Losing Flex Pitch edits

thelogicalproducer

In desperate need of help here.  

I'm still learning the ins and outs of vocal mixing but I've going into a good groove using Flex Pitch.  I guess my simplest question is this:  if one turns off Flex Pitch after making edits, do you lose all the edits you've made?  Or will the edits return once you've cut FP back on?  My normal workflow is this: use flex pitch to correct notes/harmonies for multiple tracks then turn flex pitch OFF so I can then go back and self-quantize small variations in rhythm.  But when turning Flex back on, it seems I'm back at ground zero and need to edit pitch again.  

Am I doing something wrong?  Is LPX incapable of saving Flex Pitch edits after you turn Flex Pitch off?

Thanks guys.  Triplets, I've learned to bounce the pitch-edited track, then go in and chop it up manually for a super-clean mix.  Erik, its harder to visualize the movement of wavelengths (if that's the right terminology) while in flex pitch (the display changes to the dark blue screen) to crisply align multiple vocal tracks.  I'm editing like 9 vox together at once and its just as important to see where notes begin and end as it is to hear it because the visual signal lends a much more exact measure of what's going on.  

Gosh, after hours of editing, it was heartbreaking to lose my changes.  I had to take a nap and come back to it.  Lesson learned.  I hope Logic creates new options for the workflow.

• 1 year later...

A lot of Pro Tools die hards, I include myself, Choosing to switch, Apple had a 5 year strategy I believe, it appears to be effective

I'm looking for advice today please

Flex rendering, has a new option been introduced in any updates released after this thread ?

The Bounce option in the thread would have degradation implications if it were applied using Pro Tools architecture.

Any guidance would be appreciated

Thank You