A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
DamoDiggler
Topic Author
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2014 5:14 am

Drawing Automation events for a region issue

Mon Aug 02, 2021 1:50 am

Hello!

Just confused as to what I may be doing wrong to invoke such behavior, but as you might be able to see.. when I attempt to use my pencil to draw velocity.. a Line appears from the left, like a 'ghost region'... and doesn't allow me to start drawing within my selected region. (I have only 1 region selected).

hmmm..


Screen Shot 2021-08-02 at 6.08.05 pm.png
Screen Shot 2021-08-02 at 6.08.05 pm.png (148.8 KiB) Viewed 214 times
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 85865
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Drawing Automation events for a region issue

Mon Aug 02, 2021 3:05 am

This happens when you have a note present inside the region but before the region start. If you scroll toward the left you should see the velocity line for that note. If you resize the region to extend its right border toward the right you should see the note and be able to delete it if you want to.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
DamoDiggler
Topic Author
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2014 5:14 am

Re: Drawing Automation events for a region issue

Mon Aug 02, 2021 9:54 am

Hi David,

Thanks for the prompt response.. I did think this was the case and I extended the region borders all the way outwards and deleted the notes.. but it still persisted to behave in this manor even without notes.

I've managed to figure out a workaround but, not sure why I can't just draw straight into that region.. is there a way to 'crop' the region into just the frame I am looking at?! .. or will the region always retain the history of notes ?

Thanks for your help,

Damian
 
Plowman
Posts: 1516
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2005 3:10 pm

Re: Drawing Automation events for a region issue

Mon Aug 02, 2021 11:27 am

is there a way to 'crop' the region into just the frame I am looking at?!

There is a key command called "Delete MIDI events Outside Region Boundaries." You need to assign the command -- there is no default for it.

Also, if ever you wonder if there is any MIDI data outside region boundaries, "Set Optimal Region / Cell Lengths Rounded by Bar" will expand or contract the region borders accordingly. I use this a lot to tidy up the Tracks area and check for overlooked data. If the last note of a region extends to the next bar even by one tick, this command will expand the region to include the full bar.

A companion key command is "Set Optimal Region / Cell Lengths Rounded by Note Value."
6-core Mac Mini 2018 with 64 GB and OS 11.3 running Logic 10.6.2, 8-core Mac Pro 2.8 (early 2008) with 16 GB RAM and OS 10.14.1 running Logic 10.4.3, Mac Mini Server mid-2011, Logic Control, Vienna Ensemble Pro (VI and Synchron), Vienna MIR, Ivory
 
DamoDiggler
Topic Author
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2014 5:14 am

Re: Drawing Automation events for a region issue

Mon Aug 02, 2021 8:05 pm

Ok, thanks I'll look those up.. I'm on 10.4, so I'm hoping they're not 'latest' features. Thanks for the tip
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 85865
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Drawing Automation events for a region issue

Tue Aug 03, 2021 12:24 am

DamoDiggler wrote:
not sure why I can't just draw straight into that region.. is there a way to 'crop' the region into just the frame I am looking at?! .. or will the region always retain the history of notes ?

If you want to save a copy of that project, delete all tracks and regions but the one showing this issue and attaching it here, I'll have a look: How to attach files to your post
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM