Imported MIDI Drums - Channel 10 - Can't hear

brettbarbaro
Go to solution Solved by David Nahmani,

Hi!

This is my first time posting.

I imported a midi file that I downloaded from the internet. 3 drum tracks on Channel 10, 11 instrument tracks on Channel 1. Press play, I hear the instrument tracks, but not the drum tracks. The level meters indicate that the drum tracks are playing, but no sound is coming out. I see the events in the region. Program is set to 16 = Power Kit.

I'm thinking there must be a simple solution. What am I missing?

Thanks!

You mention about that the program is set to 16=Power Kit.

Since I don't find any preset named as such, I gather that you are routing the drum track via MIDI to an external module device.

If you do use such an external MIDI device (drum machine, synth, etc), have you tried adjusting the MIDI channels to match between Logic and that device?

Otherwise, besides checking nothing had been muted or soloed, perhaps posting a screen capture of the track area, with the drum track region(s) selected and the mixer pane as well could be helpful. Mentioning the eventual drum plugin in use could also be useful.

• 1 month later...

@David

Yes! That did work! When I drag the drum tracks to the DLSMusicDevice, they play. Thanks!

My buddy and I want to download MIDI versions of classic rock songs, mute the piano and guitar, and play along. I had been hoping that I could import a midi file and just press play. Maybe change one setting. Something really fast and dirty, so it doesn't upset our flow.

Let me see if I understand this now.

The tracks on "Channel 1" automatically play General MIDI sounds. Where do the tracks on "Channel 10" go? I'm not using any external equipment. So Logic must have some kind of General MIDI sound module for Channel 1. Is there something similar for Channel 10? So I can just tell Logic "play General MIDI drums for all tracks on Channel 10"?