➤ Help answer these new questions!
 
frostym8
Topic Author
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2018 5:30 am

How to apply sends to bounced tracks?

Sat Dec 04, 2021 11:57 am

Hi there,

I’ve encointered a problem when using sends with reverbs and delays.

In my mixing template, I have tracks set up that way through input monitoring:

Shaker -> Light Percussion -> Percussion Stem

Once I’ve added some ping pong delay to the shaker, I’m recording it in real time using input monitoring for light percussion - when the delay send from an aux track is applied to the shaker, by some reason it will not record that to light percussion group.

Is there any way to fix this or go around it?

Thank you!
 
User avatar
triplets
Posts: 19233
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 3:21 pm
Location: North Hollywood
Contact:

Re: How to apply sends to bounced tracks?

Sat Dec 04, 2021 12:09 pm

Anything you put on an insert slot is always on the monitoring path. It will never get "printed" when you record.

If you want the "printed" audio file, then solo the track, press play to check you're hearing exactly what you want, then press Command-B to bounce the desired section.
Logic Pro 9 Master Pro and X certified
ProTools 10 & 11 Certified Operator
2 x 3.06 Intel Six-Core 24 GB RAM, Logic 10.5.1, 10.14.6., UA Apollo
2012 i7 MBP 16 GB Logic 10.6.3, 10.15.7
Contact me for Logic help (Teamviewer, Zoom, Skype)
http://www.ultimatestudiosinc.com
 
frostym8
Topic Author
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2018 5:30 am

Re: How to apply sends to bounced tracks?

Sat Dec 04, 2021 12:50 pm

Ah that’s a lot clearer now, a workaround that works, thanks!
 
frostym8
Topic Author
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2018 5:30 am

Re: How to apply sends to bounced tracks?

Sat Dec 04, 2021 1:01 pm

I just had one thought, so if I have about 50 instruments that have reverb sends applied to them, these won’t be recorded through input monitoring to their corresponding groups? Do I have to bounce in place each of those tracks to have those reverbs applied before I record these instruments to their corresponding groups through input monitoring?
 
polanoid
Posts: 181
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2018 10:02 am

Re: How to apply sends to bounced tracks?

Sat Dec 04, 2021 1:45 pm

One question, out of interest: What do mean by "record through input monitoring"?
MacBook Pro 16'' 2019, 2,4 GHz 8-Core Intel Core i9 64 GB 2667 MHz DDR4 / macOS Monterey 12.0.1 / Logic 10.7.2
 
User avatar
triplets
Posts: 19233
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 3:21 pm
Location: North Hollywood
Contact:

Re: How to apply sends to bounced tracks?

Sat Dec 04, 2021 1:51 pm

frostym8 wrote:
Do I have to bounce in place each of those tracks to have those reverbs applied before I record these instruments to their corresponding groups through input monitoring?


Huh?
If you bounced in place, why do you need to record them again?
Logic Pro 9 Master Pro and X certified
ProTools 10 & 11 Certified Operator
2 x 3.06 Intel Six-Core 24 GB RAM, Logic 10.5.1, 10.14.6., UA Apollo
2012 i7 MBP 16 GB Logic 10.6.3, 10.15.7
Contact me for Logic help (Teamviewer, Zoom, Skype)
http://www.ultimatestudiosinc.com
 
frostym8
Topic Author
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2018 5:30 am

Re: How to apply sends to bounced tracks?

Sat Dec 04, 2021 2:06 pm

triplets wrote:
frostym8 wrote:
Do I have to bounce in place each of those tracks to have those reverbs applied before I record these instruments to their corresponding groups through input monitoring?


Huh?
If you bounced in place, why do you need to record them again?


For the sake of organisation. I mean, if I have short low strings, and long high strings, they need different kinds of reverbs. If there are about 50 tracks that need those reverbs through sends, it will be super messy once these tracks are bounced into individual tracks and keeping multiple copies of the same track is not an option for me.

It can also create the problem that if I realise that there’s too much reverb, I cannot go back since the track is already printed with the reverb amount.

I usally process groups furtherly so it provides more glue and I’m able to make it cut through anything else if necessary using parallel saturation or parallel compression but only after I’m happy with the process of individual tracks - that’s why it’s so important for me to have them processed individually so I know for sure that there won’t be any issues when I’m ready to process summed groups.
 
User avatar
triplets
Posts: 19233
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 3:21 pm
Location: North Hollywood
Contact:

Re: How to apply sends to bounced tracks?

Sat Dec 04, 2021 2:14 pm

If it's a bunch of instruments, I would send for example the output of all strings and their reverbs to a string Aux track and then I can control it all with one fader.
I don't know what you have in your template, but I would try to make the volume leveling as simple as possible.
Logic Pro 9 Master Pro and X certified
ProTools 10 & 11 Certified Operator
2 x 3.06 Intel Six-Core 24 GB RAM, Logic 10.5.1, 10.14.6., UA Apollo
2012 i7 MBP 16 GB Logic 10.6.3, 10.15.7
Contact me for Logic help (Teamviewer, Zoom, Skype)
http://www.ultimatestudiosinc.com
 
User avatar
ozinga
Posts: 362
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2007 5:12 pm
Location: Istanbul
Contact:

Re: How to apply sends to bounced tracks?

Sat Dec 04, 2021 5:45 pm

frostym8 wrote:
Hi there,

I’ve encointered a problem when using sends with reverbs and delays.

In my mixing template, I have tracks set up that way through input monitoring:

Shaker -> Light Percussion -> Percussion Stem

Once I’ve added some ping pong delay to the shaker, I’m recording it in real time using input monitoring for light percussion - when the delay send from an aux track is applied to the shaker, by some reason it will not record that to light percussion group.

Is there any way to fix this or go around it?



Thank you!


If I understand right, you also need to route the output of delay/reverb channel to the light percussion track as well.
 
frostym8
Topic Author
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2018 5:30 am

Re: How to apply sends to bounced tracks?

Thu Dec 09, 2021 5:24 am

Thank you guys, it worked!

Now any sort of processing applied through sends on individual tracks using input monitoring is audible not only during playback, but the sends are even printed to groups!

Right now my signal chain looks like this:

Oboe -> Woodwinds (Send) -> Reverb (output of the reverb is woodwinds group) -> Woodwinds -> Mix OP

So I basically need to create a reverb for each group and have it’s output routed for that instrument group.

What about if I want to apply parallel saturation and parallel compression? I won’t have enough busses to individually create each aux buss for parallel comp and parallel sat, is there a way to use just one of each in this case?
 
polanoid
Posts: 181
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2018 10:02 am

Re: How to apply sends to bounced tracks?

Thu Dec 09, 2021 5:49 am

frostym8 wrote:
What about if I want to apply parallel saturation and parallel compression? I won’t have enough busses to individually create each aux buss for parallel comp and parallel sat, is there a way to use just one of each in this case?


If by parallel compression you refer to this technique: https://musicproductionnerds.com/parall ... -explained , you won't need any busses for that because Logic's compressors all have dry/wet controls.
MacBook Pro 16'' 2019, 2,4 GHz 8-Core Intel Core i9 64 GB 2667 MHz DDR4 / macOS Monterey 12.0.1 / Logic 10.7.2