A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
User avatar
bandre
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2017 4:33 pm

Problem extending audio take

Wed Sep 13, 2017 4:52 pm

Been a long time visitor of this forum, but this is the first time I'm actually posting -- apologies if I'm doing anything wrong.

I have somehow gotten myself into a situation where I have a comp whose takes are shorter than the comp, but I can't extend any of the takes to their full length, so they are effectively cut off. Hopefully these screenshots will make it more clear.

Here is a screenshot of my audio comp which contains several takes. As you can see, Take 8 is a bit cut off at the end, and I can't get that last bit to appear no matter how hard I try. Hovering over the endpoint on take 8 as well as hovering over the crossfade in the comp both do nothing -- I would have expected those endpoints to be draggable but they are not.
Image


Here is what comes up when I double click on Take 8. When I hover over the endpoint of the comp B region in the file editor, the cursor turns into a little padlock. I suspect that has something to do with why I can't drag the region more to the right.

Image

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks so much.
Logic Pro 10.3.2
Macbook Pro 2012
Various other junk
 
User avatar
Eric Cardenas
Moderator
Posts: 21926
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 1:47 pm
Location: Uppsala, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Problem extending audio take  Topic is solved

Wed Sep 13, 2017 11:57 pm

You should be able to do this when QuickSwipe comping is off.

Extend take.gif
Extend take.gif (80.5 KiB) Viewed 138 times
Eric Bradley Cardenas
EC Making Sound
Mac mini 2.6 GHz 16GB RAM Areca⚡RAID | MacBook Pro 2.3 GHz 16GB RAM | Os 10.12.6
Logic Pro 10.3.2 | RME Fireface UFX | Adam A7 + Sub8 | Spectrasonics | Softube
 
User avatar
bandre
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2017 4:33 pm

Re: Problem extending audio take

Thu Sep 14, 2017 8:43 pm

Yes -- my initial expectation was that I would be able to do what is shown in your gif, but alas...

Image

Any other ideas? Thanks for your help.
Logic Pro 10.3.2
Macbook Pro 2012
Various other junk
 
JakobP
Posts: 592
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 1:49 pm
Location: Stockholm

Re: Problem extending audio take

Fri Sep 15, 2017 2:12 am

You didn't disable quick swipe. Look at Erics video, click the little symbol in the upper left corner of the region, the symbol will switch to a pair of scissors to show that you're in edit mode.
• Logic 10.0.7 • Macbook Pro Early 2013 • OS X 10.12.6 • 2.4 GHz Intel Core i7 • 8GB RAM • 750GB SSD • Mac Mini Late 2012 • OS X 10.9.4 • 2.5 GHz Intel Core i5 • 4GB RAM • 500GB HD • 2x Presonus Inspire 1394 • Gibson ES335 • Behringer FCB1010 • Roland UM-One mkII • Cheap Miditech keyboard
 
User avatar
bandre
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2017 4:33 pm

Re: Problem extending audio take

Fri Sep 15, 2017 2:34 pm

Ah! Yes ok I see now. Thanks!!
Logic Pro 10.3.2
Macbook Pro 2012
Various other junk
 
User avatar
Eric Cardenas
Moderator
Posts: 21926
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 1:47 pm
Location: Uppsala, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Problem extending audio take

Sat Sep 16, 2017 2:22 am

You're most welcome bandre and thanks Jakob for the clarification. :)
Eric Bradley Cardenas
EC Making Sound
Mac mini 2.6 GHz 16GB RAM Areca⚡RAID | MacBook Pro 2.3 GHz 16GB RAM | Os 10.12.6
Logic Pro 10.3.2 | RME Fireface UFX | Adam A7 + Sub8 | Spectrasonics | Softube