How do I turn up the gain for one ear only?

EternalMoving
Go to solution Solved by David Nahmani,

Hey y'all!

First off let me just say that I don't quite know how to express this issue and also I'm not too good at using the correct production terms in general, sorry for that but I'll do my best to make it understandable.

So I have this file where the volume is much lower in the left ear than in the right one and I want to make it more balanced.

My newbie way of fixing this before was panning the track to the left but that's not a solution (rather a pretty bad fix..) because I want to keep the sound in the right ear as it is and just turn up the volume in the left ear.

If I duplicate the track and have one track with with the "left ear's sound" and pan in 100% to the left and do the same with the "right ear's sound" (panned to the right), does that equal the same as the original stereo track? If so that would make it real easy for me to fix but something tells me that probably messes with the stereo image, no?

Thanks in advance for any help any sorry again for lack of correct terms!

On 5/9/2022 at 9:54 AM, David Nahmani said:

Use the Gain plug-in (Utility folder) in Dual Mono mode, then  you can adjust the gain independently for the Left and the Right channels: 

image.gif.c670104fc1a92ba62074ede7865de540.gif

Thank you David, you always got our backs (I don't have too many posts myself, mainly because I nearly always find the solutions I'm looking for in your replies to other people's posts)!

I have a follow up question, the gain of the left channel goes up and down a lot - is there a better/easier way to make it even than to adjust the gain like I did? (see attached screenshots)

I can add that I never understood fully how to use compressors - if I did, could that possibly help me solve this in an easier way?

Screen Shot 2022-05-12 at 11.44.41.png

Screen Shot 2022-05-12 at 11.44.21.png

4 minutes ago, EternalMoving said: