duplicating tracks issue

fersy

Hi, i am pretty new to logic having used cubase for a year first and I've been getting along great with it however I've recently come across an issue and was wondering if anybody had any insight.

if im in the early stages of a project i can duplicate tracks instantly with no issues using either alt and drag or the new track with duplicate setting button or cmd d, however once i have a lot of tracks (about 60 so far in my current project) then it no longer works like that. i just get the spinning umbrella. 

if i leave it long enough it will duplicate but i'm talking around 5 mins to do 1 track (no exaggeration).

it doesnt matter if its an instrument track with plugins or a simple audio track with none.

when they track has everything playing the cpu meter is about 60% however i dont have the track playing when im trying to duplicate so the cpu is doing nothing before i attempt duplication.

i am running an early 2009 mac on yosemite and logic pro x 10.2.3 with a 2.93ghz quad core xeon processor and 16gb ram if that makes any difference.

obviously i can make fresh tracks then apply everything but not being able to duplicate them is hampering my workflow especially when i forget and attempt to duplicate lol. then i have to wait 5 mins or sometimes force quit logic