-core with a ton of ram, Logic really starts to slow down!!!

I'm talking about EVERYTHING from track deletion to plug selection. And when there are 5 or more... well forget it! I tried it on another CPU -same thing.

I've never used this soft synth before, so I'm asking those who do use it regularly to help me with some strategies to help my client.

Are there special settings within the plug. Are there ways to make it more efficient in Logic. I'm going to bed now but I hope to see some lively answers when I wake up!

I edited this post to include the PLAY version info .. Thanks to Brent for pointing that out!

Thanks in advance for your help!

Steve H

Edited by steveH

Hey Steve,

What version of SO are you using? You say Platinum but are you running it through Kontakt or the newer Play version? By nature, it is a beast and is really only happy when it has as much RAM to eat as possible. I use it quite a bit for indie film and commercial use, often times having to either freeze tracks or bounce them out upon completion. That's the Kontakt version.

For what it's worth, you are approaching it the right way based on their documentation of using it in Logic: multiple instances rather than multi-out instruments. That's supposed to help.

I also have the upgraded Play engine that East West developed themselves but haven't had the time to install and check it out yet so I don't know how much more efficient that version is, though I've heard it makes major strides both in efficiency and ease of use compared to the Kontakt version.

Not a lot of help I know, but I don't know that there's too much that you can do. I'd be interested in any other suggestions people might have on how to maximize its use as well.