A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
User avatar
redgreenblue
Posts: 701
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 6:57 am
Contact:

Re: Play DMD From Everywhere

Sun Jun 13, 2021 1:27 pm

I've wanted to do this as well, as far as I can tell there isn't exactly a simple way to do it. The way I think it will work (but I haven't taken the time to map this out in the environment) is to use either transformers or channel splitter to send each note to the specific instrument in DMD. When I get around to doing that I'll end up using a dedicated layer in the evironment to keep things tidy. It is super annoying that the devs haven't worked out a way to do this, I want to control DMD from my BeatStep Pro but that will take some work.

I guess the other workaround is to create then DMD set you like and then use Autosampler to make a single instrument out of it.

Related tip, I keep a project with nothing but my environment objects that I can import into other projects rather than having to keep repeating my efforts.
Logic 10.5.1
2011 iMac 12 gigs RAM (10.13.6)
2018 Mac Mini i7, 32 gigs RAM (10.14.6)
MOTU 828 MKIII Hybrid
Behringer ADA8200 x2
MOTU Midi Express x 2
A nice variety of old analog and hybrid synths
Novation stuff out the wazoo, including an SL61mk2, SL37, ZeroSLmk2
http://www.shaneking.com
http://www.redgreenblue.bandcamp.com
 
Tzabi
Topic Author
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2020 5:22 am

Re: Play DMD From Everywhere

Mon Jun 14, 2021 2:53 am

David Nahmani wrote:
Great, thanks! I can't look now but will have a look later.

Thank you David <3
 
Tzabi
Topic Author
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2020 5:22 am

Re: Play DMD From Everywhere

Mon Jun 14, 2021 2:56 am

redgreenblue wrote:
I've wanted to do this as well, as far as I can tell there isn't exactly a simple way to do it. The way I think it will work (but I haven't taken the time to map this out in the environment) is to use either transformers or channel splitter to send each note to the specific instrument in DMD. When I get around to doing that I'll end up using a dedicated layer in the evironment to keep things tidy. It is super annoying that the devs haven't worked out a way to do this, I want to control DMD from my BeatStep Pro but that will take some work.

I guess the other workaround is to create then DMD set you like and then use Autosampler to make a single instrument out of it.

Related tip, I keep a project with nothing but my environment objects that I can import into other projects rather than having to keep repeating my efforts.

Sounds a bit like ants work but I did think something like that would work.
Can you explain a bit more on how to use transformers or channel splitter to map specific notes to different instruments on DMD? Please?
 
Tzabi
Topic Author
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2020 5:22 am

Re: Play DMD From Everywhere

Sat Jun 19, 2021 9:55 am

Bumping this question again, my show is in 3 days and I still don't have a solution for this
 
JakobP
Posts: 2108
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 1:49 pm
Location: Stockholm

Re: Play DMD From Everywhere

Sat Jun 19, 2021 12:32 pm

redgreenblue wrote:
...I guess the other workaround is to create then DMD set you like and then use Autosampler to make a single instrument out of it.
...

This is the way to do it (in my opinion).
Logic Pro 10.5.1 • OS X 10.14.6 • MBP 15" Early 2013 • 2.4 GHz Intel Core i7 • 8GB RAM • iMac 27 Late 2013 • 3.4 GHz Intel Core i5 • 16GB RAM • Focusrite Saffire 6 USB • Presonus Inspire 1394 • Roland UM-One mkII • Behringer FCB1010 • Gibson ES335 • cheap midi keyboard
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 85205
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Play DMD From Everywhere  Topic is solved

Sat Jun 19, 2021 1:12 pm

You could create a MIDI Environment where you route the input directly to the desired software instrument channel strip (the DMD subtracks) however you may need some Transformers to make sure the desired pitch is being sent to each instrument.

So basically: you can do what you want, it will however require a bit of work.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
User avatar
redgreenblue
Posts: 701
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2014 6:57 am
Contact:

Re: Play DMD From Everywhere

Sat Jun 19, 2021 4:15 pm

Giving this more thought and I realize that the Mapped Instrument object is perfect for this use. Have the external device wired to that object and then route the cables to each instrument. This is good because you can customize the routing for each project and leave the external controller the same.
Logic 10.5.1
2011 iMac 12 gigs RAM (10.13.6)
2018 Mac Mini i7, 32 gigs RAM (10.14.6)
MOTU 828 MKIII Hybrid
Behringer ADA8200 x2
MOTU Midi Express x 2
A nice variety of old analog and hybrid synths
Novation stuff out the wazoo, including an SL61mk2, SL37, ZeroSLmk2
http://www.shaneking.com
http://www.redgreenblue.bandcamp.com
 
Tzabi
Topic Author
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2020 5:22 am

Re: Play DMD From Everywhere

Sun Jun 20, 2021 1:42 am

David Nahmani wrote:
You could create a MIDI Environment where you route the input directly to the desired software instrument channel strip (the DMD subtracks) however you may need some Transformers to make sure the desired pitch is being sent to each instrument.

So basically: you can do what you want, it will however require a bit of work.

This was a great option, 15 min of work, mapped all the DMD.
EZ.
Thank you guys!
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 85205
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Play DMD From Everywhere

Sun Jun 20, 2021 4:46 am

Tzabi wrote:
This was a great option, 15 min of work, mapped all the DMD.
EZ.
Thank you guys!

Great! Good to hear. :)
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM