A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
User avatar
Eric Wikman
Topic Author
Posts: 1314
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 7:19 am
Location: Nashville

Darren's Ringshifter & Modulator trick?

Wed Sep 18, 2013 11:35 am

At the recent LA Logic Pro Help Users meeting Darren showed how he used Ringshifter and the Modulator midi plugin.
I can't seem to get it to work how he did. He just inserted the Modulator plug and it controled the big knob on the ringshifter.
Anyone remember?
Thanks
Eric
Eric Wikman
LPX 10.4.8 l MacPro 2014 (6 core) l OS 10.14.6 l UAD Apollo l MTP AV
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 84756
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Darren's Ringshifter & Modulator trick?

Wed Sep 18, 2013 11:38 am

Hi Eric,

I don't remember that to be honest? I remember doing something where I was controlling the big knob of the Ringshifter with the Smart Controls, that I assigned to a knob on the MIDI keyboard... and I remember Darren using the MIDI effect plug-ins... but not to control the Ringshifter?

Let me ping him.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
User avatar
Eric Wikman
Topic Author
Posts: 1314
Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 7:19 am
Location: Nashville

Re: Darren's Ringshifter & Modulator trick?

Wed Sep 18, 2013 11:52 am

Ok, maybe I'm mixing it up? Sorry.
Maybe he was using Massive with the Modulator to rock a parameter back and forth... and then used the Modifier midi plug to limit the range (floor) because the Modulator only let him control the top of the range. I would like to use this same idea with the big knob of the Ringshifter if possible.
Thanks David!
Eric Wikman
LPX 10.4.8 l MacPro 2014 (6 core) l OS 10.14.6 l UAD Apollo l MTP AV
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 84756
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Darren's Ringshifter & Modulator trick?

Wed Sep 18, 2013 12:00 pm

Deepswing wrote:
Maybe he was using Massive with the Modulator to rock a parameter back and forth... and then used the Modifier midi plug to limit the range (floor) because the Modulator only let him control the top of the range. I would like to use this same idea with the big knob of the Ringshifter if possible.

Yes! I remember him doing that, for sure. So in Massive, assign a MIDI CC# to a parameter. Then he was using the Modulator to generate that CC# with an LFO, then the Modifier to scale and offset the range of the LFO.

However AFAIK you can't control the big knob of the Ring Modulator with MIDI CC.

Why not just use Smart Controls instead?
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
psychoid
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2006 4:59 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Darren's Ringshifter & Modulator trick?

Wed Sep 18, 2013 12:23 pm

Hi Eric,

Yes it was Massive not RingShifter. RingShifter doesn't yet receive MIDI CC directly. Your right that I used MIDI FX Modulator with Modifier. First I placed Modulator and set it's "To" setting to General Purpose MIDI CC 16. Then I placed a MIDI FX Modifier directly under it with it's Input Event and Re-Assign To parameters set to the same GP 16 CC #. You can scale the data obviously with the Scale Slider, and if you want to raise the "floor" of the data you use the "Add" slider. Hope that helps! :) - Darren
Production, Mixing & Mastering
http://www.darrenburgos.com
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 84756
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Darren's Ringshifter & Modulator trick?

Wed Sep 18, 2013 1:09 pm

Thanks for the precisions Darren!! :D
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM