A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
xjulia
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun May 02, 2021 1:07 pm

Re: Adjusting audio input volume?

Sun May 02, 2021 1:12 pm

If I connect my deck to the imac (minijack) and record with Logic, how can I adjust the input volume?
thanks
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 84029
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Adjusting audio input volume?

Sun May 02, 2021 11:09 pm

xjulia wrote:
If I connect my deck to the imac (minijack) and record with Logic, how can I adjust the input volume?
thanks


Click the Apple at the top left of your screen, choose System Preferences then Sound, Input and adjust your input Volume:

Input Volume.png
Input Volume.png (111.85 KiB) Viewed 469 times
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
xjulia
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun May 02, 2021 1:07 pm

Re: Adjusting audio input volume?

Mon May 03, 2021 12:34 pm

buuuuf... How easy, how had I not seen it before? Thanks David!!!
 
JakobP
Posts: 1904
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 1:49 pm
Location: Stockholm

Re: Adjusting audio input volume?

Tue May 04, 2021 2:10 am

You can also do it in Logic, ctrl-click the channel strip and check the "Audio Device Controls" option You then have a gain knob on the channel strip...
Gain Control.png
Gain Control.png (353.4 KiB) Viewed 401 times
Logic Pro 10.5.1 • MBP 15" Early 2013 • OS X 10.14.6 • 2.4 GHz Intel Core i7 • 8GB RAM • 750GB SSD • Mac Mini Late 2012 • OS X 10.14.6 • 2.5 GHz Intel Core i5 • 16GB RAM • 240GB USB3 system SSD • Apple Thunderbolt Display • Focusrite Saffire 6 USB • Presonus Inspire 1394 • Roland UM-One mkII • Behringer FCB1010 • Gibson ES335 • cheap midi keyboard
 
xjulia
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun May 02, 2021 1:07 pm

Re: Adjusting audio input volume?

Tue May 04, 2021 5:08 am

I can't check the "Audio Device Controls"... don't know why...
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 84029
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Adjusting audio input volume?

Tue May 04, 2021 5:22 am

xjulia wrote:
buuuuf... How easy, how had I not seen it before? Thanks David!!!

You're welcome! :)

xjulia wrote:
I can't check the "Audio Device Controls"... don't know why...

Is it grayed out? What happens when you attempt to select it?
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
xjulia
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun May 02, 2021 1:07 pm

Re: Adjusting audio input volume?

Tue May 04, 2021 5:36 am

I ctrl-click the channel strip and check the "Audio Device Controls" option (No grayed out) but NO gain knob appears... and when I go to do another time, the audio device is not checked...
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 84029
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Adjusting audio input volume?

Tue May 04, 2021 5:37 am

Are you on an audio track?
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
xjulia
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun May 02, 2021 1:07 pm

Re: Adjusting audio input volume?

Tue May 04, 2021 6:30 am

yes... an audio track
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 84029
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Adjusting audio input volume?

Tue May 04, 2021 6:36 am

Open the Mixer and try to do the same in the Mixer, see if you can see the settings there? In Logic's audio preferences, which input device is selected?
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
xjulia
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun May 02, 2021 1:07 pm

Re: Adjusting audio input volume?

Tue May 04, 2021 7:13 am

I'm sorry... in the mixer the same problem, and I tried with all input in preferences, Built in, Rubix (my audio interface) and system setting... buf...
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 84029
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Adjusting audio input volume?

Tue May 04, 2021 7:20 am

Can you scroll up? Maybe you're not seeing the very top of your channel strips? It doesn't work with all devices, however with the built-in microphone for example, it should always work.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
xjulia
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun May 02, 2021 1:07 pm

Re: Adjusting audio input volume?

Tue May 04, 2021 7:48 am

yes yes... I see all the channel strip...
I have rebooted Logic and also the minimac but I can't see the audio device controlls...
thanks for your help... will try next days to see if there is luck...
I've:
Logic 10.3
Mac 10.13
 
xjulia
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun May 02, 2021 1:07 pm

Re: Adjusting audio input volume?

Tue May 04, 2021 7:56 am

now I can see the audio device control grayed out and only with input in mono. I can write numbers in but no change in the sound
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 84029
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Adjusting audio input volume?

Tue May 04, 2021 7:58 am

xjulia wrote:
now I can see the audio device control grayed out and only with input in mono. I can write numbers in but no change in the sound

They're supposed to change the recording level, so you'll hear that only when monitoring an input, ready to record it. Not sure why they're grayed out — can you show a pic? How to attach files to your post
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
xjulia
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun May 02, 2021 1:07 pm

Re: Adjusting audio input volume?

Tue May 04, 2021 8:25 am

Captura de pantalla 2021-05-04 a les 17.21.58.png
Captura de pantalla 2021-05-04 a les 17.21.58.png (117.81 KiB) Viewed 198 times
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 84029
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Adjusting audio input volume?

Tue May 04, 2021 8:33 am

Ok so it's not grayed out, that's actually the normal look. If you are monitoring a live input and adjust the dial (or the numbers) then you should hear a different in level (you should also see it on the meters in the channel strip you're adjusting).
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
xjulia
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun May 02, 2021 1:07 pm

Re: Adjusting audio input volume?

Tue May 04, 2021 12:11 pm

it doesn't change the input volume not even the meters...
the dial doesn't work, I only can introduce numbers, but no result...
and only input 1 or input 2, not in stereo. In stereo the audio device control not appears...
is rare
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 84029
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Adjusting audio input volume?

Tue May 04, 2021 12:13 pm

If you enter a number such as 9 and press Return, you don't see the dialed with a blue ring around it?
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
xjulia
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun May 02, 2021 1:07 pm

Re: Adjusting audio input volume?

Tue May 04, 2021 1:16 pm

sorry but no... I only see the number if I doubleclick over the case but nochange in the input volume...