Tightening drums in Ableton Live then Moving To Logic?

groovecake

I am still struggling to get a good sounding drum track from a studio session I was involved in a month ago. We recorded with a click so the drums don't always flow in a natural way. I have spent a few weeks cutting and moving various hits and such and got it sounding better but still not to my liking. Also, I have all my drum audio files chopped up like crazy and it seems to be effecting performance.

Would it be better to import the multitracked drums into Ableton Live, warp them there, then bounce the files to audio and re-import them into Logic? What are the pitfalls of this idea? Does anyone on here do this?

I am new to this whole process so maybe I am missing something. I don't think it should be as difficult as I am making it.

Thanks!

Mitch

i think your idea is worth a shot.

try doing it with 30 seconds or so of a track, and then re-import to logic to compare it to the original. sometimes a reimported file doesn't sound as good, but sometimes it sounds better (hmmm...)

make sure you have the right "warp type" selected [beats] in live (i forget about that sometimes) :?

i tried this with some djembe recordings a while back and liked it.

I am basically working with drum tracks from a good drummer but one who is concious of the click in the recording. I have been doing the tune section by section and I am starting to get paranoid that the sections don't match each other.

Its one of those tunes that needs a metronomic feel. I have done some cutting and pasting of two good bars, etc.

I am just losing control of my obsessive tendencies when it comes to music! : ) This is my first shot at producing something and I want it to be right, ya know?

Thanks for the feedback. I will probably just keep cutting and dragging.

Nice!