A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
perqa
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2017 1:59 am

Transfer Logic settings

Wed Aug 30, 2017 12:50 pm

I have moved to a new computer and reinstalled all software. How can I transfer my personalised Logic settings from the previous computer? Particularly saved channel strip settings and saved instruments?

/Per
 
User avatar
Eric Cardenas
Moderator
Posts: 21926
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 1:47 pm
Location: Uppsala, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Transfer Logic settings

Thu Sep 14, 2017 12:14 am

Move the contents of the ~/Music/Audio Music Apps folder to your new computer.
Eric Bradley Cardenas
EC Making Sound
Mac mini 2.6 GHz 16GB RAM Areca⚡RAID | MacBook Pro 2.3 GHz 16GB RAM | Os 10.12.6
Logic Pro 10.3.2 | RME Fireface UFX | Adam A7 + Sub8 | Spectrasonics | Softube
 
broza2broza
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 12:19 pm
Location: NYC
Contact:

Re: Transfer Logic settings

Thu Sep 14, 2017 12:24 pm

Do you know if the plugin folders that I have customized on one rig would move with that as well to another setup?
8 Core 2.66, 32 Gb ram, OS 10.9.5, L9.1.8 and L10.2.1, UAD Apollo Quad Firewire, UAD-2 PCIE Quad, Interface, Waves Diamond, Melodyne, Antares
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 64971
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Location: Valley Village, CA
Contact:

Re: Transfer Logic settings

Thu Sep 14, 2017 12:33 pm

In theory you're not supposed to "move" plug-ins, which are applications. You're supposed to install them on the new machine, just like you would install an app. 

Now if you want to try you can copy your plug-in folders: 

/Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/

AND

~/Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/

...to the new machine, and see what works and what doesn't. 
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.3 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.3.2 - Mac OS X 10.12.3 - MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 - 4GB RAM
 
broza2broza
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 12:19 pm
Location: NYC
Contact:

Re: Transfer Logic settings

Thu Sep 14, 2017 1:14 pm

I just meant the Logic folder where you can move other AU plugins and organize them into one's own folder structure. I assume this is just done with aliases or something.  I don't want to actually move the plugins which does sound very dangerous to me!
8 Core 2.66, 32 Gb ram, OS 10.9.5, L9.1.8 and L10.2.1, UAD Apollo Quad Firewire, UAD-2 PCIE Quad, Interface, Waves Diamond, Melodyne, Antares
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 64971
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Location: Valley Village, CA
Contact:

Re: Transfer Logic settings

Thu Sep 14, 2017 1:58 pm

broza2broza wrote:
I just meant the Logic folder where you can move other AU plugins and organize them into one's own folder structure. 

That's contained in a single file: ~/Music/Audio Music Apps/Databases/Tags/MusicApps.tagpool

Feel free to move that file to any Mac where you wish to have the same plug-in hierarchy. 
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.3 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.3.2 - Mac OS X 10.12.3 - MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 - 4GB RAM
 
broza2broza
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 12:19 pm
Location: NYC
Contact:

Re: Transfer Logic settings

Thu Sep 14, 2017 2:01 pm

Excellent. Thanks!
8 Core 2.66, 32 Gb ram, OS 10.9.5, L9.1.8 and L10.2.1, UAD Apollo Quad Firewire, UAD-2 PCIE Quad, Interface, Waves Diamond, Melodyne, Antares