A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
Sophiam
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2021 10:52 pm

Multi output predicament

Tue Aug 03, 2021 10:59 pm

In Cubase /Nuendo I can import mastered Stems from a previous cue, and output them on Stereo output 3-4
I can write new stuff and output it on sterero output 1-2 where I will apply some mastering plugins without affecting my already masters Stems ( on steroids out 3-4 )
I can hear both outputs in the same time. No problem.
In Logic I have to chose to monitor 1-2 OR 3-4.
I tried messing with the virtual Chanels of the Apollo with no success

What am missing please ?
Thanks
Catalina MacPro 16 cores 160GB
Apollo silver
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 85868
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Multi output predicament

Wed Aug 04, 2021 12:56 am

Inputs and Output channels in Logic are tied to their respective input and output numbers on the connected hardware audio interface. So whatever you're routing to Outputs 1-2 comes out of the Outputs 1-2 on your interface, whatever you're routing to Outputs 3-4 comes out of the Outputs 3-4. If you don't have any speakers connected to Outputs 3-4 then you won't hear anything routed to Outputs 3-4 in Logic.

An alternative is to mix to a bus: set the output of all your channel strips in your Mixer to a bus, set up two Aux channel strips with their inputs set to that bus, and set their output to Stereo Out.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
Sophiam
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2021 10:52 pm

Re: Multi output predicament

Wed Aug 04, 2021 8:06 am

Thank you David
Catalina MacPro 16 cores 160GB
Apollo silver
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 85868
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Multi output predicament

Wed Aug 04, 2021 8:25 am

You're welcome! let us know if you need further help to make it work.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM