Audio Files Changed In Session

Scary

Novice here. I hope I can explain this clearly; please excuse me if it’s hard to follow. Had a session that was mixed and edited and saved (Mix 1). Closed it and I started a new project (new session, new tracks, new file name from scratch) with some imported audio files and then recorded multi-tracked drums (Mix 2). Later in evening, I reopened the original session I was working on (Mix 1) and got a message that “one or more files changed length”. When I looked at my drum track stack, half of the files had the drum files from the other session (Mix 2) in place of the files that had the same names (ie: “kick” was kick from a different song (Mix 2), same with “snare” and “room”). Here’s the really strange part. When I found the missing files, listened to them, opened them in new sessions, they were correct; but as soon as I dragged them into the session, they reverted to the wrong files. Like a freaking magic trick. Tried Apple Support and they had no idea. Started brand new session and was able to make it work, but anytime I drag a file into that other session, it turns into the wrong audio file for that track. How do I avoid this in the future? What did I do wrong to make this happen and has anyone ever done this before? Happy to clarify if this is unclear. 

Make sure your files have unique names at all times by properly labeling the recording tracks prior to the recording.

If you have 15 projects and all of them have an audio file named 'Kick' which is not the same everywhere, this is a recipe for disaster. In case Logic needs to to look for a file, it may pick the next one it finds with a matching name and, like a marriage, once that bond is made, it's very inconvenient and expensive to separate.

In your specific case, if the project already has locked into the wrong file(s):

- close all Logic projects
- in the Finder, rename "Kick" to "Song 1 Kick" and "Kick" to "Song 2 Kick", etc.