A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
User avatar
Jfever
Topic Author
Posts: 269
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2015 7:11 pm

Duplicating a track's contents

Fri Jul 29, 2016 1:33 pm

Hi,
How would I go about copying content (audio or midi) and making acopy of it on a new track?

I'm looking for the fastest way thanks.
Logic Pro 9.1.8 (64bit)
MacBookPro 16GB 2.4Ghz i5
Mavericks 10.9.5
Logic Audio files on internal SSD drive
Logic install on internal SATA
Apogee Ensemble A/D D/A
 
User avatar
Eric Cardenas
Moderator
Posts: 22735
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 1:47 pm
Location: Uppsala, Sweden

Re: Duplicating a track's contents

Fri Jul 29, 2016 1:38 pm

Option drag the track header to a new spot is a good way to achieve this.
Eric Bradley Cardenas
EC Making Sound
Mac mini 2.6 GHz 16GB RAM Areca⚡RAID | MacBook Pro 2.3 GHz 16GB RAM | Os 10.14.5
Logic Pro 10.4.5 | RME Fireface UFX | Adam A7 + Sub8 | Spectrasonics | Softube
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 84783
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Duplicating a track's contents

Fri Jul 29, 2016 2:54 pm

You can also click the track, which selects all regions on the track (as long as Cycle mode is off, otherwise it selects all regions on the track only within the cycle area).

Now Command-C, select the destination track and press Command-V.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
User avatar
Jfever
Topic Author
Posts: 269
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2015 7:11 pm

Re: Duplicating a track's contents

Wed Aug 03, 2016 6:58 am

Thanks Eric and David . Let me clarify...

I want the track to be duplicated at the same starting position as the source track.

1. What if the source is in the middle of other tracks in the arrange?
2. What if the source is the last track In the arrange?

Do these solutions include copying the associated channel strip settings/routing?
Thanks
Logic Pro 9.1.8 (64bit)
MacBookPro 16GB 2.4Ghz i5
Mavericks 10.9.5
Logic Audio files on internal SSD drive
Logic install on internal SATA
Apogee Ensemble A/D D/A
 
User avatar
Eric Cardenas
Moderator
Posts: 22735
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 1:47 pm
Location: Uppsala, Sweden

Re: Duplicating a track's contents

Wed Aug 03, 2016 7:11 am

If you follow my none of your questions will matter.

Duplicate w Content.gif
Duplicate w Content.gif (268.37 KiB) Viewed 320 times
Eric Bradley Cardenas
EC Making Sound
Mac mini 2.6 GHz 16GB RAM Areca⚡RAID | MacBook Pro 2.3 GHz 16GB RAM | Os 10.14.5
Logic Pro 10.4.5 | RME Fireface UFX | Adam A7 + Sub8 | Spectrasonics | Softube
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 84783
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Duplicating a track's contents

Wed Aug 03, 2016 11:15 am

Jfever wrote:
1. What if the source is in the middle of other tracks in the arrange?
2. What if the source is the last track In the arrange?

That doesn't matter.

Jfever wrote:
Do these solutions include copying the associated channel strip settings/routing

Only Eric's does.
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
User avatar
sambosun
Posts: 471
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 7:54 pm
Location: Berlin & Los Angeles

Re: Duplicating a track's contents

Thu Aug 04, 2016 9:56 am

And thankfully if you duplicate a whole track the track name and channel strip name gets duplicated as well since 10.2.4!!!
 Certified Logic Pro Trainer
Logic Pro X 10.4.4 | Mac OS X 10.14.x
Mac Pro 6,1 | 12 Core | 64GB Ram | Presonus Quantum | VSL VE PRO 6 | NI Kontakt 6
 
User avatar
Eric Cardenas
Moderator
Posts: 22735
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 1:47 pm
Location: Uppsala, Sweden

Re: Duplicating a track's contents

Thu Aug 04, 2016 11:11 am

Yes! :)
Eric Bradley Cardenas
EC Making Sound
Mac mini 2.6 GHz 16GB RAM Areca⚡RAID | MacBook Pro 2.3 GHz 16GB RAM | Os 10.14.5
Logic Pro 10.4.5 | RME Fireface UFX | Adam A7 + Sub8 | Spectrasonics | Softube