Why so much more latency in Logic than Pro Tools?

extrememixing
Go to solution Solved by extrememixing,

I've been a Pro Tools guy forever, but I have come to really enjoy Logic. I am using Pro Tools HD Native hardware as a core audio device in Logic Pro X 10.3.2. I have a harp overdub session this week that is in Logic. I just checked and compared and the latency with the same 64 sample buffer setting is about 3 times longer in Logic than in Pro Tools. In Pro Tools, things are still usable with a 256 buffer! In fact, that feels better than 64 does in Logic. Why is that? I have an Apollo Twin Thunderbolt that I can use, but I'd rather use my normal path going in--Neves to a GML Compressor--rather than the mic or line inputs on the Twin. The in and out of the Apollo are actually -10, not +4! My Pro Tools hardware also integrates better with my headphone and playback system. But I don't like the latency, and I don't think the player will either!

Any suggestions? Is it just the way that Pro Tools hardware works as a core audio device?

Thanks for your suggestions. I"m going to set the Apollo up and see if that's a better way to go.

Steve

Eric,

It was adding 256 to whatever buffer that I had set in Logic on the preferences page. That's why it seemed to be changing things but not making it much better. So to confirm, the buffer size that is set up in the core audio settings ADDS to the Logic Preference setting. I have them both set to 64 right now and will see how that goes with the session running. I may have to make the one or the other longer at that time. It's a relief to know that the HD Native hardware has entered the realm of working well enough to actually use with Logic Pro X.

Steve

• 4 years later...