Logic X Drummer hi hat notes

mrsoulsound

When using a logic pattern for drums the hi hats sound good.

If I take the region to an external midi track that sends notes to drummer it still plays right but when i try to add notes using the same notes the hats don't play the same.

Most importantly the G#1 note.

From the Logic pattern G#1 is a semi open hat hit with a stick but sending a G#1 note to drummer gets a foot pedal hat closed sample.

I studied the notes being played in the original pattern and they are the same and sound correct if I copy them into my new midi region.

The only difference I've noticed in comparison is that the note in the Logic pattern have a note on message at the specified velocity then a note on message at 0 where my notes have a note on message at velocity then a note off message at 64.

I'm stumped :shock:

Is there any other information that can be communicated with this G#1 midi note? (not by my knowledge) so how does this work?

I understand that I can copy those notes to create my desired personalization but I really want to know what it as work here.

Yes, apparently there is other info conveyed - Articulation ID values..

Drummer/Drum Kit Designer has two different hihat modes:

• Standard General MIDI hihats, where

---- F#1=closedHH,

---- G#1=footHH, and

---- A#1=openHH

• GM+ mode, where the hihats work like this:

---- F#1 is hihat played with stick tip (tight)

---- G#1 is hihat played with stick shank (looser)

---- A#1 is hihat played with stick on edge (loosest)

In GM+ mode, the modwheel (MIDI cc#1) switches between 7 open<->closed variations for each of those 3 notes, from fully closed thru party open thru fully open (these are set by Articulation IDs under CC1 control—if you open a DKD drumkit in EXS and go to the Edit window Groups page, you'll see the 7 hihat Groups).