A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
Qha
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2021 4:19 pm
Location: Finland

Re: Logic Pro 10.7 with Spatial Audio announced!

Tue Oct 19, 2021 4:25 pm

darudevil wrote:
“Automation is now reliably chased and displayed in the track header control when playback is started at any point in a project.”
REALLY? Anyone else used to making 2 or 3 slightly different value nodes in front of any choruses, verses or first automation in the project to make Logic “catch up”? :) Not a deal-breaker, but not having to do it would be awesome.


Oh my. If this is finally fixed, I can finally stop complaining. It was really the most problematic bug. It’s not fun to have to re-render stem files / mixes only because one or more automated parameter were stuck just because you listened to a chorus earlier. The amount of hours I’ve pulled my hair over automation bugs is insane.
 
User avatar
MorphineNoir
Posts: 410
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2019 4:46 pm

Re: Logic Pro 10.7 with Spatial Audio announced!

Tue Oct 19, 2021 5:04 pm

Anyone running into this?

I started a project earlier in the new 10.7 and, as usual, I forgot to set the project key signature and left it at the default: C Major

Upon realizing that I forgot to set it to D Major, I went to the control bar and set it to D Major - every midi note then moved up one whole step in my project

This must be new as Logic has never done this previously - is there a way to turn this option off?
• Logic Pro X 10.7
• OS X Big Sur 11.6
• Mac Pro 2019
• 3.3 GHz 12-Core Intel Xeon W
• 96 GB 2933 MHz DDR4
• Apogee Element 24
 
blinkofani
Posts: 943
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 5:21 pm
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: Logic Pro 10.7 with Spatial Audio announced!

Tue Oct 19, 2021 5:53 pm

Anybody created a new template and tried to set it in Prefs so that template will open on Logic launch? I saved my new template the usual way and, first, the template window opens behind the Prefs window and, second, I couldn't find my new template at first as the name I gave it wasn't complete in the shown templates. Fortunately, I changed it a bit this time and I could make it out by the picture shown. I named my template "Project 10.7" but it was named Project 10. In fact, I think that in all my templates, there's something missing as soon as there's a dot. I had 2 "Project 10.6" but their name is really .2 and .3. Anyway, I wonder if it's a small bug. Thanks.
M1 Macbook Air 16Gb, macOS 11.6, Logic Pro 10.7.1, ProTools 2021.10, UA Twin X/Apogee One for Mac, 12” Powerbook G4 1,5Ghz running LP7.1.1 on Tiger and LP9.0.2 on Leopard, UAD-2 Sat. Quad.
 
Dynamic_Notes
Posts: 120
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2021 4:39 pm

Re: Logic Pro 10.7 with Spatial Audio announced!

Tue Oct 19, 2021 7:20 pm

Really keen to see what this preference does - Can someone please check it out and let us know how granular this setting is?
From the Logic 10.7 list....
"There is a new preference setting to adjust Logic's light/dark appearance independently of the system setting"
2019 27" iMac 3.6GHz 8 core intel core i9 proc 40Gig RAM - 512GB SSD - Used for music only
Big Sur Logic Pro 10.7.1
Focusrite Scarlett 4i4
2 x T5 1TB SSDs, 1 T7 2TB SSD - Roland D50, Korg Wavestation AD
 
Deif
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2019 12:08 pm

Re: Logic Pro 10.7 with Spatial Audio announced!

Tue Oct 19, 2021 7:35 pm

Dynamic_Notes wrote:
Really keen to see what this preference does - Can someone please check it out and let us know how granular this setting is?
From the Logic 10.7 list....
"There is a new preference setting to adjust Logic's light/dark appearance independently of the system setting"


Not very granular. They go over it in this video

 
kiotozane
Posts: 110
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 1:23 am

Re: Logic Pro 10.7 with Spatial Audio announced!

Tue Oct 19, 2021 9:45 pm

Backwards compatiblity: I was wondering this because I have to keep some systems on Mojave, so I tested it, could be useful for others to know:

If you save a project with 10.7, it opens seemingly okay with 10.6.3 but with a warning alert upon loading that "this project was created by a newer Logic Pro, this may cause problems, please update Logic Pro".

For this test I did not do anything except open the project and hit save on a system with Big Sur / 10.7, then opened the same project on a system with Mojave / 10.6.3. I don't know what happens if you work with new features and save the project.
LPX & macos Big Sur latest, MBPR 2013/2016/2019/Mac Mini M1, RME UCX & BF
 
User avatar
ValliSoftware
Posts: 1298
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 10:46 am

Re: Logic Pro 10.7 with Spatial Audio announced!

Tue Oct 19, 2021 10:05 pm

Deif wrote:
David Nahmani wrote:
I suppose it may be Logic Remote and the Musical Typing window?


This is correct. When set to that it doesn't recognize input from connected midi keyboards.

Yes, that's what it is. Thanks.
MacBook Pro 10.8.5 2.2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo 6GB Ram - Logic Pro X (10.2)
MacMini 10.13.6 2GHz Intel Core i7 16GB Ram - GarageBand 10.4.5 Logic Pro X (10.4.8)
iPad Mini iOS 12 - iOS GarageBand 2.0.1
Qosimo X70-A 10.13.6 Intel® Core™ i7-4700MQ Processor 32GB DDR3L 1600MHz memory, 2-500GB 7200rpm hard drives - Logic Pro X (10.4.8)
MacMini M1 11.6.1 Apple M1 16GB Ram 1TB SSD Logic Pro X (10.7.1) Rosetta 2 not installed
 
User avatar
danyg
Posts: 962
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 4:53 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Logic Pro 10.7 with Spatial Audio announced!

Tue Oct 19, 2021 11:33 pm

haven't installed the new version yet...

is it possible to put plugins (Limiter 7.1.4.) after the Dolby Renderer on the Master Output ?
http://www.danygallo.com

mac book pro 15" Retina - OS 10.13.6 - Antilope Discrete 8 - Logic pro x - PT12
mac pro 12 core - OS 10.13.6 - SSL madiXtreme - SSL Matrix - Logic pro x - PT12
 
User avatar
danyg
Posts: 962
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 4:53 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Logic Pro 10.7 with Spatial Audio announced!

Tue Oct 19, 2021 11:38 pm

just found the answer on youtube - YES and NO - you can put plugins in the master but the Dolby Renderer will not process them. Objects are rendered directly to the bed.
http://www.danygallo.com

mac book pro 15" Retina - OS 10.13.6 - Antilope Discrete 8 - Logic pro x - PT12
mac pro 12 core - OS 10.13.6 - SSL madiXtreme - SSL Matrix - Logic pro x - PT12
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Topic Author
Posts: 87105
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Logic Pro 10.7 with Spatial Audio announced!

Wed Oct 20, 2021 12:10 am

danyg wrote:
just found the answer on youtube - YES and NO - you can put plugins in the master but the Dolby Renderer will not process them. Objects are rendered directly to the bed.

That's true only in specific situations, namely if using the 3D Object panner and inserting the plug-ins before the Dolby Atmos plugin.

So:

1. When using the Surround Panner, ALL plug-ins on the Master channel strip, before or after the Dolby Atmos plugin, affect the signal.

2. When using the 3D Object Panner, the signal is routed directly to the Dolby Atmos plugin which means only plugins inserted after the Dolby Atmos plugin affect the signal.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.7.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 12.0.1 — 8 GB RAM
 
User avatar
danyg
Posts: 962
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 4:53 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Logic Pro 10.7 with Spatial Audio announced!

Wed Oct 20, 2021 12:30 am

When using the 3D Object Panner, the signal is routed directly to the Dolby Atmos plugin which means only plugins inserted after the Dolby Atmos plugin affect the signal.


on a youtube video someone said that all plugins would be bypassed when doing an export ? Fake news :) ?
http://www.danygallo.com

mac book pro 15" Retina - OS 10.13.6 - Antilope Discrete 8 - Logic pro x - PT12
mac pro 12 core - OS 10.13.6 - SSL madiXtreme - SSL Matrix - Logic pro x - PT12
 
User avatar
mattrixx
Posts: 791
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2005 10:57 pm
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact:

Re: Logic Pro 10.7 with Spatial Audio announced!

Wed Oct 20, 2021 12:38 am

danyg wrote:
When using the 3D Object Panner, the signal is routed directly to the Dolby Atmos plugin which means only plugins inserted after the Dolby Atmos plugin affect the signal.


on a youtube video someone said that all plugins would be bypassed when doing an export ? Fake news :) ?



Haha... the YouTruth LOL ..
To be honest, there is some good reasoning to be all over your bussing discipline when delving into all of this.

I think we are going to be hearing some pretty interesting, unfiltered content in the coming weeks. ;-)
Matt McKenzie-Smith - http://www.mattrixx.net
MacPro6,1. OSX 11.6 32GB/ Logic10.6.3 / PT2021.7 Ult / MelodyneStudio5,Editor/ RME UFX 1 & 2 & Babyface/ NI K13Ultimate & MachineStudioKompleteKontrol S88 S49 S32 / WAVES Mercury/Lexicon/IzotopeRX8Advanced/SourceConnect / AVID S3 & Dock
MacbookPro 2.9 GHz Intel Core i7, MacPro2018
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Topic Author
Posts: 87105
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Logic Pro 10.7 with Spatial Audio announced!

Wed Oct 20, 2021 12:52 am

danyg wrote:
on a youtube video someone said that all plugins would be bypassed when doing an export ? Fake news :) ?

My motto: don't believe anything you hear, read or watch. Test it.

Let's take a specific process and test it, see what result we're getting, shall we? What do you call "an export" exactly? Can you link to the video?
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.7.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 12.0.1 — 8 GB RAM
 
User avatar
mattrixx
Posts: 791
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2005 10:57 pm
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact:

Re: Logic Pro 10.7 with Spatial Audio announced!

Wed Oct 20, 2021 1:02 am

There is some very specific information about what happens on the master buss in the Logic Pro X user guide.
"Plug-ins inserted before the Dolby Atmos plug-in affect only the bed tracks in the surround format (up to 7.1.2) you choose for the project. Plug-ins inserted after the Dolby Atmos plug-in affect only the audio signal in the monitoring format you choose. See Build a Dolby Atmos mix in Logic Pro."


Unfortunately, links from help don't seem to be working..... so.

Image

Image
Matt McKenzie-Smith - http://www.mattrixx.net
MacPro6,1. OSX 11.6 32GB/ Logic10.6.3 / PT2021.7 Ult / MelodyneStudio5,Editor/ RME UFX 1 & 2 & Babyface/ NI K13Ultimate & MachineStudioKompleteKontrol S88 S49 S32 / WAVES Mercury/Lexicon/IzotopeRX8Advanced/SourceConnect / AVID S3 & Dock
MacbookPro 2.9 GHz Intel Core i7, MacPro2018
 
User avatar
danyg
Posts: 962
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 4:53 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Logic Pro 10.7 with Spatial Audio announced!

Wed Oct 20, 2021 1:08 am

at 15 min...
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UH6vl1vpzDI

- the 7.1.4. bed might be processed by "mixbus" plugins
- objects go straight to the Render
- by export I mean ADM BWF

I'll install the new version soon and try myself .-)
http://www.danygallo.com

mac book pro 15" Retina - OS 10.13.6 - Antilope Discrete 8 - Logic pro x - PT12
mac pro 12 core - OS 10.13.6 - SSL madiXtreme - SSL Matrix - Logic pro x - PT12
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Topic Author
Posts: 87105
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Logic Pro 10.7 with Spatial Audio announced!

Wed Oct 20, 2021 1:16 am

danyg wrote:
at 15 min...
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UH6vl1vpzDI

- the 7.1.4. bed might be processed by "mixbus" plugins
- objects go straight to the Render
- by export I mean ADM BWF

I'll install the new version soon and try myself .-)

Oh ok, then that is true, yes (I just tested it to make sure). What I stated earlier is for bouncing your project, not for exporting ADM BWF.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.7.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 12.0.1 — 8 GB RAM
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Topic Author
Posts: 87105
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Logic Pro 10.7 with Spatial Audio announced!

Wed Oct 20, 2021 1:18 am

mattrixx wrote:
Unfortunately, links from help don't seem to be working..... so.

Here you go:

https://support.apple.com/en-ph/guide/l ... 7/mac/11.0
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.7.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 12.0.1 — 8 GB RAM
 
User avatar
mattrixx
Posts: 791
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2005 10:57 pm
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact:

Re: Logic Pro 10.7 with Spatial Audio announced!

Wed Oct 20, 2021 1:19 am

danyg wrote:
at 15 min...
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UH6vl1vpzDI

- the 7.1.4. bed might be processed by "mixbus" plugins
- objects go straight to the Render
- by export I mean ADM BWF

I'll install the new version soon and try myself .-)



The Renderer will not "process" plugins in slots after the renderer. In ATMOS the mix buss is not the same as we're used to in stereo or even 5.1 for that matter.
Yes, bed plugins will be processed "pre renderer", but there are a lot of other tricks which can be used with bussing etc for static tracks in your session.
Matt McKenzie-Smith - http://www.mattrixx.net
MacPro6,1. OSX 11.6 32GB/ Logic10.6.3 / PT2021.7 Ult / MelodyneStudio5,Editor/ RME UFX 1 & 2 & Babyface/ NI K13Ultimate & MachineStudioKompleteKontrol S88 S49 S32 / WAVES Mercury/Lexicon/IzotopeRX8Advanced/SourceConnect / AVID S3 & Dock
MacbookPro 2.9 GHz Intel Core i7, MacPro2018
 
User avatar
mattrixx
Posts: 791
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2005 10:57 pm
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Contact:

Re: Logic Pro 10.7 with Spatial Audio announced!

Wed Oct 20, 2021 1:20 am

David Nahmani wrote:
mattrixx wrote:
Unfortunately, links from help don't seem to be working..... so.

Here you go:

https://support.apple.com/en-ph/guide/l ... 7/mac/11.0


Bang on as always Dave!! Hope ya keeping well mate.
Matt McKenzie-Smith - http://www.mattrixx.net
MacPro6,1. OSX 11.6 32GB/ Logic10.6.3 / PT2021.7 Ult / MelodyneStudio5,Editor/ RME UFX 1 & 2 & Babyface/ NI K13Ultimate & MachineStudioKompleteKontrol S88 S49 S32 / WAVES Mercury/Lexicon/IzotopeRX8Advanced/SourceConnect / AVID S3 & Dock
MacbookPro 2.9 GHz Intel Core i7, MacPro2018
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Topic Author
Posts: 87105
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Logic Pro 10.7 with Spatial Audio announced!

Wed Oct 20, 2021 1:22 am

mattrixx wrote:
Bang on as always Dave!! Hope ya keeping well mate.

Busy busy bee but well thanks! :D
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.7.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 12.0.1 — 8 GB RAM