A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
User avatar
logic8mine
Topic Author
Posts: 665
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 5:49 pm
Location: SW-OH

Sluggish GUI???

Thu May 21, 2015 9:38 am

I didn't pay much attention to this because of the core2duo I was on but, now that I have a faster mbp, I am wondering why the gui still lags. If I duplicate a note or notes in the piano roll, the gui does not reflect the change until I close and reopen the window. These lags are all over the place. Is it par for the course? Everything was a fresh install on the Mac.
Last edited by logic8mine on Thu May 21, 2015 11:06 am, edited 1 time in total.
Logic Pro 10.5.1, 15", 2018 MBP - i7 Quad Core- 2.2Ghz, 16GB Ram w/ 250GB SSD, Yamaha XS8 w/mLAN, OS X 10.13.6, G-Tech 1TB Ext. HD, Lacie 2TB HD, Samsung T5 500GB SSD, Focusrite Clarett- 4Pre Thunderbolt, Roland VS-2480
 
User avatar
triplets
Posts: 18552
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 3:21 pm
Location: North Hollywood
Contact:

Re: Sluggish GUI???

Thu May 21, 2015 10:10 am

All that graphic stuff started happening from Mavericks onwards. Just a real pain.
That's the only reason I'm sticking with Snow L and Mountain L.
Logic Pro 9 Master Pro and X certified
ProTools 10 & 11 Certified Operator
2 x 3.06 Intel Six-Core 24 GB RAM, Logic 10.5.1, 10.14.6., UA Apollo
2012 i7 MBP 8 GB Logic 10.6.1, 10.15.7
Contact me for Logic help (Teamviewer, Zoom, Skype)
http://www.ultimatestudiosinc.com
 
User avatar
Eric Cardenas
Moderator
Posts: 22735
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 1:47 pm
Location: Uppsala, Sweden

Re: Sluggish GUI???

Thu May 21, 2015 10:27 am

There are plenty of re-draw issues in Logic Pro X.
I pretty sure they are working on getting this better but I think the new graphic rendering required more effort than was anticipated.
Eric Bradley Cardenas
EC Making Sound
Mac mini 2.6 GHz 16GB RAM Areca⚡RAID | MacBook Pro 2.3 GHz 16GB RAM | Os 10.14.5
Logic Pro 10.4.5 | RME Fireface UFX | Adam A7 + Sub8 | Spectrasonics | Softube
 
User avatar
logic8mine
Topic Author
Posts: 665
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 5:49 pm
Location: SW-OH

Re: Sluggish GUI???

Thu May 21, 2015 11:08 am

Thanks- good to know. I always attributed it to a slow machine.
Logic Pro 10.5.1, 15", 2018 MBP - i7 Quad Core- 2.2Ghz, 16GB Ram w/ 250GB SSD, Yamaha XS8 w/mLAN, OS X 10.13.6, G-Tech 1TB Ext. HD, Lacie 2TB HD, Samsung T5 500GB SSD, Focusrite Clarett- 4Pre Thunderbolt, Roland VS-2480
 
TequilaKez
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 9:26 pm

Re: Sluggish GUI???

Sun May 31, 2015 11:40 pm

It really it the biggest let down for logic. Once a project starts to become substantial, the sluggish response makes editing slloooowwww. If it were that the priority was put on the audio engine, i could understand that. But it's the same with nothing playing. I've always been a logic guy but I had to do a crash coarse in protools last week as there was no other option. I was amazed at how fast I was able to work through the job. Apple should take a leaf out of the Fabfilter guys' book. Perfect example of efficient, well optimised, glitch free code. The exact opposite of frustratingly sluggish.
27" iMac i7 3.2Ghz 16Gb Ram | Mac Pro 2010 6 Core 3.06 Ghz 16Gb Ram nVidia GTX 960 | High Sierra 10.13.6 | UAD Apollo FW