A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
dmuckala
Posts: 75
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2006 12:04 am

Re: Issues with opening Piano Roll

Sat Nov 21, 2020 3:12 pm

Longtime user of Logic and I can attest that somewhere along the way this behavior changed. I swear Logic used to be 100% reliable in this area. 'Link' button was the only variable and if it was yellow it always worked.
Macbook Pro 2019
Logic Pro X 10.6.0
OSX Catalina 10.15.6
UA Apollo
UA Satellite TB2 x 2
 
dmuckala
Posts: 75
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2006 12:04 am

Re: Issues with opening Piano Roll

Sat Nov 21, 2020 3:43 pm

Need to test it more but it appears that double clicking on a region reliably opens the region with the notes in focus every time (i think lol). Just dont double click on a region that is already selected as it will then close the piano roll.
Macbook Pro 2019
Logic Pro X 10.6.0
OSX Catalina 10.15.6
UA Apollo
UA Satellite TB2 x 2
 
User avatar
alexwnbrg
Topic Author
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 4:29 pm

Re: Issues with opening Piano Roll

Sat Nov 21, 2020 4:16 pm

dmuckala wrote:
Longtime user of Logic and I can attest that somewhere along the way this behavior changed. I swear Logic used to be 100% reliable in this area. 'Link' button was the only variable and if it was yellow it always worked.


I feel the same way. It feels like it started happening for me with 10.5
Logic Pro X 10.5.1
Mac OS Catalina 10.15.6
MacBook Pro (13inch, 2017)
3.1 GHz Dual-Core Intel Core i5
Memory - 8gb
Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
 
User avatar
alexwnbrg
Topic Author
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 4:29 pm

Re: Issues with opening Piano Roll

Sat Nov 21, 2020 4:17 pm

dmuckala wrote:
Need to test it more but it appears that double clicking on a region reliably opens the region with the notes in focus every time (i think lol). Just dont double click on a region that is already selected as it will then close the piano roll.


Interesting, I'm finding different behavior when I double click on regions. I've never done it like that and am just used to pressing E. Still coming out a bit wonky for me sometimes either way though.
Logic Pro X 10.5.1
Mac OS Catalina 10.15.6
MacBook Pro (13inch, 2017)
3.1 GHz Dual-Core Intel Core i5
Memory - 8gb
Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
 
dmuckala
Posts: 75
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2006 12:04 am

Re: Issues with opening Piano Roll

Sat Nov 21, 2020 5:51 pm

Thanks for the feedback alexwnbrg
a couple more thoughts

-make sure you have 'horizontal auto zoom' enabled on the right by the zoom sliders.
-unchecking 'Region Transpose'. notes not coming into view if they are in a different octave if I had tranposed the region as a whole in the arrange seems to be a bug too.
-'auto set locators' in the cycle submenu (right click) had some effect as well although I dont really work that way (i think of it as 'the protools way' linking selection and timeline playback or whatever).
Macbook Pro 2019
Logic Pro X 10.6.0
OSX Catalina 10.15.6
UA Apollo
UA Satellite TB2 x 2