A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
User avatar
morganmd7
Topic Author
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 6:37 am
Location: Scaly Mountain, NC
Contact:

Audio Engine Overload (activity monitor different than logic

Tue Aug 18, 2015 9:00 am

So I'm using my iMac (listed below) for a pretty big project (using multiple Kontakt, Omnisphere, EXS24 and built in sounds). About 10 audio software instrument tracks and 20 audio tracks. I keep getting an "audio engine overload" error. (I seem to get it most often right after I open the project)

I see on my Logic activity meter one of the 4 audio meters peaks (not the disk). But when I watch my Activity Monitor (utilities) app it says less than half of my CPU is being used. I'm puzzled as to what's going on?

I know I have plenty of RAM (it shows I still have 10 gb free). Is the CPU the problem? If so why doesn't the Activity Monitor reflect Logic's activity monitor?

Really appreciate anyone's help. I know this issue has been hashed out a lot but I'm confused about the disparity between my activity monitors.
http://www.MatthewMorgansMusic.com

Composer//Sound Designer

iMac (mid 2011) 2.7 GHz i5 - SATA SSD - 24 GB RAM - Logic 10.3.2

Logic 10.0.7, OS 10.10.1, MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Late 2013), 16 GB RAM, 2.3 GHz Intel Core i7
 
User avatar
morganmd7
Topic Author
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 6:37 am
Location: Scaly Mountain, NC
Contact:

Re: Audio Engine Overload (activity monitor different than l

Tue Aug 18, 2015 9:12 am

Watching the activity monitor (apple utilities) and it seems to show a spike in the disk. I'm confused why Logic is showing a spike in the Audio and Activity Monitor in the disk. Is there a way to truly test which part of my computer is being maxed out?
http://www.MatthewMorgansMusic.com

Composer//Sound Designer

iMac (mid 2011) 2.7 GHz i5 - SATA SSD - 24 GB RAM - Logic 10.3.2

Logic 10.0.7, OS 10.10.1, MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Late 2013), 16 GB RAM, 2.3 GHz Intel Core i7
 
User avatar
morganmd7
Topic Author
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 6:37 am
Location: Scaly Mountain, NC
Contact:

Re: Audio Engine Overload (activity monitor different than l

Tue Aug 18, 2015 9:20 am

Screen Shot 2015-08-18 at 12.15.38 PM.png
Screen Shot 2015-08-18 at 12.15.38 PM.png (14 KiB) Viewed 705 times
Screen Shot 2015-08-18 at 12.15.47 PM.png
CPU
Screen Shot 2015-08-18 at 12.15.47 PM.png (15.52 KiB) Viewed 705 times
Attachments
Screen Shot 2015-08-18 at 12.05.55 PM.png
Screen Shot 2015-08-18 at 12.05.55 PM.png (20.3 KiB) Viewed 705 times
http://www.MatthewMorgansMusic.com

Composer//Sound Designer

iMac (mid 2011) 2.7 GHz i5 - SATA SSD - 24 GB RAM - Logic 10.3.2

Logic 10.0.7, OS 10.10.1, MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Late 2013), 16 GB RAM, 2.3 GHz Intel Core i7
 
strat71
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 10:01 am

Re: Audio Engine Overload (activity monitor different than l

Tue Aug 18, 2015 11:29 am

If you are on a track in "live mode" the cpu can go crazy.Try to load a empty track and highligt that when playing back..
Macbook Pro mid 2010,i7 2,66 ghz,8 GB ram.Logic Pro 9,Osx 10.6.8,Apogee Duet..
 
User avatar
morganmd7
Topic Author
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 6:37 am
Location: Scaly Mountain, NC
Contact:

Re: Audio Engine Overload (activity monitor different than l

Tue Aug 18, 2015 11:34 am

Ok, I just selected an empty audio track. It seemed to peak pretty much the same, one of the 4 audio meters peaked. I don't get the error every time, I'm just wondering what's causing it to max out when my Activity Monitor CPU meter is only at about 50%
http://www.MatthewMorgansMusic.com

Composer//Sound Designer

iMac (mid 2011) 2.7 GHz i5 - SATA SSD - 24 GB RAM - Logic 10.3.2

Logic 10.0.7, OS 10.10.1, MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Late 2013), 16 GB RAM, 2.3 GHz Intel Core i7
 
strat71
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 10:01 am

Re: Audio Engine Overload (activity monitor different than l

Tue Aug 18, 2015 1:53 pm

morganmd7 wrote:
Ok, I just selected an empty audio track. It seemed to peak pretty much the same, one of the 4 audio meters peaked. I don't get the error every time, I'm just wondering what's causing it to max out when my Activity Monitor CPU meter is only at about 50%


The one core cpu spike is a common problem in Logic,try search in here or google it ..

Or read this https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201838
Macbook Pro mid 2010,i7 2,66 ghz,8 GB ram.Logic Pro 9,Osx 10.6.8,Apogee Duet..
 
User avatar
morganmd7
Topic Author
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 6:37 am
Location: Scaly Mountain, NC
Contact:

Re: Audio Engine Overload (activity monitor different than l

Tue Aug 18, 2015 2:32 pm

Ok. So even though my overall CPU isn't maxing out one of my Cores is? Doesn't sound like there's much I can do about that...
http://www.MatthewMorgansMusic.com

Composer//Sound Designer

iMac (mid 2011) 2.7 GHz i5 - SATA SSD - 24 GB RAM - Logic 10.3.2

Logic 10.0.7, OS 10.10.1, MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Late 2013), 16 GB RAM, 2.3 GHz Intel Core i7
 
User avatar
morganmd7
Topic Author
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 6:37 am
Location: Scaly Mountain, NC
Contact:

Re: Audio Engine Overload (activity monitor different than l

Tue Aug 18, 2015 2:32 pm

Ok. So even though my overall CPU isn't maxing out one of my Cores is? Doesn't sound like there's much I can do about that...
http://www.MatthewMorgansMusic.com

Composer//Sound Designer

iMac (mid 2011) 2.7 GHz i5 - SATA SSD - 24 GB RAM - Logic 10.3.2

Logic 10.0.7, OS 10.10.1, MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Late 2013), 16 GB RAM, 2.3 GHz Intel Core i7
 
User avatar
morganmd7
Topic Author
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 6:37 am
Location: Scaly Mountain, NC
Contact:

Re: Audio Engine Overload (activity monitor different than l

Wed Aug 19, 2015 6:39 am

Would I see a big difference in performance if I had an i7? Wondering what I should upgrade, if anything.
http://www.MatthewMorgansMusic.com

Composer//Sound Designer

iMac (mid 2011) 2.7 GHz i5 - SATA SSD - 24 GB RAM - Logic 10.3.2

Logic 10.0.7, OS 10.10.1, MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Late 2013), 16 GB RAM, 2.3 GHz Intel Core i7
 
strat71
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 10:01 am

Re: Audio Engine Overload (activity monitor different than l

Wed Aug 19, 2015 7:18 am

morganmd7 wrote:
Would I see a big difference in performance if I had an i7? Wondering what I should upgrade, if anything.


Maybe,that depends on which processor,but the one core spike is probably not going away.
Macbook Pro mid 2010,i7 2,66 ghz,8 GB ram.Logic Pro 9,Osx 10.6.8,Apogee Duet..
 
User avatar
triplets
Posts: 18554
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 3:21 pm
Location: North Hollywood
Contact:

Re: Audio Engine Overload (activity monitor different than l

Wed Aug 19, 2015 7:44 am

morganmd7 wrote:
Ok. So even though my overall CPU isn't maxing out one of my Cores is? Doesn't sound like there's much I can do about that...


I had one core spike issue that I fixed by setting the Process Buffer to Large in Logic's Audio Preferences.
Logic Pro 9 Master Pro and X certified
ProTools 10 & 11 Certified Operator
2 x 3.06 Intel Six-Core 24 GB RAM, Logic 10.5.1, 10.14.6., UA Apollo
2012 i7 MBP 8 GB Logic 10.6.1, 10.15.7
Contact me for Logic help (Teamviewer, Zoom, Skype)
http://www.ultimatestudiosinc.com
 
strat71
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu May 29, 2014 10:01 am

Re: Audio Engine Overload (activity monitor different than l

Wed Aug 19, 2015 10:59 am

I had one core spike issue that I fixed by setting the Process Buffer to Large in Logic's Audio Preferences.


Didn´t.help me,but of course increase the I/O buffersize will help...
Macbook Pro mid 2010,i7 2,66 ghz,8 GB ram.Logic Pro 9,Osx 10.6.8,Apogee Duet..