Trigger different Groups in an Exs24 Instrument via midi ctl

deviant angel

I can trigger 'groups' with 'select by note' in instrument editor, but these notes end up in the score which I don't want. I have different articulations of a sampled instrument split into groups (6-10) and need to trigger them by midi control but have been playing around 24 hrs without success. I can see 'select sample' option in exs control is set to 'velocity'(*66) and have typed 66 into box next to 'select by Ctrl' option and adjusted ranges. I have also tried triggering from Hyper edit using various midi ctrls and value ranges but nothing. I'm new to midi - What should I be doing? Thanks

Logic 7.2 osx 10.4.11

Personally I find keyswitching the best way to change articulations, particularly because you have clear visual indication in all three editors. Honestly, I don't think there's a better way to do it. And while having those notes appear in the score seems like a downside, I'm going to offer you two solutions so that it's no longer problematic.

The following assumes that you have only one track for any given instrument, though after you read this I'm sure you'll see how some of these ideas will work in the event you use multiple sampler instruments to create the part for any given orchestral instrument. Here goes....

METHOD #1

Create a duplicate track for those instruments which you're keyswitching. Let's just focus on one instrument for now, flute. Create a duplicate track assigned to your flute instrument ("new track with same instrument/channel"). Next, copy all of the regions from the original track onto this track and merge (glue) them to create one contiguous track. Of course if you have only one region for the part, just copy the region over to the new track.