A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
nikoli
Topic Author
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2014 9:21 am

Flex Pitch Glitch

Mon Jul 02, 2018 8:17 pm

Hi all, I've opened an old project that I hadn't worked on in a while... since before the last major Logic update.

I needed to finish recording some vocals for it. So I armed the vocal track I had previously used and began recording. When I go to edit the new region with flex pitch, it does something really bizarre... kind of hard to describe but it basically takes the region and stretches it out the length of the entire project. The audio seems to be stretched out along with it. So it essentially destroys the region. When I disable flex pitch on the track, it goes back to normal. Unfortunately disabling flex pitch isn't an option because 1. I'm a terrible singer and 2. flex pitch has been used extensively throughout this particular project. (Lots of vocal tracks, lots of plugins, etc).

Here's the weird part. I can export the region to a wav file, and then drag it back into the project... and it behaves normally when I open the flex pitch editor. WTF?

That's an okay work around for now, but man... I'm hoping there's a better answer for this!
 
User avatar
volovicg
Moderator
Posts: 2848
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2014 7:27 am
Location: Indianapolis, Indiana

Re: Flex Pitch Glitch

Tue Jul 03, 2018 3:51 am

Remove the tempo information from the audio file - then reset flex markers in the region.
“Please fill out your signature”
 Logic Pro X Certified : Logic Pro X 10.6.1: OS X 11.1 (Big Sur)
2018 Mac Mini 3.2 GHz Intel Core I7 : 32GB Memory : 2-1TB SSD ; 4 Drobo's 48TB combined
MacBook Pro (16-inch, 2019) - 2.3 GHz 8-Core Intel Core i9
Presonus StudioLive 16 Series III (Digital Audio Interface and Control surface for Logic)
Roland FR-8X : Roland A-PRO ; Ketron SD-90 ; I-Connectivity Mio XL Midi Hub/Router (Networked), BCF2000, BCR2000, Novation Zero SLKMKII
 
uncleozzy
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 11:39 am

Re: Flex Pitch Glitch

Tue Jul 03, 2018 7:22 am

Jumping in here because the issue I was coming to post about seems to be adjacent to this one. I'm working on a project in 96k with a group of phase-locked drum tracks as well as a few other audio tracks, all with Flex & Follow enabled.

Occasionally, one or more of the regions will play at the correct tempo, but pitched up 100%. Disabling and re-enabling Flex for the track seems to solve the issue temporarily. I wonder if removing tempo information from the files would work, too.

Has anybody seen anything like this? It's like a file was playing at the wrong sample rate, but the Flex & Follow kept it in the right position. Really bizarre behavior.
Logic Pro X 10.4.5
OS X 10.14.5
2018 Mac Mini i7, 16GB RAM
Focusrite Clarett 8pre