Logic Mastering Workflow

Marcus Aurelius

Hello, all -

I realize this is a perennial topic, but since some of the discussions are about older versions of Logic, I thought to start a thread on it here.

So: What's the optimal workflow for mastering within Logic?

I'm a composer/producer/artist, and still quite "green" about mastering, so please forgive any naiveté on display. Hopefully this is useful starting point for discussion, where others with more experience and wisdom can critique and improve, if they so wish. I've included a few obvious question points in the checklist.

LOGIC MASTERING WORKFLOW (Version 0)

• MIX

Mix and bounce down each track within Logic.

Settings:

- 24-bit (if mastering within Logic, since Logic apparently still cannot import 32-bit float files!)

- 32-bit float if sending to a mastering engineer, or mastering in a DAW, which can accept 32-bit float files)

If 24-bit, use Dither? (POWR-1). This issue still seems controversial, especially since this means there will be 2 dither phases (see below).

From what I can tell, there is no consensus. What does Logic do to the bounce if no dither is applied at this stage? Does it just truncate the internal 32-bit mix to 24-bit, or does it do some more subtle process, whether an automatic dither or something else?

Edit: It seems like Logic does not auto-dither when bouncing to 24-bit. See here, for example:

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=63475

• IMPORT MIXES INTO A MASTERING PROJECT IN LOGIC

- Start with either a blank project, or a MASTERING template of your own creation.

- Each mix into its own track

- Start the mixes at measure 1? Or space them out so that the entire project plays in album sequence (i.e. each track start time in Logic is after the prior track's end time, with appropriate silence added to hear the album in sequence)?

- Add appropriate mastering plugins to each track.

- Route all tracks into a single Aux (which I call "MASTER"), which routes to to the Stereo Output