Inspiration, in a rut, need help.

jizzer

I seem to be in a SEVERE state of non-inspiration for some reason lately and I thought I'd ask for help on this one. This really isn't like me, and for some dumb reason I think it has to do with the fact that I'm finally happy with my studio for once....but I don't know why that would cause this feeling. I started playing when I was 14, now I'm 34, so..20 years of playing. I don't know what I'm getting at..but I know this isn't like me.

I seem to be in a SEVERE state of non-inspiration for some reason lately and I thought I'd ask for help on this one. This really isn't like me, and for some dumb reason I think it has to do with the fact that I'm finally happy with my studio for once....but I don't know why that would cause this feeling. I started playing when I was 14, now I'm 34, so..20 years of playing. I don't know what I'm getting at..but I know this isn't like me.

Inspiration comes and goes, maybe you are in a spot where internally you are working on something. Anyway, you could always get inspiration by listening to a big variety of music (that's why I like eMusic and eclectic radio stations such as KFJC (available on iTunes, the Goodwrench Electronica show is just amazing). Or get inspiration by looking at movies, reading books, visiting new places, meet new people, and so on.

Or maybe you need do do very different kind of music for a while.

--Kent

I can sympathize. I've been struggling with inspiration and motivation since getting my music degree over 12 years ago and taking a different career path.