A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
bigramp
Topic Author
Posts: 158
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2007 1:27 am

Plugins scan and Mojave ?

Thu Nov 15, 2018 4:40 am

Hi

It seems since Mojave i have to restart my computer each time i install a new plugin, otherwise Logic Pro won't catch the new one.... Is this a bug ? is there a fix ?

thanks
 
uncleozzy
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 11:39 am

Re: Plugins scan and Mojave ?

Thu Nov 15, 2018 8:04 am

I have this problem in High Sierra -- I was told it was fixed in Mojave, but it seems like maybe not. In High Sierra, at least, killing AudioComponentRegistrar before you open Logic seems to get the scan to run normally (this was suggested to me on another forum, and it did work when I tried it).

So, open Terminal and run: killall -9 AudioComponentRegistrar
Logic Pro X 10.4.5
OS X 10.14.5
2018 Mac Mini i7, 16GB RAM
Focusrite Clarett 8pre
 
xgman
Posts: 590
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 11:09 am

Re: Plugins scan and Mojave ?

Thu Nov 15, 2018 9:33 am

Only certain plugs will make you log out to see the plug in LPX. Not sure what the new coding is that makes them appear without that, but there are still plenty of plugins that require a log out/in in Mojave.
{2018 27" iMac-Pro-10 core-RadeonProVega56 8gb-64gb ram-2TB int ssd+<4tb Samsung850-860evo ssd's in TB3 Akitio Enclosure> UAD Apollo x6-tb3/Yamaha2050/Amphion/Bowers&Wilkins/Komplete S61Mk2} latest OSX, latest LPX
 
User avatar
kevaquarian
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2007 5:37 am
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Plugins scan and Mojave ?

Thu May 14, 2020 1:27 am

uncleozzy wrote:
I have this problem in High Sierra -- I was told it was fixed in Mojave, but it seems like maybe not. In High Sierra, at least, killing AudioComponentRegistrar before you open Logic seems to get the scan to run normally (this was suggested to me on another forum, and it did work when I tried it).

So, open Terminal and run: killall -9 AudioComponentRegistrar


Hello. I found this thread while trying to find out the location of the audio units cache in Mojave. Do you happen to know if this "component registrar" file is the new "com.apple.audiounits.cache" counterpart in Mojave? I don't see the previous cache file since installing Mojave?

Thanks!

Kev
Mac Pro 2.93GHz 12-core•64GB RAM•10.14.6
Logic X - 10.4.8
NI•FF•Softube•Sp'sonics•Waves•PSP•Slate•PA•Soundtoys etc
Soundcraft Sig 12MTK•Genelec 8040a/Equator D5
https://edgemusic.net/


Sooner or later, the Truth will out - what is done in darkness always comes to light.
 
User avatar
des99
Posts: 5128
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2015 12:08 pm

Re: Plugins scan and Mojave ?

Thu May 14, 2020 1:36 am

No, it's the process that monitors for plugin changes. A behaviour change or bug since High Sierra onwards means sometimes you either have to reboot, or restart the AudioComponentRegistrar process to notice newly installed plugins.
mu:zines | music magazine archive | difficultAudio
 
User avatar
kevaquarian
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2007 5:37 am
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Plugins scan and Mojave ?

Thu May 14, 2020 1:42 am

Hello again. OK - I found it - it is the same name as before - "com.apple.audiounits.cache". Must have missed it somehow, earlier - doh! So now I'm wondering what the purpose of the "componentregistrar" file is?! I've not come across this one before...
Mac Pro 2.93GHz 12-core•64GB RAM•10.14.6
Logic X - 10.4.8
NI•FF•Softube•Sp'sonics•Waves•PSP•Slate•PA•Soundtoys etc
Soundcraft Sig 12MTK•Genelec 8040a/Equator D5
https://edgemusic.net/


Sooner or later, the Truth will out - what is done in darkness always comes to light.
 
User avatar
kevaquarian
Posts: 120
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2007 5:37 am
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Plugins scan and Mojave ?

Thu May 14, 2020 1:44 am

des99 wrote:
No, it's the process that monitors for plugin changes. A behaviour change or bug since High Sierra onwards means sometimes you either have to reboot, or restart the AudioComponentRegistrar process to notice newly installed plugins.



Hi. Thanks - sorry, I was typing my previous message when your reply must have come in!
Mac Pro 2.93GHz 12-core•64GB RAM•10.14.6
Logic X - 10.4.8
NI•FF•Softube•Sp'sonics•Waves•PSP•Slate•PA•Soundtoys etc
Soundcraft Sig 12MTK•Genelec 8040a/Equator D5
https://edgemusic.net/


Sooner or later, the Truth will out - what is done in darkness always comes to light.