A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
User avatar
jimdilian
Topic Author
Posts: 381
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2017 4:05 pm

Pattern Region a total Failure for Editing Drums

Thu Sep 09, 2021 4:20 am

Pattern Region is a total Failure for Editing Drums I sill use Piano Roll.. faster and simpler..
amazing ... Drums are Points .. but Apple did it all wrong Again.. anyway...
Cubase Drum editor is 90% better than Piano roll for editing Drums.. but hey
you cannot have That or This.. "a new concept .. didn't do it..."


Screen Shot 2021-09-09 at 6.17.27.jpg
Screen Shot 2021-09-09 at 6.17.27.jpg (248.43 KiB) Viewed 1001 times
iMac (Retina 4K, 21.5-inch, Late 2015)
Processor : 3.3 GHz Intel Core i7
16 GB 1867 MHz DDR3
Mac os Mojave (latest update)
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 86490
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Pattern Region a total Failure for Editing Drums

Thu Sep 09, 2021 4:59 am

It's just another tool, you don't have to use it if you don't enjoy it. Keep in mind also that this being a new tool added to the collection of editors, it's in its first iteration, and still has room to grow.

However why don't you share with us why you find the step sequencer a failure, or what you think should be done to improve upon it?

Personally, I think that the step sequencer is an amazing way to perform step automation, such as rhythmic filtering (I share a way of doing that with the Remix FX plug-in and step sequencer in my Logic Pro book). So it's not "just" a drum editor.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
User avatar
des99
Posts: 5917
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2015 12:08 pm

Re: Pattern Region a total Failure for Editing Drums

Thu Sep 09, 2021 5:49 am

The step sequencer isn't really intended as a drum editor, in the same way that analog sequencers aren't really drum editors either. You *can* do drum parts with them, but if you're expecting it to generally just be a better way to edit drums, that's not what's it's designed to be.
mu:zines | music magazine archive | difficultAudio | Legacy Logic Project Conversion
 
User avatar
jimdilian
Topic Author
Posts: 381
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2017 4:05 pm

Re: Pattern Region a total Failure for Editing Drums

Thu Sep 09, 2021 6:34 am

yes.. i guess after many years of waiting for a 1 hit editor for Drums.. it will never happen in Logic Pro X
ever.. the only way to edit my recorded midi drums is Piano Roll... the old way.. maybe in 10 years
iMac (Retina 4K, 21.5-inch, Late 2015)
Processor : 3.3 GHz Intel Core i7
16 GB 1867 MHz DDR3
Mac os Mojave (latest update)
 
User avatar
des99
Posts: 5917
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2015 12:08 pm

Re: Pattern Region a total Failure for Editing Drums

Thu Sep 09, 2021 7:40 am

jimdilian wrote:
yes.. i guess after many years of waiting for a 1 hit editor for Drums.. it will never happen in Logic Pro X
ever.. the only way to edit my recorded midi drums is Piano Roll... the old way.. maybe in 10 years


Actually, the old way is the Step (Hyper) Editor, and I edited *hours* of drums in that back in the day.

These days, I usually use a combination of piano roll, event float, sometimes the event editor, and find that perfectly fine for the editing I need to do...
mu:zines | music magazine archive | difficultAudio | Legacy Logic Project Conversion
 
User avatar
Alan Shields
Posts: 981
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 12:04 pm
Location: Ireland - The Land of Ire

Re: Pattern Region a total Failure for Editing Drums

Thu Sep 09, 2021 9:04 am

des99 wrote:
Actually, the old way is the Step (Hyper) Editor, and I edited *hours* of drums in that back in the day.



+1
I thought that the Hyper Editor (now Step Editor) was a fantastic drum editor. I used it all the time for drums.

Alan
Context is Everything.

Logic Pro 10.6.1. Mac OS 10.15.7
Mac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, 2019) - 3.6 GHz Intel 8-Core i9 - 40 GB 2667 MHz DDR4
2.5 Tonnes of (antique?) equipment gathering dust in their racks
 
User avatar
jimdilian
Topic Author
Posts: 381
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2017 4:05 pm

Re: Pattern Region a total Failure for Editing Drums

Wed Sep 15, 2021 5:55 am

yeah the Hyper Editor was better than the Step editor.. anyway.. if you want to edit RECORDED Drums on The Fly
it has to be the Piano Rol.. 2021.. amazing.
iMac (Retina 4K, 21.5-inch, Late 2015)
Processor : 3.3 GHz Intel Core i7
16 GB 1867 MHz DDR3
Mac os Mojave (latest update)
 
User avatar
ValliSoftware
Posts: 1214
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 10:46 am

Re: Pattern Region a total Failure for Editing Drums

Wed Sep 15, 2021 2:23 pm

Sure you can add notes
01 Add Notes.png
01 Add Notes.png (361.63 KiB) Viewed 736 times

Change Velocity
02 Change Velocity.png
02 Change Velocity.png (304.56 KiB) Viewed 736 times

But in the piano roll you can't change direction per note
03 Change Direction.png
03 Change Direction.png (26.08 KiB) Viewed 736 times

You can't change the step rate, per note
04 Change Step Rate.png
04 Change Step Rate.png (25.37 KiB) Viewed 736 times

Writers block, use Randomize for several properties, again, per note
05 Randomize.png
05 Randomize.png (98.09 KiB) Viewed 736 times

Save your current Pattern Region and make a copy, then convert that copy to a Midi Region
06 ConvertToMidi.png
06 ConvertToMidi.png (158.83 KiB) Viewed 736 times

Now... you can use the Piano Roll and still apply Midi Transforms as well
07 Piano Roll.png
07 Piano Roll.png (385.39 KiB) Viewed 736 times


Pattern Region gives you templates to start with
Bass
08 Bass.png
08 Bass.png (163.47 KiB) Viewed 736 times

Drums
09 Drums.png
09 Drums.png (163.13 KiB) Viewed 736 times

Melodic
10 Melodic.png
10 Melodic.png (166.9 KiB) Viewed 736 times


2021.. amazing :mrgreen:
MacBook Pro 10.8.5 2.2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo 6GB Ram - Logic Pro X (10.2)
MacMini 10.13.6 2GHz Intel Core i7 16GB Ram - GarageBand 10.4.5 Logic Pro X (10.4.8)
iPad Mini iOS 12 - iOS GarageBand 2.0.1
Qosimo X70-A 10.13.6 Intel® Core™ i7-4700MQ Processor 32GB DDR3L 1600MHz memory, 2-500GB 7200rpm hard drives - Logic Pro X (10.4.8)
MacMini M1 11.6 Apple M1 16GB Ram 1TB SSD Logic Pro X (10.7) Rosetta 2 not installed
 
User avatar
lostmemories
Posts: 107
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2009 3:07 pm
Contact:

Re: Pattern Region a total Failure for Editing Drums

Wed Sep 15, 2021 4:13 pm

You can still use the hyper editor in the last Logic version, it is now called "Step Editor".

Capture d’écran 2021-09-16 à 01.10.28.png
Capture d’écran 2021-09-16 à 01.10.28.png (1.13 MiB) Viewed 731 times
MacBook Pro 16, macOS 11.x Big Sur, Logic 10.7.x, Arturia AudioFuse 8Pre
-----
Music: https://music.laurentcolson.com
Development: https://dev.laurentcolson.com
 
User avatar
jimdilian
Topic Author
Posts: 381
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2017 4:05 pm

Re: Pattern Region a total Failure for Editing Drums

Sat Sep 25, 2021 5:56 am

i cannot use the Pattern Region with my VDrums midi recorded notes.. imposible.. so i cannot use it.. at ALL ..
that is why i say it a Failure ..
iMac (Retina 4K, 21.5-inch, Late 2015)
Processor : 3.3 GHz Intel Core i7
16 GB 1867 MHz DDR3
Mac os Mojave (latest update)
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 86490
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Pattern Region a total Failure for Editing Drums

Sat Sep 25, 2021 8:11 am

jimdilian wrote:
i cannot use the Pattern Region with my VDrums midi recorded notes.. imposible.. so i cannot use it.. at ALL ..
that is why i say it a Failure ..

The editor is not meant to be used with recorded MIDI regions. That does not mean it's a failure: it's just not the right tool for the job.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
User avatar
jimdilian
Topic Author
Posts: 381
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2017 4:05 pm

Re: Pattern Region a total Failure for Editing Drums

Sun Sep 26, 2021 10:38 pm

yes I know.. that why I still think Editing Drums in Logic Pro X 2021.. still in the PAST ... even the SD3 editor is better .. or.. even BFD3 editor is better.. for editing Recorded Drums.
for me it is a Failure.. 100%
iMac (Retina 4K, 21.5-inch, Late 2015)
Processor : 3.3 GHz Intel Core i7
16 GB 1867 MHz DDR3
Mac os Mojave (latest update)
 
User avatar
Mania
Posts: 378
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 10:15 pm
Location: Vancouver, Canada

Re: Pattern Region a total Failure for Editing Drums

Mon Sep 27, 2021 8:54 am

Editing Vdrums midi info needs very high resolution. That is exactly what preserves the live feeling. Not all the midi notes fall on the grid. Pattern regions were meant for more robotic music like techno and super quantized drum loops etc. If you try to eat soup with a fork, don’t blame the fork if it does not work out. :) Just trying to help here. Sometimes a good example that all it needs to understand a situation. (I learned this at my job). Hope you find the right tool and make awesome music!
Jim

MacBook Air M1 16 GB RAM. latest Logic and macOS version.
Focusrite 2i2.
My latest collaboration over the internet in Logic:
https://youtu.be/QoeZp1b2xe0

Recorded/mastered in Logic with only Logic native plugs: https://youtu.be/s6UOXRPEoB4
 
sunbrother
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2021 9:55 am

Re: Pattern Region a total Failure for Editing Drums

Mon Sep 27, 2021 9:48 am

It sounds like you prefer editing drums with points/flags/hits like in Cubase, REAPER, S1, right? I don't see how that makes the Step sequencer bad. I think more display options in the piano roll would be good but they don't seem to have implemented one for drums yet.
 
User avatar
jimdilian
Topic Author
Posts: 381
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2017 4:05 pm

Re: Pattern Region a total Failure for Editing Drums

Fri Oct 08, 2021 4:16 pm

sunbrother wrote:
It sounds like you prefer editing drums with points/flags/hits like in Cubase, REAPER, S1, right? I don't see how that makes the Step sequencer bad. I think more display options in the piano roll would be good but they don't seem to have implemented one for drums yet.


Yes ¡
iMac (Retina 4K, 21.5-inch, Late 2015)
Processor : 3.3 GHz Intel Core i7
16 GB 1867 MHz DDR3
Mac os Mojave (latest update)