A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
cinningbao
Topic Author
Posts: 403
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2015 4:17 am

FlexTime (all modes) seriously mess my take folder

Wed Sep 16, 2020 5:23 am

Vocal takes packed into folder recorded in this project, it has a few time signature changes in it but not in this region. No FlexTime and it's fine (image on the left), turn it on and it's like it's got a completely different tempo and also showing flex markers beyond the visible audio (right image).

Also note the first take in the FlexTimed take folder on the right, is _not_ being time compressed like the preceding takes..

Screenshot 2020-09-16 at 13.06.11.jpg
Screenshot 2020-09-16 at 13.06.11.jpg (363.52 KiB) Viewed 208 times


Re-analysing doesn't fix it. No drop-downs available for me to apply new tempo to region... what else can I do (apart from use Melodyne)?
Late 2014 iMac 5K, 3.5 Ghz i5, 24GB memory - OS 10.14.6 - Logic 10.5.1 - Scarlett 8i6
Late 2012 MBP, 2.7 Ghz i7, 16GB memory - OS 10.14.6 - Logic 10.5.1
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 78916
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: FlexTime (all modes) seriously mess my take folder

Wed Sep 16, 2020 5:52 am

This happens when the audio file have the wrong tempo information embedded: you recorded them in another project with a different tempo, or in this project where (or when) a different tempo was set.

Choose Edit > Tempo > Write Project Tempo to Audio File.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.4 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.5.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 10.15.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
cinningbao
Topic Author
Posts: 403
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2015 4:17 am

Re: FlexTime (all modes) seriously mess my take folder

Wed Sep 16, 2020 6:10 am

Like I said in my OP David, it was not recorded in another project, nor with different tempos. There are no tempo changes in the track, only Time Sig changes, and this region does not hit any of those.

Using the Write Project Tempo to Audio file just messes it up even more. See the last word is being stretched out rather unnecessarily, weirdly and inconsistently.

Screenshot 2020-09-16 at 14.08.46.jpg
Screenshot 2020-09-16 at 14.08.46.jpg (106.96 KiB) Viewed 185 times
Late 2014 iMac 5K, 3.5 Ghz i5, 24GB memory - OS 10.14.6 - Logic 10.5.1 - Scarlett 8i6
Late 2012 MBP, 2.7 Ghz i7, 16GB memory - OS 10.14.6 - Logic 10.5.1
 
cinningbao
Topic Author
Posts: 403
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2015 4:17 am

Re: FlexTime (all modes) seriously mess my take folder

Wed Sep 16, 2020 7:00 am

Ok, I'm beginning to think FlexTime has big problems when time signature changes are present (I've not seen this documented or acknowledged by anyone else, only the tempo change issue).

Screenshot 2020-09-16 at 14.46.17.jpg
Screenshot 2020-09-16 at 14.46.17.jpg (353.43 KiB) Viewed 169 times


This section (again, left - FT off, right - FT on) does cross a time signature change, you can see the markers in the bottom 2 takes on the right (though they don't line up with the bar start). And rather than time compressing as it did to the take folder from the first post in this thread, it's time stretched both before _and_ after the time sig change.

This kind of failing is pushing me towards permanently using Melodyne instead of even having FlexTime as an option in my toolset. Grr
Late 2014 iMac 5K, 3.5 Ghz i5, 24GB memory - OS 10.14.6 - Logic 10.5.1 - Scarlett 8i6
Late 2012 MBP, 2.7 Ghz i7, 16GB memory - OS 10.14.6 - Logic 10.5.1
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 78916
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: FlexTime (all modes) seriously mess my take folder

Wed Sep 16, 2020 7:12 am

If the audio file is playing back at the right tempo when Flex is off, try re-recording it onto a new audio track (using a bus) then see if you can toggle Flex on and off without any changes to the playback speed as it should be.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.4 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.5.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 10.15.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
cinningbao
Topic Author
Posts: 403
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2015 4:17 am

Re: FlexTime (all modes) seriously mess my take folder

Wed Sep 16, 2020 7:57 am

No opportunity to re-record. Client is loong gone.

I see what you're saying though - but I did it an easier way; Selection-Based Processing with nothing in the chain. That creates and replaces the region with a new audio file which doesn't make FlexTime do screwy stuff.

Cheers
Late 2014 iMac 5K, 3.5 Ghz i5, 24GB memory - OS 10.14.6 - Logic 10.5.1 - Scarlett 8i6
Late 2012 MBP, 2.7 Ghz i7, 16GB memory - OS 10.14.6 - Logic 10.5.1
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 78916
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: FlexTime (all modes) seriously mess my take folder

Wed Sep 16, 2020 8:07 am

cinningbao wrote:
No opportunity to re-record. Client is loong gone.

I didn't mean re-record the client or live musician, I meant re-record the existing recording onto another track. Apparently you found another workaround with Selection-based Processing? Great!
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.4 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.5.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 10.15.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
cinningbao
Topic Author
Posts: 403
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2015 4:17 am

Re: FlexTime (all modes) seriously mess my take folder

Wed Sep 16, 2020 9:41 am

Damn, I meant to delete that after I re-read your reply! You reminded me of the 'reprint' concept, I just did it a quicker way :)
Late 2014 iMac 5K, 3.5 Ghz i5, 24GB memory - OS 10.14.6 - Logic 10.5.1 - Scarlett 8i6
Late 2012 MBP, 2.7 Ghz i7, 16GB memory - OS 10.14.6 - Logic 10.5.1
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 78916
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: FlexTime (all modes) seriously mess my take folder

Wed Sep 16, 2020 1:48 pm

Yup, whatever works. :D Glad to hear you found a solution.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.4 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.5.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 10.15.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM