A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
lordbergfelix
Topic Author
Posts: 107
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2017 10:02 am

Sample Loop length EXS24

Tue Jan 14, 2020 3:16 am

hi everyone!

I am trying to repeat a chopped sample over and over again and by that I mean to shorten the end frame of the sample itself.
The question is how can I automate the end marker of the looped sample so the it gets faster?


Regards,
Felix
 
User avatar
fuzzfilth
Posts: 3702
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 2:31 am
Location: Germany

Re: Sample Loop length EXS24

Tue Jan 14, 2020 4:02 am

Not possible in EXS. Head over to Alchemy, load the sample in Sample Mode, then you can tweak and automate Loop Start and Loop End
Christian Obermaier
Contact me for private Logic Consulting, Training, Troubleshooting via Skype, Zoom or Teamviewer

1 x MacPro 6core 2010 24Gb RAM
2 x MacBookPro i7 2012 16Gb RAM
OSX.14.6. Mojave, Logic X.4.4 & 5.1
 
lordbergfelix
Topic Author
Posts: 107
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2017 10:02 am

Re: Sample Loop length EXS24

Tue Jan 14, 2020 6:16 am

many thanks!
 
lordbergfelix
Topic Author
Posts: 107
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2017 10:02 am

Re: Sample Loop length EXS24

Tue Jan 14, 2020 11:21 am

okay! here's my progress so far!
I managed to import an audio file sample of mine, it works fine but how do I automate the loop end which is an arrow "E" that getts tighter tighter all of the time instead?
 
User avatar
redgreenblue
Posts: 639
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 6:57 am
Contact:

Re: Sample Loop length EXS24

Tue Jan 14, 2020 11:27 am

fuzzfilth wrote:
Not possible in EXS. Head over to Alchemy, load the sample in Sample Mode, then you can tweak and automate Loop Start and Loop End


I learned something new today!
Logic 10.4.4- Logic 9.1.8
2011 iMac 12 gigs RAM - 10.12.6
2018 Mac Mini i7, 16 gigs RAM
MOTU 828 MKIII Hybrid
Behringer ADA8200 x2
MOTU Midi Express x 2
A nice variety of old analog and hybrid synths
Novation stuff out the wazoo, including an SL61mk2, SL37, ZeroSLmk2
http://www.shaneking.com
http://www.redgreenblue.bandcamp.com
 
User avatar
fuzzfilth
Posts: 3702
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 2:31 am
Location: Germany

Re: Sample Loop length EXS24

Tue Jan 14, 2020 11:28 am

al.gif
al.gif (953.86 KiB) Viewed 226 times
Christian Obermaier
Contact me for private Logic Consulting, Training, Troubleshooting via Skype, Zoom or Teamviewer

1 x MacPro 6core 2010 24Gb RAM
2 x MacBookPro i7 2012 16Gb RAM
OSX.14.6. Mojave, Logic X.4.4 & 5.1
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 78999
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Sample Loop length EXS24

Tue Jan 14, 2020 11:31 am

Do you need the whole sample to play each time only faster and pitched higher?
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.4 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.5.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 10.15.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
lordbergfelix
Topic Author
Posts: 107
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2017 10:02 am

Re: Sample Loop length EXS24

Tue Jan 14, 2020 12:26 pm

David Nahmani wrote:
Do you need the whole sample to play each time only faster and pitched higher?

exactly!
 
lordbergfelix
Topic Author
Posts: 107
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2017 10:02 am

Re: Sample Loop length EXS24

Tue Jan 14, 2020 12:30 pm

fuzzfilth wrote:
al.gif

jackpot! that's the right knob, however that is not even close to how fast I want it to be. is there another anything else that can affect the speed or something?
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 78999
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Sample Loop length EXS24

Tue Jan 14, 2020 12:43 pm

lordbergfelix wrote:
David Nahmani wrote:
Do you need the whole sample to play each time only faster and pitched higher?

exactly!

Then you could do that by loading the sample in the EXS24 and playing different keys on your keyboard, or automating pitch bend over a wide range?
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.4 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.5.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 10.15.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
User avatar
fuzzfilth
Posts: 3702
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 2:31 am
Location: Germany

Re: Sample Loop length EXS24

Tue Jan 14, 2020 1:01 pm

lordbergfelix wrote:
David Nahmani wrote:
Do you need the whole sample to play each time only faster and pitched higher?

exactly!

Which is something entirely different. Do you want to modulate the loop end, thus looping more or less of the sample (which will get to ultrasonic range with loop lengths <3 samples) or do you want to play the entire sample faster which you can of course do even in the EXS with playing it on the higher keys ??
Christian Obermaier
Contact me for private Logic Consulting, Training, Troubleshooting via Skype, Zoom or Teamviewer

1 x MacPro 6core 2010 24Gb RAM
2 x MacBookPro i7 2012 16Gb RAM
OSX.14.6. Mojave, Logic X.4.4 & 5.1
 
lordbergfelix
Topic Author
Posts: 107
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2017 10:02 am

Re: Sample Loop length EXS24

Tue Jan 14, 2020 4:24 pm

I might as well just show you an example from a track then!

https://open.spotify.com/album/22qHDOUB ... 0VGPaISnCA

notes: @ 1:40 the vocals go like "everybody go up and down" the "down" part gets repeated and shortened the higher it gets pitch wise in the build up section.
 
User avatar
fuzzfilth
Posts: 3702
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 2:31 am
Location: Germany

Re: Sample Loop length EXS24

Tue Jan 14, 2020 5:31 pm

I'd say that there is both loop length *and* pitch modulation going on, and there might be even another element going up in pitch at the same time.
Christian Obermaier
Contact me for private Logic Consulting, Training, Troubleshooting via Skype, Zoom or Teamviewer

1 x MacPro 6core 2010 24Gb RAM
2 x MacBookPro i7 2012 16Gb RAM
OSX.14.6. Mojave, Logic X.4.4 & 5.1
 
lordbergfelix
Topic Author
Posts: 107
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2017 10:02 am

Re: Sample Loop length EXS24

Wed Jan 15, 2020 2:18 am

fuzzfilth wrote:
I'd say that there is both loop length *and* pitch modulation going on, and there might be even another element going up in pitch at the same time.

I know what's going on in the mix. the question is: how to get that sample loop fast just like in the track, you know?

Thanks!
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 78999
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Sample Loop length EXS24

Wed Jan 15, 2020 2:31 am

You could follow my suggestion using the EXS24 but honestly there's a LOT more going on in that section of the song than simply one sample being repeated while being shortened and pitched up.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.4 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.5.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 10.15.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
lordbergfelix
Topic Author
Posts: 107
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2017 10:02 am

Re: Sample Loop length EXS24

Wed Jan 15, 2020 7:07 am

David Nahmani wrote:
You could follow my suggestion using the EXS24 but honestly there's a LOT more going on in that section of the song than simply one sample being repeated while being shortened and pitched up.

okay but as "fuzzfilth" mentioned, the end marker automation is not possible in EXS24 so how will I be able to automate the looped sample then?

Regards,
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 78999
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Sample Loop length EXS24

Wed Jan 15, 2020 11:48 am

Did you try my suggestion?
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.4 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.5.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 10.15.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM