Getting Workable MIDI data from a Natural Piano Performance in Logic Pro X

Jules DeMalte

Hi, first time user. 🙂 Hope I am posting this to the correct sub-forum. If not, mods please feel free to move it to the right one.

I have used Logic Pro X very, very sparingly and very, very casually these last 6 years. (Emphasis on "sparingly" and "casually".) However, I really like it and plan to use it regularly in the future!

I am a classical pianist, and one of my interests is in capturing a proper performance as MIDI data. I have all the equipment to do so - a Yamaha CP4 digital piano connected via USB to my 2015 iMac, and Pianoteq 7. Everything works perfectly.

What bothers me is that - while I can record my raw performance in Logic Pro X, and it can be played back flawlessly - it creates a total mess on the software interface. Even if I were to specify the correct time signature and tempo beforehand and adhere to them as I play, I am bound to speed up and slow down, apply ritardando and rubato, etc.

I don't want to play like a robot; it is futile to my ends. I want to play naturally, but have something that makes a bit more sense on my computer screen afterwards. 😅

I am unsure what other pianists do. Is there a way to do this more elegantly than simply recording the performance and not "giving a hell" what it looks like afterwards, as long as it plays back fine?

Hope I am not asking for the impossible.

Thank you all!

Jules

I'm not sure what your goal is here - if it's to record and capture your performance, so you can play it back or render to audio, it doesn't really matter what it looks like, it only matters what it sounds like.

If however your goal is to produce a readable score, for instance, then recording a real time interpretaion with all kinds of natural tempo changes is probably not the best way to do about it. A score is a more bare bones instruction set, leaving the performer to decide on the performance aspect according to the score instructions.